Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton Reviews List

Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton

A unique dining experience showcasing regional flavors from South Texas and using local farmers and purveyors. Oro, meaning gold in Spanish, offers a variety of favorites at very affordable prices. We strive to go above and beyond with both our cuisine and service. Our bar offers martini and drink specials nightly. We can accommodate large parties for an intimate gathering or festive outing. We look forward to seeing you!
See more Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton details
34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(11)
  • romantic(9)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • good for groups(6)
  • notable wine list(5)
  • scenic view(5)
Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton Reviews List
Review 1 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Terrible. We have been to Oro twice for Valentine's Day and had a great time, so we decided to go and enjoy their regular menu. There was no hostess to greet us. After standing at the podium for 7 to 8 minutes, my boyfriend had to go to the front lobby for assistance. We were seated and waited an additional 10 minutes before anyone asked if we've been helped. The bartender became our waiter from that point on. Took forever to get our drinks and appetizer. Fifteen minutes after ordering our main dishes, we were told they were out of filet mignon. The swordfish was very dry and flavorless. We were seated by the bar and there was the most obnoxious group right besides us who were very loud. Was not anything I expected and/or experience at Oro during their holiday pre fix meal event. Don't think we'll come again"
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It must have been an off night as the experience was disappointing. We waited over an hour for our entrees when there weren't very many of us dining at 7 pm Friday. Our waiter did inform us it would be awhile after 45 mi . My salmon was fair. It tasted like a bottle of chipotle sauce had been poured on top. My husband had the filet which was thick and way over cooked. He was unable to finish it do our server took it off his bill."
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was OK need more things on the menu Good exper"
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Pretty bad restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Overall experience was very poor, worst we have had in a long time. We dined there Saturday night at 7:30. We ordered a bunch of food that took well over an hour. I ordered mozzarella sticks for an appetizer and they literately came out after our meal, so an hour and a half for mozzarella sticks. The waiter kept saying our food was coming, and he was sorry. My daughter ordered chicken nuggets and he brought out everyone's food and kept saying those were coming next. Then he comes back and says they are out of chicken nuggets. So an hour and a half into them cooking our meal, and the "chicken nuggets are on the way" turns out they realized they didn't have any? How did they not know they didn't have chicken nuggets the whole time? Ask the cook or waiter, true story. Crazy experience I have ever seen, never go back. Was expensive too and food was not very good at all."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waited an hour to order; found out 30 min later that they didn't have steak; then 15 min came back and said they do have steak but no seafood. When asked how long until the food would take they said 60 minutes. Wait, what! After sitting for two hours they just found out that they don't have our order and it will take another hour to get our order. And there are only two other tables with people. Felt lied to and disrespected. Do not go to this restaurant, you will regret it!"
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Somewhat disappointed.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing for Hilton Hotels

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"On a business trip and staying at Emily Morgan Hotel (excellent) and tried the hotel restaurant on first night. Did not return. To be fair, the food was fine but service and ants (yes, live ants) on the table were too much for this foodie to overcome. When raised with the restaurant manager, he acknowledged they had an ant problem. Enough said. Plenty of other options nearby."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Friday Night Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was a little concerning when you walk into a greatly reviewed restaurant in a conference city at 8pm at night and you are the only ones there. We had a party of 10, so we made a reservation, but there was no need to do so. The ambiance is nice, but the food quality was okay. Staff seemed a little short handed, but not sure why since we were their only party."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Surprisingly good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was a bit skeptical because the restaurant still had reservations during a huge conference, when many other restaurants were booked. When we arrived, there were very few people, which made it a bit more concerning. However, the experience was very satisfactory - the food and drinks were good, service prompt and attentive and decor was appropriate. Someone in the group commented that it looks like it had a major uplift since the last time he was there, so maybe the restaurant is trying to revamp."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Oustanding in every aspect. Food was excellent and service was top notch."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Gratuity of 18%

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were having a very good time the food was excellent however I was very upset that when we got the bill there was an 18% Gratuity charge already built in. We were only two people and no where on the reservation nor the menu did it say they would build in this service fee. I thought it was very dishonest to try and sneak this in, most people probably didn't even look that closely at the bill since it was Valentines day and no one wants to look like a cheap skate. I will never go there again. The waiters service was not worth the $32 dollar tip."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food and service was great.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dined at Oro for Valentines dinner and was very pleased. Server was attentive but not intrusive. Five course meal was timed perfectly, and food was delicious. Had several different martinis at the bar afterwards and all were perfectly made. I will be back!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, back service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food at the Thanksgiving buffet was good but the service we received was terrible. Our waiter was extremely slow in clearing away our plates and was it took forever to get a refill our water, coffee and tea. The desserts were nice to look at the the taste was rather bland, the lemon meringue pie was too sweet and was lacking in lemon flavor and the cookies tasted like cardboard. I would go back next year and hope we do not get the same waiter."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had to travel on Thanksgiving day so we wanted a family-friendly experience with our kids before we had to board a plane. Oro provided that experience and then some. We were able to eat a great Thanksigiving lunch, then walk across the street to the Alamo and explore. It was perfect. Thanks for providing such a great experience.
C. Storoy
San Antonio, TX
"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Oro at The Emily Morgan Hotel– a DoubleTree by Hilton
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
9 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic