Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto Reviews List

Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto

Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto's menu features over thirty selections of seafood, fresh fish, shellfish and more from the Bay Area, Pacific Ocean and other regions around the globe. The classic, traditional presentation of the menu items, combined with professional, knowledgeable service and the unique atmosphere make for a truly memorable dining experience. The restaurant features five private dining rooms with a nautical theme, seating groups from 25 up to 250 and receptions up to 400. Banquet rooms feature porthole windows, antique memorabilia, and hand-crafted glass chandeliers that complement the teak walls and brass fittings. Corporate and social groups alike will enjoy the highest quality fresh food along with gracious and professional service in this unique and exciting setting.
See more Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto details
588 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(588 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 588 reviews
5 stars
(169)
4 stars
(230)
3 stars
(99)
2 stars
(64)
1 star
(26)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(226)
  • great for lunch(211)
  • special occasion(194)
  • neighborhood gem(156)
  • fit for foodies(108)
  • kid-friendly(87)
Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto Reviews List
Review 1 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the Wednesday oysters/prawns $1/ea. We make it our Mid-week date night as often as we can.
This past week, perhaps Casey was new. She did state that she was very busy. Had to ask twice which oysters were being served. Thought she would know and not have to ask the kitchen. Twice.
She did make an effort to clear our dishes but, we were still eating. Oops. It would have been better to refill our beverages, which I went to the bar for. Bartender motioned me back to Casey. Don't need to feel like a ping pong.
Our order is so very simple and we truly enjoy Spenger's. I hope it was just an off-experience. Mostly good w/Spengers so the poor service really stands out.
We will give one more try.
"
Dined on 4/27/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Chef needs to taste test Tartar(w)Coleslaw Salad

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Shrimp Scatter needs up date not like Frank Spenger's Recipe!!!
Chef needs to use small shrimp white tarter sauce and coleslaw dressing poor taste if any.
"
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was surprised to be able to get a table last minute, wasn't surprised after the dinner. Food was fair to poor, service was pretty good, our server did what she could. It was a shame to see Spenger's like this."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Spengers

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The service was outstanding, not hovering but attentive to our needs, and the food was prepared exactly as expressed on the menu. Salmon was excellent and dessert was to die for."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Lousy meal

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Fresh??? Not!!! I had the Cedar Roasted Salmon with berry reduction sauce. I think they threw out the salmon and served me the cedar plank. The fish was tasteless and dry and room temperature at best. I asked for the sauce on the side. It was cold and might have been better on a scone. The vegetables were oily and cooked at such a high temperature that they were bitter. My husband had the mahi mahi and it was equally as bad."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good for lunch.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"As we were crossing the street, the maitre'd came out and held the door open for us. Which was helpful as we had two disabled people in our party. The appetizer, clam chowder arrived lukewarm, and was too spicy for our tastes. The main courses each arrived hot, and were very good."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

This restaurant is not what it used to be

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We were pretty disappointed in Spenger's today. Our family has been coming here occasionally for many years and sadly, it has been continually going downhill. The food was mediocre at best and was extremely overpriced. The service our waitress provided was prompt and friendly, but it unfortunately did not make up for everything else. We will probably drive a little farther next time and go to the Fish Market in San Mateo."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

No longer the Spenger's of the Past..What a Shame!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I was so disappointed...haven't been here in years. I had heard that it had changed ownership but the only thing left of the old Spenger's is the building...inside and out! What we had for dinner was awful....We asked what was fresh on the menu and the selection was very limited to about 3-4 dishes. I had Herb crusted Sand Dabs (fresh) that were tasteless and the coating on them horrid. My husband had Parmesan Crusted English Sole (fresh) and it was not much better. The capers on his entree was the most favorable! The clam chowder was like flour paste with potatoes and a few bits of clam. The waiter never brought us our rolls even after asking, but they did arrived as we finished dinner.
I am sad to say that this institution is no longer the place to go for a good seafood dinner...nostalgia yes...a good seafood dinner no! I have visited other McCormick & Schmick's (the new owners) on a couple of other occasions and was happy with the food. But what they are doing here is a disgrace to the fish. It is such a shame! I will not be returning to Spenger's which is sad since my Dad introduced it to us...when it was truly an authentic seafood restaurant."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Food, Bad Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had a party of 14 on a Friday night. The restaurant wasn't very crowded for a weekend. We were seated in a private dining room which was nice. There were two waitresses helping us, both of whom seemed like maybe they were flustered. They didn't smile. Our reservation was for 7:30pm. We were seated around 7:45 which was fine, however, we didn't get our food until 9:30pm. One person in our group didn't get his food at all as the waitress forget to place his order. The food we did get was pretty good, but overall the service was poor. I doubt if any of us will be going back."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not a patch on the way it used to be

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"This used to be one of my Best go to restaurants in the past but unfortunately the quality of the food has gone way down. Service was fair as opposed to the excellent that was anticipated due to past performances. I had not been here for a few years and was looking forward to it sadly it was a poor shadow on what once was and the pricing was outrageous for the quality presented."
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Test of Time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is a restaurant that has withstood the test of time. It is better today than it has ever been. Great ambiance for all ages! Special occasions are wonderful here. We try to go at least once a month."
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"This place has been going downhill the past few times I went. It has now reached rock bottom. If the food was good you would not mind the high prices, but it is bad. The lobster was watery, the potatoes greasy, and the Chipino was not good at all. The pieces of fish were overlooked and the broth was flavorless. We will never go again."
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was not good. We had a large party and tried a variety of dishes. The most edible was the kids menu. The decoration of the restaurant was really fun but they had bad electronic music playing and it was too loud. They should select music that fits the vintage of the restaurant. Service was slow even though they were not very busy. Great candidate for Kitchen Nightmares. There is potential."
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Group of 9-people

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Been coming there for over 40+ years. 1st time the portions were small and over cooked. My mom's meal came after we were all done eating. My sister return the salmon because it was over cooked. The 2nd one was the same. They cedted her meal and gave us some desert too share."
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We shared a wonderful dining experience with some good friends. The happy hour oysters and shrimp were a big hit!"
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Sad for my Husbands special Birthday dinner..

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The service was fine..I was shocked to find Spengers almost empty on a Sat night on a holiday weekend.After eating there for the 1st time in 15 years i now know why. The clam chowder was the only good thing we both had. I ordered the appetizer called the Shrimp Kiss only to be told they were out of it. My husband ordered the Captains plate and i was shocked to see the shrimp on it were tiny overcooked bay shrimp. He stated most of the seafood on the platter was overcooked..I had the clam chowder bowl only to find the sourdough bread was very very stale.
Dinner cost over $70.00 with a tip and we never even got a coffee refill. We will never return to Spengers again, the good old days and food are gone. We had a horrible dinner..
"
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Very disappointed! You go to a seafood restaurant and you expect fresh seafood not frozen fish out of the box. I do not recommend this restaurant to anyone!"
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wait Staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"All staff were exceptional. Attending to all our preferences."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our waiter had a great sense of humor and personality. Food was delicious, the swordfish casino, buttermilk shrimp and fish and chips were our entree's. The birthday girl received a lovely Creme brûlée with fresh berries and the cocktail menu had a great selection of drinks. I had the smoke n spice rita, very good! Would definitely come here again"
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Pricey but fun, entree portions are exceptional and the happy hour is the champ. Would be nicer without TVs. The bar has classic dark booths that are the most appealing. The historic element is the real winner. Good place to take visiting family but could use a few more non-seafood items on the menu, you know, for those who don't seafood.
Strong cocktails!
"
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Have eaten here many times; always a success until this time. Bad day. Food was off, waiter was absolutely clueless I don't know if the Landry's purchase has changed the standards of this old standby, but if yesterday was the new standard, I will cease my future visits."
Dined on 3/21/2016
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Very nice atmosphere. The food was excellent. Our waiter, Noel, was very professional and attentive. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that desired an evening of great dining."
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OLdie But Goodie

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"They supposedly remodeled this restaurant when McCormick and Schmick's took over, but the bathrooms are the same funky ones I remember from the 1970's. Haven't been here in years. Under the old ownership I went regularly. The prices were very cheap then. Now the restaurant is pricey, but I think they cook the fish better now. It is so dark and dilapidated really. Hasn't really changed. I don't know if I like it the old style or would want to modernize it. Service is excellent. Bloody Mary was perfect. Great swordfish cooked exactly the way I wanted it. It is a blast from the past. Very family place. Brings back old memories. I would highly recommend it despite the decor. You can hear yourself think here and talk to you dinner partner. I like that."
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of my favorite restaurants!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went to Spenger's to celebrate a friend's retirement. We started with a calamari appetizer and then two of us had the Crab and Shrimp Louie Salad and the other had fried prawns. We all liked our meals and the service was excellent. We sat in the bar area and could see the TV's to monitor the Cal NCAA game which unfortunately they lost. It was a nice lunch in a restaurant that has remained one of my favorites for many years."
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

This place has gone down hill. Wont be back

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2005
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Iconic Seafood...but your open table points?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I hosted a group of 5 for dinner on Thursday, March 17th, making a reservation thru open table for 6:30pm.
To my surprise, I only got 100 points even though Open Table clearly stated that any reservation at Spengers form Sun to Thurs between 5-10pm would get 1,000 points.
The restaurant had no answers for me so I had to bide my time and call Open Table the following day.
Sure enough, I was right...I deserved 1,000 points for my reservation.
SO friends, I guess the restaurant was good but my experience with Open Table...not so much.
"
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Spenger's Fresh Fish Grotto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This place has never disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I have eaten here for many years, it never disappoints me. Lunch is always good, dinner the same. It's good for casual dining as well as for special occasions. I would highly recommend for any occasion. The bar is fabulous ."
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>