Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Shokudo - Honolulu Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Shokudo - Honolulu

Presenting "the new wave in Japanese dining," Shokudo Japanese Restaurant & Bar offers an affordable dining experience with a dramatic architectural and design details. Much like the familiar, casual dining of Tokyo's center city, Shokudo Japanese offers an elaborate menu selection that encompasses both traditional Japanese dishes and the many ethnic and foreign influences that now infuse the popular dining culture of the country. A sleek floating bar placed at the center of the restaurant that hosts specialty cocktails and martinis, including the traditional and contemporary preparations of sake and shochu. Shokudo Japanese transports diners to an exciting revolution in popular Japanese dining, the perfect spot for celebrations and the gathering of friends and family.
74 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(74 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(45)
  • good for groups(34)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • special occasion(25)
  • hot spot(23)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
Shokudo - Honolulu Reviews List
Review 1 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Another great experience at shokudo."
Dined on 7/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always a great place to eat with family and friends. Good variety of food and good service. Love the honey toast."
Dined on 11/20/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/23/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2014
 2012
Dined on 2/01/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/01/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2014
 2014
Dined on 2/18/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/18/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Mother's Day Buffet!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Loud but good for sushi and pupus

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We enjoyed the creative and fun menu choices. The place can get pretty loud and wait staff can be a little slow. Overall, they do serve good menu items and they are pleasant."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Bri was an exceptional server. She is very knowledgable and efficient. Food was very good.
The garlic shrimp rice and the agedashi tofu were standouts.
"
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thumbs up

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great service & friendly staff. Fast service and would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone."
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A must try Honey Toast

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had the special anniversary Honey Toast with Maple Bacon!! It was worth the $20 we paid. 4 scoops of ice cream and 3 stack toast. Just delicious and it will make you come back again and again."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome Service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went to celebrate my daughters 19th birthday and the service was amazing! We told the waiter that it was her birthday and when our honey toast that we ordered arrived, he brought along a tempura battered bread pudding with a candle in it! We didn't expect that! The food, drinks and service was just awesome! We will be returning!"
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

i would not go back

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"the food was average at best, the drinks were unimaginative, the waiter was good, but our food was delivered by individual plate several minutes apart, very difficult to enjoy a meal out together when one gets there meal 10 minutes before the other. There was nothing really about this restaurant that would make me want to go back."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Incredible food, worth the wait

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had a wonderful time at Shokudo, my fifth time at this restaurant. I ordered the Volcano rolls and Honey Toast. Both took a surprisingly longer time than the other things ordered at the table, but well worth the wait. It was hands down the best sushi roll I've ever tasted. I would have ordered another but I was already trying to make room for the awesome honey toast."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food choices. Excellent service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is one of our favorite places for lunch. The bento's are huge. We like to bring friends and
family that haven't been and they thoroughly enjoy the food and the service.
On our last visit Kaleo was our server and he was excellent.
On the way out I told the hostess that who ever trains the servers and staff is doing a great job.
"
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Unfortunately, I believe that I was overcharged for my meal. I ordered the lunch bento with one selection (tempura) and thought that it was $8.95 but was charged $12.95. I didn't realize this until later."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love the tofu salad! It was a nice girls' lunch.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was efficient though on auto-pilot, food always good! Busy at lunch but still okay for conversation."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for late lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a nice sushi lunch late in the afternoon. This was great because we missed the crowds and had great service and a quieter table."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was Saturday, Valentine's Day. My sister was visiting from Maui. I wasn't sure if I could get in anywhere but we were delighted to get our lunch reservation at Shokudo. We ordered something that we never had before. She had the Sukiyaki Bibimbap. Since I just started being a vegetarian; I ordered the Mochi Grautin, the vegetable and the pumpkin tempuras and the freshly made tofu. Everything was delicious. We both ordered the Sangria. We will be back!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was great except there were nats at our first table."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

One of our favorites

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our whole family loves Shokudo. Their food never disappoints us, and over the years they've kept most of our favorites, and introduced us to new ones. Wish it wasn't so crowded here though!"
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I can't even guess how often we've been to Shokudo, but really, we are rarely disappointed. The food is delicious and consistently prepared, arrives quickly, and cleanup is quick and efficient. We usually eat so much we can't get the honey toast for dessert, but maybe one day soon! Wish this place wasn't so crowded for dinner."
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but needs improvements

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We've been going to Shokudo for years and we've noticed a decline in quality. The menus are worn and the dishes need an update. Also noticed that the portions have become smaller. Hopefully it will improve."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had lunch here with my daughter visiting from NY. It turned out to be quite nice. Food was great and we didn't have to wait long for our food. Enjoyed their Sangria with my meal. It was our first 2015 meal. I do want to call attention to your outdoor dining area. While walking towards the entrance I noticed a group of people having lunch outside. I am glad the owners of Shokudo decided on utilizing the outdoor space fronting the restaurant. I know this place gets packed in the evenings."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good solid japanese dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service great, food, great/ japanese beer, delicious! Honey toast was divine! Cute lunch place, casusl."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dining experience for groups

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Unique and tasty dishes! Private room great for a party of 12 or less."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Shokudo - Honolulu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good sushi and sake

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We like coming here but only when the crowd dies down. It can get pretty loud and busy. Hard to hear a conversation when that happens. The food is good and reasonably priced. We like coming here for sushi and sake."
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shokudo - Honolulu
Based on the average of (44) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
37 out of 39 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic