Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cancun Reviews List

Cancun

If you're looking for good times and a tasty Mexican cuisine, you've come to the right place. Cancun restaurant is one of New York city's best; serves up the best margaritas and the best Mexican fare in town, serving the community and tourists from all over the world. We offer you a casual and festive atmosphere for you to come and enjoy a great meal at a great price. We feature the finest quality authentic Mexican food in the area with all the top-shelf spirits and cocktails you desire. The menu includes a variety of standard Mexican Fare, a distinct healthy mix of grilled American favorites and mouthwartering "Platos Del Mar" Seafood choices.
With just a few blocks away from the Theater District and the AOL Time Warner Building, at Cancun you'll enjoy the fair of old Mexico in an atmosphere that is casual and always a lot of fun.
See more Cancun details
75 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(75 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(29)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(33)
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • great for lunch(13)
  • vibrant bar scene(12)
  • hot spot(11)
  • fit for foodies(10)
Cancun Reviews List
Review 1 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great time, awesome experience, AMAZING food."
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Yummy drinks

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I definitely appreciated the jumbo sized margaritas although i was disappointed in the size of the meals. For the price, I was expecting more food like I typically receive at Mexican restaurants. It was my birthday and they brought out a brownie with a giant sparkler on top which was fun. Plus, they plopped a huge sombrero on my head! Good location."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Back to Very Good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Update from my previous visit. Everything was back to delicious. Ordered the same thing, but this time, as opposed to my last visit, my dish was excellent. Meat wan't dry and salty. Chips were fresh, and love those little tostadas. I will continue to visit Cancun!"
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cancun
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The space was so noisy. I may have chosen the

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great lunch special

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Pro- we were seated immediately.
Cons- never received a drink menu, several menu items were not as described: queso fundido was different than I've ever had it, chimichanga had tomatoes and I specifically asked the waitress if there were any and I was told no which is why I ordered it, steak burrito had ground beef instead. Charged for a refill that was done without asking.
Would not recommend the restaurant.
"
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Better in the Past

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Has been better in the past. Ground meat in both the enchilada in hard shell taco was extremely dry. Refried beans tasted bland. As mentioned, the food (same items) have been better in the past. I will dine again, and hopefully get the better result."
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good time.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Cancun
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Terrible service. Terrible food. Expensive prices for no quality foods. Not worth it. Never making that mistake again."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Stay home and serve yourself

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our server seemed to forget about us during the meal. She never came back to check on us. We finally flagged down a bus boy and asked for our check. Twenty minutes later we were still waiting for our check. We finally paid and had to run to our show. If you want to know what it feels like to not be valued as a customer this is the restaurant for you."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Found on Open Table after arriving in NYC. It was close to my hotel and prices we're reasonable. It was a but loud but the food was very, very good and the presentation was better than the usual casual Mexican restaurant. Great margaritas and the guacamole was delish!"
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Old Reliable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Cancun serves traditional Mexican food as well as any restaurant. They need to improve their service.
The service was totally inattentive.
"
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Manhattan's Best Margaritas

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Cancun is the perfect Mexican restaurant for every occasion: business lunches, first dates, girls' nights out, happy hour after a long day, birthday parties, or just catching up with old friends. Their margaritas (HUGELY discounted during happy hour!) are the standard by which all others should be judged. I couldn't imagine this neighborhood--or this island--without them!"
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Cancun
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Will not return

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The staff seemed disorganized and got both orders wrong."
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Totally fine for midtown

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We got dinner here before a show, it was super loud and the service was a little slow, but the food was good and the servers were nice, recommend the queso. Not a "gem" per se but totally fine. Had a party of 6 on a Friday, no problem."
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Cancun
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Not the best Mexican food I have had. I was very disappointed with the guacamole. It was more like mashed avocado. Also, they added an 18% tip as an item at the top of the bill and tried to tax us on the tip. I had to speak to the manager to have them remove the tip and provide us with a revised check."
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Cancun
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what I had expected (in a negative way)

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Reservation was in their computer system. We arrived and were seated quickly (but it also wasn't booked up yet at 6p on a Friday night. Lively bar (expected for a Friday after work hours), but the table of 4 next to us was more lively/ LOUD than the bar combined.
Promptly brought chips and Salsa, and server asked if we wanted to order guacamole also (heard it was great, so yes). A runner delivered that. But after the appetizer order was taken, the server disappeared out front with another server to chit-chat and laugh or something. And we were wanting to order immediately. We had to ask a food runner to summon our server. Who couldn't make up their mind which one it was going to be when they finally came in from outside. We ended up with a different server. hmm. OK ... as long as we can order, not a problem. Food runner came with the very tasty dishes. Took a little while to get the check, but the original server came and delivered it? Seriously?
Perhaps if this was a Monday and there were no patrons? I can easily see why servers may go outside to chat. But NOT on a Friday night at 6-6:30p in midtown. Who is managing the front-of-house staff? Obviously no one. With a choice of so many restaurants within a block AND another servicing Mexican food, this shouldn't be permitted.
Perhaps replace the server staff and people will rate this restaurant much higher all the time. But at this point, I have too many other choices to consider returning."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Cancun
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

noisy

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Okay, so New York can't do Mexican. With that expectation this okay. But the noise from the bar was deafening."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, great cocktails!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went to Cancun on Thursday and it was very lively and busy, split between a bar area to the front and a dining area towards the back. The appetizer of warm tortilla chips, avocado dip and a hot and spicy salsa was delicious. I had the fried shrimp and my husband had a chicken chimichanga, both superb, fresh tasting, accompanied by refried beans and rice. We had hoped to have room for a dessert but were full after the main course - and the cocktails? Well, there's always room for a cocktail, the choices and the flavours were excellent, not over-powering but with a good strength. We will be back for sure and very soon I suspect and we'll make sure to have room for a dessert as those looked great as well!"
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Cancun
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came for a late for a solo dinner while doing a overnight city visit from Long Island. I made a reservation for one and I liked that the restaurant accepted them for one person. It was someone's birthday and the atmosphere was jovial and energetic. I ordered a margarita and it was great. Since it was late I did not want to eat a full meal so I ordered the Queso Fundido and it was amazing! I am a restaurant manager and love dining out often and felt the experience was nice and authentic. I grew up in Panama and then on the border town of El Paso, Texas and it is so hard to find food that has not been "Americanized" to a not so spicy version. The service and food was great and accommodated my extra spicy requests perfectly. I will definitely come back for a celebration or just another overnight in Manhattan. My only issue is as a female who dines out frequently alone, it is kind of my pet peeve to hear "Just one tonight" or in this case being asked "Why on earth would you be eating alone?" I always joke and laugh about it because I am comfortable with it but for many it is not something they like to have attention shined on. Once again it was a great experience and will definitely return."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

gr ra t

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food. Fast service. Good location. A bit loud."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Cancun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Complimentary salsa was really good, quite a nice kick to it. The large guacamole was excellent too. I had a Cimichanga which was good and pretty typical for a quick Mexican restaurant. Margaritas were decent but man were they pricey. It is NYC though so not unexpected"
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Cancun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Amazing lunch special! $10 gets you an entree (many selections to choose from) and your choice of a frozen margarita or red sangria.. Cheap & awesome.."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Cancun
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Depends on the diners standards

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Salsa was great, always an important start! Staff is friendly. We had guacamole and a shrimp garlic appetizer - camarones al ajillo), they were great. Then we ordered entree's my sister and I ordered black bean but were served brown, they corrected the plates. Would have loved brown rice (not shocked that a Mexican restaurant doesn't carry; but I know great ones that do. I had a combo platter Bean Burrito & cheese enchilada it was tasty but heavy. I was still tasting it 6 hours later.... Being a native New Yorker my standards are high., this was average."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Cancun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for pre-show dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was great for a pre-show dinner! Food arrived very quickly and was delicious, but the drinks (and the check) took a while to get to us, probably because it was a busy time. Overall, a very good experience! Very loud though, depending on if you like that."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>