Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Luna Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Luna Restaurant

High atop Spokane's South Hill, Luna is a warm, inviting neighborhood bistro. Come enjoy your meal in our candle lit dining room, and when weather permits, on our three beautiful garden terraces. Luna is the perfect place to have an intimate dinner for two, or to meet friends for an evening of lively conversation. Our happy hour is a favorite among our neighbors. The party happens from 4 pm to 6 pm seven days a week in our lounge. We offer wine specials, discounts on cocktails, and a great list of appetizers.
We are passionate about food and our dedication to flavor and presentation shows in every dish. Luna crafts fabulous pizza. Our pizza oven comes to us from Naples, Italy.
Our wine list boasts over 600 labels from around the world with vintages you won't find anywhere else.
We also offer private dining in our beautiful Garden Room. We'll go beyond simply meeting your needs; we will give you an experience like no other in Spokane. Luna... Live Deliciously!
27 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(27 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(18)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • special occasion(15)
  • great for outdoor dining(13)
  • notable wine list(12)
  • romantic(12)
Luna Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A Miss

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of the great things about Luna is that you could always be assured of having consistently good food and a nice dining experience. I have been to the restaurant a few times since it changed hands, once for dinner and once for brunch and both were great experiences and what you would expect from Luna. My most recent experience was very disappointing. The pepper crusted filet was overwhelmingly pepper crusted and the duck was just mediocre. We had the apple crisp for dessert. I would say that the home baked desserts have historically been a strength for Luna. This apple crisp was just poor. So the meal - which was a celebration for my mother's birthday - was not memorable in a positive way and I will need to now consider that, if I go to Luna, I can't count on a memorable meal and evening."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great time as usual

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"As usual the food was excellent--delicious soup, great meat dishes, perfectly cooked fish, and inventive & delicious vegetable dishes. Of the latter, they are offering some great small plates which one of our party made her dinner (3 small plates ordered & actually too much to eat in one seating--so servings are pretty generous). We had some excellent red wine as well (think it was Barrister, local to Spokane). We live in Seattle but always head to Luna's whenever we're in Spokane. The new ownership (as of Jan. 2015) seems to have braved the transition really well, maintaining great service and an innovative menu."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall a pleasant experience with knowledgeable server but uneven food. The dishes we ordered sounded amazing on the menu and showed promise of creativity, but the execution was not always successful. The seabags entree was amazing, while the chicken was paired with overtart vinegar dressed greens that didn't complement the excellent flavor and tenderness of the meat. The apple beignets for dessert were again an ambitious treat, tasty, but would have benefited from a different presentation as they cooled quickly and that degraded the taste."
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Special occasion dining!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and beautiful setting. Quite pricey so save if for a special occasion. I don't think our teenagers appreciated it as much as we did."
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Slipping a bit since changeover of owners

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Luna has always been our favorite restaurant. When you expect excellence and get just OK, it's a little disappointing. Hope the new owners can bring it back up to par. The waitstaff was wonderful as always. We will give them another chance. There are always bumps in the road when a restaurant undergoes change."
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We have always had good food and service at Luna

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Menu always has new items on it and they run a special for the evenings. The wine list is great and they have nice wines at reasonable prices. The wait staff is always very nice to us. We ate outside because weather permitted and that is also very nice setting, a little street noise but not bad."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Luna Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food outside of Spokane

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A lovely converted home is the perfect place for dining. Unique, beautiful decor and openness that I felt I could really enjoy and taste my food. My friend and I shared the kale salad, which I found delicious and I'm not a kale fan. My entree was the sauteed chickpeas, a delicious meal even without any sort of carbs. Nathan was friendly and patient with us since we had a 6 year old girl with us. All 3 of us shared the cookie plate, three huge cookies baked perfectly with a scoop of ice cream. We all devoured the snickerdoodle. Luna is located outside of Spokane in the well to do neighborhood of South Hill, but worth the drive."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Luna Restaurant
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate