Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Irish House Reviews List

The Irish House

The Irish House is an Irish Gastro Pub by Chef Matt Murphy. Chef Matt uses his Irish culinary roots to create elegant food featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. You can also enjoy light Irish fare in our pub, where we feature 12 beers on tap, a large selection of Irish beers, a carefully selected wine list, and television coverage of all of the biggest Rugby & Soccer matches. Coming soon: Irish musicians in our upstairs bar, Irish souvenirs in our old fashioned shoppe, and Irish Tea in our Tea Room.
See more The Irish House details
182 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(182 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 182 reviews
5 stars
(79)
4 stars
(61)
3 stars
(25)
2 stars
(14)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(80)
  • neighborhood gem(66)
  • fit for foodies(54)
  • great for lunch(48)
  • great for brunch(40)
  • kid-friendly(38)
The Irish House Reviews List
Review 1 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fish and chips was awesome. Murphy's on tap and 2 pages of fantastic Irish Wiskey. Must try the house Irish coffee"
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good music

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We came to hear a guitarist, Aaron, Lopez-Barrantes. He was excellentand the corner where he played was quaint. There was just a lot of other noise and the TV playing behind was distracting. But it is a restaurant and that is to be expected.
The shrinp and grits was pretty good.
"
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/16/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 4/03/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Eggs Benedict Ever!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I chose the eggs benedict for breakfast and it was the best I had tasted in a long while. My husband said I couldn't put my fork down. LOL"
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Thought service was a little slow considering how empty the place was for lunch. Food was pretty good."
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was delish! The server James was awesome and the Irish coffee with a jig is a must!!"
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Relaxing dinner. Live music was a plus!"
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2005
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Irisih House

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food was really great - was expecting typical bar food - We were pleasantly surprised by the menu! Our next trip to New Orleans - this will be our first stop!"
Dined on 3/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2007
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They didn't skimp on glassware this year which was better."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The perfect Irish Pub!"
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

You had me at Gluten Free and Paleo menu.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bangers and Mash! Awesome!"
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Love eating authentic Irish food in front of an open window on scenic St. Charles. Great staff and unique beer list. Parking was no problem at all since they have their own lot (which is not common in that area)"
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Unprofessional & sullen staff = unhappy diners

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We left before we ordered so this review is only on the poor service. When we arrived the hostess silently led us to a tiny two-top in the midst of 5 empty tables - 2 four tops and 3 larger tables. We're a couple who enjoys sitting side by side, so we asked if we could move to one of the empty 4 tops directly next to us. To our surprise, our waitress said no, but suggested we turn the two top sideways. We complied, but were taken aback by the refusal when there was clearly a lot of room. Not one person entered the restaurant as we sat uncomfortably smushed together. I stewed as the hostesses observed that we were clearly physically uncomfortable, but did nothing about it. I felt as if we were bad schoolchildren forced to sit in a corner. Up until then, everyone we encountered in NOLA was friendly & helpful. This was not the case at the Irish House. After sitting for a few more minutes, looking at a disappointing and limited menu, we decided to leave, although we had ordered drinks. The hostess who stood right next to us for a few minutes was clueless that a couple sitting at an angle to each other, elbows knocking every time we moved, surrounded by larger, empty tables was the slightest bit unusual. If the place had been crowded, we would have understood, but there were at least a dozen empty tables, and we had been seated in an empty section all by ourselves. Honestly, if ONE person had smiled at us, we might have given the place a chance, but when the staff is clearly disengaged, there's no reason to expect anything good will happen. No one seemed to care that stood up to leave - in fact, no one even looked our way, and since we have never dined and dashed, my husband tried to find our waitress to no avail and finally informed a hostess who stared blankly at us. Because he's a nicer person than I am, he said we were leaving because the music was too loud (which was a lie, but better than berating staff for being unprofessional and thoughtless)."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/27/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good place for beer and whiskey, food good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Waitress was excellent, great attitude. Food presentation beautiful"
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We made it!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Last trip to New Orleans we missed the Irish House due to travel disruptions. Now I realize it was our loss. Served by pleasant & pretty ladies; our traditional Irish choices and everything else were excellent. We will return and highly recommend."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great atmosphere and service; decent food

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My family was in the mood for fish & chips so decided to stop by The Irish House to try it out. I also heard some good things with the new chef - Chef Matt Murphy - doing some good things. Overall, the Irish House provides a good atmosphere and good service with decent food.
We went on Saturday afternoon, and even though it was around 2pm Brunch was still being served (it is served until 3pm). The brunch had a nice mix of lunch and breakfast items so we ordered a breakfast option, the fish & chips and the corned beef sandwich. The breakfast option was good, the fish & chips were alright, and the corned beef sandwich was really good.
The atmosphere of the place was really nice and it provided a nice environment in which to relax and enjoy the food. The service was also good. Overall,a nice place to hang out and enjoy."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The right spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"WOW, Chef Matt was a gem. Food was great, but more importantly the location and ambiance were perfect. We were able to watch Bacchus and the Super Bowl. Service was fantastic as well.
I recommend it for any occasion..."
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mardi Gras Parade Spot

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Went there with a party of eight to have dinner and watch the 3 Mardi Gras parades that pass the restaurant. There were 2 options available that night: pay $140 per person for an all inclusive buffet with an open bar or pay $20 per person for the privilege of having access to the bar and bathrooms and the option of ordering off the menu. We choose the latter but doubt seriously we will ever go back. The food was mediocre at best. Had to send back a dessert that was inedible. The service was about the same. The restaurant was empty except for our table and 1 or 2 more the entire evening. Unfortunately I cannot fathom any food or liquor this restaurant could produce that would be worth $140 per person! I saw countless people walk away because they did not want to pay $20 to just come in. This could have been a great opportunity for the restaurant but instead it was just a missed one."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The Irish House has always been one of my favorite restaurants but I was extremely disappointed in my experience this past weekend. I brought friends who were visiting from out of town and, while the ambience was terrific as usual, the food was very disappointing. The menu has changed since the last time I was there with some interesting additions. My friend ordered the Jambalaya which had a very raw tomato taste - as if it hadn't cooked long enough. I ordered the Guinness Stew which was tasty but only had about 2 small pieces of meat in the entire bowl. My son and husband had the Fish and Chips and Clover Chicken, both of which have been on the menu for a long time and were very good, as usual. Overall, I was disappointed and a little embarrassed to have raved about this restaurant to my friends only to have a disappointing experience. While I have always loved The Irish House, I'm not sure if I will be returning,..."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun atmosphere, great food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Wonderfully decorated gastro pub in the Garden District. Well thought out menu has something for foodies and the more bland eater. Definitely has a spot in the NOLA market."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New "Go To" Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Had a nice comfortable evening on Christmas Eve and decided on a second visit. Love sitting at the bar for a meal. Easy place to strike up conversations with others and listen to live music while enjoying great comfort food dishes."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food as always"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/04/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Irish House Review

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"New Years Eve was not a good fit for this restaurant. They had a limited menu which went for $65 per person. The soups were good, the entrée left little to consider. A thinly sliced piece of prime rib thrown on a grill. It was cooked perfectly but mostly fat. The dessert has no comment as it was not good. To top everything off, we got the bill for $4.22 which was in not way correct. Looking at my bank statement tonight, they charged me for the full bill plus the erroneous $4.22 bill. The service personnel were in a chaotic state as one of the employees didn't show up for work. It also took 20 minutes for us to initially be waited on. We had to ask the manager for someone to come over and wait on us."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Irish House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>