Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour

Voted “Top Five Izakayas In North America” by Bon Appétit Magazine in 2011; topping “Industry and Readers Choice” 2012 awards for Best Japanese and Best Izakaya in the Georgia Straight weekly: and “Best Casual Chain, Silver” by Vancouver Magazine in 2012, Hapa Izakaya offers a winning combination of a sexy room, well-priced portions of Japanese tapas, sushi, cocktails and premium sake. When Lea and Justin Ault introduced Hapa in 2003 they exploded the izakaya concept in Vancouver, setting the bar high for the host of contenders that followed. In 2010 Hapa was the first izakaya to join the Vancouver Aquarium’s Ocean Wise™ seafood conservation program and one of only a handful of Japanese restaurant partners in the program to date. Hapa continues to be a standout for its unique blend of food, fun and culture.
164 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(164 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 164 reviews
5 stars
(45)
4 stars
(79)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(74)
  • great for lunch(70)
  • good for groups(65)
  • hot spot(43)
  • scenic view(35)
  • special occasion(31)
Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour Reviews List
Review 1 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2011
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 26/03/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 26/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 28/12/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 16/04/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 16/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2008
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hyper Izakaya

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So I selected this out of the way place out of the chain just to switch up the locations. Me and a close girlfriend tried several dishes and we had an enthusiastic attentive server. We got a nice spot right by the window and there was also an outside patio option. The longer we sat, the more progressively packed and bustling it got. By the time we left, the place was banging. I would return."
Dined on 31/05/2013
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/07/2014
 2010
Dined on 31/07/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 31/07/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/07/2014
 2011
Dined on 23/07/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/07/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

HAPPY at HAPA

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have lunch at Hapa to celebrate our team's successes and of course the food and location is great. The atmosphere is fresh, vibrant and upbeat. The server is attentive and courteous. I highly recommend Hapa: lunch, dinner, or just having drinks."
Dined on 29/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I enjoyed a great evening. W enjoyed a delicious meal along with a great bottle of sake as recommended by our server. The service was second to none, as was the restaurants energetic atmosphere."
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hapa Hour

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for Hapa Hour, limited selections, but delicious and very reasonable. 2 of us shared 5 appys and three drinks each for $51. Crazy good deal for downtown Vancouver."
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyable again

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Second time at this location, enjoyable as was the first time. Nice selection of tapas, priced well. Enjoyed it again."
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Diverse menu with many options

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2006
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"There is allot of variety in the menu with many healthy options (and some not so healthy which is good too!). Fresh and creative, service is very good. Serving sizes are smaller (not too bad but Vancouver small as usual) so could use more but better than most others in the area."
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food is always delicious! Comes to the tables hot, hot, hot, and really quickly...never fails to be delcious! Hapa is one of my favourites in the neighbourhood. If you're going with more than two over lunch, you probably want to take the time to make a reservation! It's busy!"
Dined on 13/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Noisy

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Compare with other Hapa on Tobson St and Kitslano, this is the least one I like. Food was ok but smaller portion than the other Hapa. Also the restaurant was very noisy, my friend and I can't even hear each other's unless we talk very loud. I will not come to this Hapa again for sure , parking is very expensive so it is not worth to come here when u have other better Hapa to go."
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always Great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I go here relatively regularly and think it is a fantastic place for lunch or to meet after work. The food is excellent and the staff is wonderful. We have nothing but good things to say."
Dined on 08/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/10/2014
 2014
Dined on 24/10/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"great food, service was ok not bad but nothin special"
Dined on 24/10/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Really good food. Food and service from the waiters were great!"
Dined on 18/01/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not Impressed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had reservations for 5pm on a Friday night. The waitress told me right away that they needed their table back by 7:45pm? I haven't been seated yet and already I'm told what time I need to finish dinner by?!
This is the first time for Hapa Izakaya - Coal Harbour, to tell me what time they need their table back. I was taken aback and found this to be rude. Our waitress was also rude and brought our bill, before asking if we wanted to look at the dessert menu. We ordered appies and had to ask another waitress after 30 mins of waiting, where our appies were.
My friend and I were not impressed. Upon ordering our respective dessert items, the waitress again told us that we had to finish by 8pm, due to another reservation?! We were planning to leave by 8pm anyways. Such horrible service and will be going back to the Yaletown location, as the staff are friendlier and don't tell you when to leave!"
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice variety of food, great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went with a friend and it was my first time at this restaurant. First impression: this place is busy and the waitresses are pretty. The menu was focused on tapas for sharing but there were a few bowls suited for a single person. There was a nice variety of meat and fish dishes. Our waitress was very attentive and knew when we wanted to order and also refilled our water promptly even though it was busy.
The food was very creative. Each dish we ordered was very different from the other dishes. We had the cheese tofu which had a mild cheese flavour mixed with a sweeter fruity taste. The "sauce" gets scooped over baguette slices. I've never had a sauce like this before but it was very good and I'd recommend trying this unique dish.
Ebi Mayo was great, but then again I haven't had a bad ebi mayo from anywhere before. The Karaage was average to me. I mostly tasted a mild salt flavour that eventually became too much after eating multiple pieces.
We also had a dish with lettuce wrap and pork belly. The dish was quite good, but it'd be great if they had a dish with just the pork belly because the pork belly was well seasoned and could probably be a great dish by itself.
Overall the food tasted great and was presented quite well and our waitress was friendly and attentive. The price was a bit on the higher side but it's to be expected for what you are getting. We decided to eat until we were fairly full (and ordered more dishes than the ones I described above), and the bill came to $75 for the two of us combined. I'd go back again but probably in a group of 3 or 4 so we could try more dishes."
Dined on 13/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and service are always consistently good. Not very busy either on Saturday evening, which is a bit of a bonus."
Dined on 07/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too loud and bad ventilation

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food and service was great but the "ambiance" or environment is a little to be desired.
The noise level is ridiculous. I left with a sore throat from having to yell to hold a conversation with my lunch mate.
The ventilation fans in the kitchen are either broken or are not powerful enough. The grease smell coming from the kitchen is overbearing and I left with the stench of burned grease in my clothes.
"
Dined on 04/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 02/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I ordered the ika and a vegetable roll. Both were great but the ika was amazing!"
Dined on 02/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 18/02/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My personal favorites are halibut fries, TERIYAKI ISHI-YAKI and EBI MAYO...."
Dined on 18/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good for business meetings

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our company has had couple of business meeting in this location everything about the space is great, I just wish there was a way to bring the noise down. It is hard to head each other because the place is always busy at lunch."
Dined on 16/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good value for Happy Hour

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I go to this place for lunch all the time, but this time I met my friend for happy hour, the price was really good for smaller portion of the food, but the seating time is limited, so if you want to stay longer than hour and half, then you have to look for other place. This place is always fully bookedfor lunch, so you need to make reservation ahead. Overall, the food is always good, and good value too, it’s our favourite lunch hang out place. The only thing we don’t like is the noise, very noisy, so if you want to talk business, it’s not a proper place.
______________________________
"
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was fantastic. However, I was disappointed that the server continuously told us that we had to vacate the table by 8.15 for their 8.30pm reservation. I had made a 7pm reservation online and if it was that big of an issue to serve dinner over 1.5 hours, then I feel like I should not have been able to complete a reservation for 7pm (perhaps only 6.30 or 6.45 should have been allowed).
At one stage, we were considering ordering another plate and the server actually told us we needed to order immediately so she could rush the order. This was at 7.40 and still 50 min before the next seating. At that stage we decided to leave and go somewhere else to have more wine and some additional food. We did not feel welcome and felt continuously rushed.
We were not impressed and not sure if we will come back which is a shame because we really enjoy the food and have been coming here for years.
My suggestion is to block more time off per dinner if 1.5 hours is not enough so that guests can properly enjoy their experience"
Dined on 29/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enjoyable, but probably not again.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant was nice to try, but I don't think it will become a staple for my nights out. For the price, the food was good, but missing the "wow factor" I would expect. These are staple izakaya-style dishes for the most part, and the portions are tapas sized with share plate prices. The sushi was drenched in a spicy sauce that muddled the taste of the seafood, which was disappointing. For the same price range I prefer to visit Guu in gastown, as their service is better, the food more interesting, and the music not as loud."
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dine out Vancouver 2015

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Despite of how busy the restaurant was. The hostess and servers remained calm and kept their top-notch service attitude.
Only gave Overall of 3 stars because the value was moderate. But for the price and experience, it is fair."
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A place that is a must for foodies

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"smaller portions and great for sharing with friends."
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Well prepared, delicious food, decent service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Took a business lunch at Hapa Izakaya. We were seated in a great location and although it is quite noisy there at lunch we were able to have a good discussion while enjoying a very nice meal. The service was good and prompt but not overbearing. I will definitely be back for business lunch again."
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

japanese mini dishes!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had always wanted to go to Happa Izakaya! It was delicious! for $28 on the dine out menu they give you a 4 course meal. Ichi, ni, san, etc.The stand out for me was the sablefish which was melt in your mouth soft and perfectly cooked. I liked all the sauces on various dishes, between the 2 of us, my friend and i had about 8 items! 7/8 came within a reasonable amount of time. We were just chatting for about 45 minutes when a noodles dish showed up and we were like wha?? totally had forgotten about it and couldnt even eat i - so just packed it to go. Our waiter was really nice and gave great service....he did emphasize a couple times that "this is Izakaya style" so food comes when it comes...but the last dish was like it was forgotten...All in all I would probably return for the delicious Tuna hamachi and sauces!"
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Hapa Izakaya Coal Harbour
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Japanese cuisine....

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were there for happy hour as well as dinner. Happy hour was a great opportunity to try out all the different appetizers for the half price! For dinner we had the Gindara (baked sablefish) and the Yaki Udon, both great choices! For dessert we chose the green tea roll cake, very nice! The service was good and the restaurant has a nice view of the waterfront. I would definitely recommend this place."
Dined on 19/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>