Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Sushi Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Cafe Sushi

Cafe Sushi has stood the test of time in it's Beverly Hills location for 29 years. Warm and friendly atmosphere inside with consistently great dishes that leave you wondering when will be the next time you'll visit again. Quality of the fish and ingredients used are our top priority and well as excellent customer service. We offer a wide variety of options in fresh fish and unique delicious rolls. There are also many options for the land lovers so there is something great for everyone. Inside you have a choice of sitting at a comfy booth, table or sitting at the Sushi Bar and getting up close and personal with your sushi. Open nice and late till 12:00am Sunday through Thursday and till 1:00am on Friday and Saturday. A great place to take a date or bring a bunch of friends. We strive for you to have a wonderful and satisfying experience every time.
27 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(27 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • late-night find(6)
  • kid-friendly(3)
Cafe Sushi Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One of the best sushi restaurants in LA. Good value, great service, and excellent sushi. The Marlon roll, I think that's what it's called, is so good. I have been to this place several times and will keep coming back. Yum!"
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

disappointment

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We eat here often but the service was very poor. The restaurant was not very crowded , but the service was extremely slow and part of meal were missing. Not sure if this was because of kitchen or waitperson."
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Outstandingly fresh & delicious fish. The best scallop sushi in town. Try anything with sizzling rice & don't miss the "burger.""
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great sushi. Fresh. Good quality oysters. Very attentive. A little overpriced for its class but we had fun."
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The Spanish Mackerel...OOF!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was very fresh and delicious. It's the sister restaurant of Iroha in Studio City which is our favorite, so it's good to know there's something just as great over the hill. The Spanish mackerel and the Scottish salmon melt in your mouth and my reaction as I ate the salmon skin hand roll made my mom say, "I'll have what she's having."
My only caveat: Call for a reservation. I made mine via OpenTable and they said they never received it. Luckily, they could still seat our party of six right away, even on a Friday night."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great sushi and the staff was very nice. Would definitely go back."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Filled our needs

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were looking for a place near the Coronet Theater to have a bite to eat early in the evening before attending the Largo comedy night. Cafe Sushi was an easy walk. We found the food good and the service was as well. I wouldn't consider it fine dining, but it was good and I think we got our money's worth. The staff was friendly and saw to our needs."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but expensive

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great sushi for midnight. There are no bargains to be found on their menu sadly."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Cafe Sushi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Found this little Gem just around the corner from Largo at the Coronet. Went with a couple friends, was not busy AT ALL the 2 times we've gone on Saturday Night. The MOST delicious sushi I've ever had! And they do not skimp you on fish and load you up on rice! Great deals leaving you satisfied! One of my friends who had recently been to Japan said he would never look at Sushi the same in the states because of his experience overseas being so amazing, he actually said this place is up to par with the sushi he had in Japan! True gem! We've already decided to come here once a month for "Friend Night" all the way from Orange County! Already have our 3 trip planned!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cafe Sushi
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic