Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ashoka Indian Cuisine Reviews List

Ashoka Indian Cuisine

Ashoka is a small privately-owned restaurant which takes great pride in bringing the greatest measure of pleasure and satisfaction to our customers. We strive to provide you with personal and attentive service in a quiet and romantic atmosphere.

When you dine at Ashoka Restaurant you will enjoy some of the finest Indian food in the Bay Area. We offer a broad selection of the best and most popular Indian food from around the vast and varied country of India. All our food is prepared using the freshest and most authentic ingredients, cooked on the premises to meet your specific requests and to satisfy the most discriminating of tastes.

All our dishes are prepared by our fine chef who has a natural flair for subtly blending a variety of exotic spices to create unique flavors and mouth-watering dishes. Our menu emphasizes some of the best recipes derived from royal households, not from commercial kitchens.
See more Ashoka Indian Cuisine details
18 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(18 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • romantic(2)
  • good for groups(1)
  • kid-friendly(1)
  • late-night find(1)
Ashoka Indian Cuisine Reviews List
Review 1 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

THE Owner is a very nice to talk with!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best indian dinner I've ever had

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Had a wonderful dining experience yesterday at this great little place. My friend likes spicy food and was very happy with how hot his dish was and I on the other hand do not like spicy food at all, flavor yes, but hot and spicy, no. I didn't even order from the menu, I just told our server Maria I wanted something vegetarian and not spicy and she brought me the best Indian dinner I've ever had. I can't recommend this restaurant enough, 5 stars."
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 3/25/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/18/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delicious food. We returned for the buffet the next day"
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was fine but the server was very awkward and made a lot of excuses for the slowness. Turns out the server was also the cook. The decor is also outdated and cramped."
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent place for Indian food. Family owned and operated they take care of you as they do their own."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Unreliable

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love the food at this Indian gem. Simply some of the best in the City. Eggplant is the best ever. But if the chef doesn't appear, and the staff cannot even pour a beer alone, what's the point? I suggest you call the restaurant before starting out, and verify they are open and cooking."
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The OWNERSHIP are no-shows

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As other reviewers have noticed, we arrived for a reservation at 6:15 to find the restaurant shut tight. We wandered up and down the block a couple of times to see if maybe they would simply be late but they still weren't there, so we gave up and went elsewhere"
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly neighborhood Indian food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was a tasty dinner for 3 with helpful friendly family members waiting on us."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Simple restaurant with very excellent food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking for a Indian restaurant close to where we happened to be coming back from the Presidio. When we arrived there was no hostess so we seated ourselves instead of leaving. Glad we stayed. The place is very quaint but the food was great. It is a place we would go back to again. That's the best praise is that we would go there again."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ashoka Indian Cuisine
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate