Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Majorca Bistro & Tapas Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Majorca Bistro & Tapas

Majorca Bistro & Tapas is a Spanish restaurant in Houston that offers small plates.
28 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
(28 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(8)
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(9)
  • special occasion(7)
  • great for outdoor dining(6)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • late-night find(5)
  • good for groups(4)
Majorca Bistro & Tapas Reviews List
Review 1 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fun place -- we had a great time with the waiter, and the tapas plates were amazing."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food, but loud

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is mediteranean-inspired, with some latin hints. Delicious! Even for a vegetarian there are a lot of options besides just a salad. The downside is that now they have changed the free flow mimosas and instead offer a $10 pitcher, which is still a good value. I am not sure I will go back, though, because the music was so loud it hurt my ears."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went on a Tuesday evening for a romantic dinner and were not disappointed. It was quiet and intimate, very much to our liking. The waiter was great, the food was great, and I would highly recommend."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Problem with billing - charged twice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Server said credit card declined at first; gave another card. My bank statement on 2 different cards showed identical charge. No good. This happens on March 5, 2015 on my birthday."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Unfortunately a major disappointment.
Went for the first time looking for traditional Spanish food. Reecived dishes that had "some" Spanish flavor but distanced well from true Spanish fare.
Notably: Serrano ham that was not cured and at best was in the area of prosciutto.
Patatas Bravas that while looking OK lacked any part of the "bravas" spice which is the escence of the dish.
And most important:
After asked one of the greeters on the food he came back indicating the food was typical of Majorca island, statement we disagree with from own experience. He also said it was his 1st week at job and was not familiar.
Asked waitress about ham appearance and taste and her reply was that she was unfamiliar with what serrano ham was supposed to look or taste like.
Simply put, not as advertised and service staff did not provide any information on why only poorly crafted responses.
Not going back, not recommending as a Spanish restaurant.
"
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Awesome food and great service. Highly recommended."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very good food, good service. It was crowded on the Valentine's Day, but our servers managed to keep the good service. Very good food and wine selection! Definitely going back!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

THANKS FOR NOTHING

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I purchased a voucher on Amazon Local for $39.99 for dinner for 2, on a weekend night. There are NO restrictions on the site saying you can't use the coupon on certain days, the offer, fine print, etc. the "other conditions" do not mention anything about date restrictions!
They RUINED my valentines day. The owner refused to honor the offer i purchased. I am on a tight budget and still wanted someplace nice to take my wife on v-day.
Thanks for NOTHING!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Surprising

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"They just had the bar tender. Then learned they didn't have the whole back side of the menu and no chicken or shrimp on the front. This left almost no options. Was then told only one dessert and two pieces left so might not be a possibility. Was surprising and disappointed."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was actually a second choice because the Tapas place we wanted was booked for the night. We had driven past this place before so we thought we would try it. The food wasn't anything to rave about. The server was fairly unprofessional (but not rude). For $65 (no wine or alcohol) you would expect much better."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Majorca Bistro & Tapas
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
5 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic