Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova Reviews List

Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova

Formaggio Taverna and Patio is Rancho Cordova’s favorite retreat for spirited Italian food and drinks in a warm and welcoming taverna setting. Located inside the Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, Formaggio is the perfect place to see and be seen, whether it's dining in the 128-seat dining room, or lounging around by the pool sipping a glass of Pinot Grigio. The vibrant dining room boasts a bustling handcrafted wood bar with an Italian marble top—setting the tone for a vibrant happy hour scene. Enjoy the Sacramento sunshine on our poolside patio which has plenty of plush lounge seating for all of your friends. Formaggio is open Daily 6:30am - 11:00 PM. Bar Open Late on Weekends

Whether you choose to treat the Formaggio as a pit-stop between a shopping excursion or to use it as the backdrop to a speedy business lunch, the express lunch menu at Formaggio is an ideal choice providing sumptuous relaxed Italian cuisine.
See more Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova details
62 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(62 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(19)
  • special occasion(17)
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • kid-friendly(10)
  • romantic(10)
Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova Reviews List
Review 1 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not great.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Not impressed with Easter brunch. It's not done by the restaurant Formaggio. It's the hotel banquet service. Mediocre food and the foulest champagne I ever had the misfortune to taste. Seriously. They should change brands. Service was very good. Well after full champagne glasses were dropped in the lap of one of our party, then it was very attentive. Will not return. In fact, will not go to any hotel brunch buffets in future as they all seem the same. Get a ham and stay home. It's less expensive and less frustrating."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Easter Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Easter brunch was a bit pricey but very good. I will probably go again next year. Bring your appetite to get your money's worth..."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"A great place for brunch. Pleasant & friendly staff. Very kid friendly. Great food! Wonderful service. I highly recommend it for any occasion."
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Our mimosa glass was never empty, loved it!!"
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

GREAT Food at a hotel!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is a wonderful option if you are dining in Rancho Cordova. The menu is varied and the food is well prepared."
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/22/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Valentines dinner was delicious

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"They had a reduced menu for Valentine's Day and I was concerned with not being happy with my choice. The server was very helpful and let me alter the dinner to my likes .. And it was delicious!!"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food, service, and noise level were excellent.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentine's Day dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Although there was a limited menu for dinner due to the holiday, I was able to order off of the menu. Our waitress Christina was very helpful and attentive, and our food, which included a steak and a personal pizza, was great."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My steak was prepared just as requested. My wife's fish was perfectly crusty and flaky. The dinner rolls I requested had a brown top with garlic,rosemary"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderful menu, flavors and presentation - same hotel we had met 15yr ago so an anniversary and they made it very special - thanks Formaggio!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Got complimentary wine for NYE celebration. Music and ambiance was good."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was excellent; milieu was average

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad food and overpriced

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Turkey entre was under seasoned and dry. Salad bar was skimpy and dessert bar was not tasty. Very disappointing. Food service and restaurant appearance was great but would not attempt to eat here again."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was ok but not for the price. We went on Thanksgiving and I was looking forward to the dessert buffet, but it was really disappointing!"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bob Ginther

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Turkey dinner was great, as was salad bar and wine"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice Hotel Restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A nice hotel restaurant with decent food that is above fast food, but not a place I would go back to for great food or atmosphere"
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

So so food - not much variety - wouldn't go back -

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"only went there because we were meeting friends from out of town who were staying at the Marriott."
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

While most suburban hotel restaurants...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"and are nearly always over-priced, I enjoy my visits to Formaggio. Other than
major holiday weekends the setting is quiet and actually cozy. Service is friendly and
more important, accommodating. Spouse and I shared a spinach salad, which was
fresh and generous with berries, blue cheese and a light dressing. I usually skip
the bread basket yet the freshly baked buns took up a better than average olive
oil and balsamic.
Decent wine list. Wife had a glass of Estancia Zinfandel, I was happy with a cold Peroni.
The 'wood fired' pizza grill upon close inspection is gas fired, yet super hot, and the
server made the changes we requested ie tomatoes and spinach vs pepperoni. Result was
better than expected, bit of burn to the thin crust, balanced sauce, really pretty nice at $14.
We then split a salmon entre' over risotto with an asparagus puree from the halibut
switched over happily vs a buerre blanc.
Total was $67. before gratuity, not bad. We took some pizza home. Nice setting,
intelligently prepared and fresh, friendly service...oh, and use Marriott points if you have them.
"
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The decor was cute and lovely for a hotel restaurant but just perfect with an open air kitchen and grille in the corner. Our server was very sweet and offered to buy my sister's dessert for her birthday. I had to start with that because the lemon panda cotta was delicious! We started with a hamachi tartare which had nowhere near enough hamachi for $17. At first I thought it was blended with tuna and they just didn't mention that, but then I realized they were actually tomatoes which overpowered the little hamachi there was. We had the salmon and halibut entrees and each loved our dishes. I would definitely return when in the area"
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Family of 10 lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall food was delicious. Service was slow but didn't bother us. We had a nice family visit between courses. Bar served marvelous Margaritas. Deserts were excellant. Wine list was extensive. Atmosphere was beautiful. One person remarked that it felt like being on vacation. Poolside tables were lovely. Side room for our party was comfortable our chatter and laughing did not disturb the other diners."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My corn beef hash was terrible.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would liken my hash to be like crispy fried cat food. Far from being tasty or juicy. HOWEVER, I was running late so I didn't ask to replace my meal tho I had the feeling that if I did ask, it would have been done in a pleasant manner. Service was friendly. My third time staying at this particular Marriott so other than this incident, I've had no other complaints"
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love coming to the great brunch buffets here for special occasions. Everyone is friendly and the waitstaff is attentive but not overbearing."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This review is for the Mother's Day brunch on May 10, 2015.
Firstly I want to say I'm not sure who is responsible for the bait and switch as I made reservation on Open Table which quoted a price of $40 per person for the brunch buffet in the Formaggio Taverna restaurant located at the Marriot Hotel. When we checked in we were charged $45 plus an 18% gratuity FOR A BUFFET?
When we questioned the price discrepancy a gentleman was called over and was very flippant. He said $45 in a take it or leave it kind of way. We decided to pay for it and went in to our reserved table. Mind you I stated on the special note section that the reservation was for two adults with a 1 year old child. So where do they put us? Right smack in the front of an aisle the closest table to the door in a huge impersonal banquet hall when we thought we'd be in a restaurant. Foot traffic had to squeeze by to get through. After feeling so uncomfortable we were given the option to move which we did.
Now for the food. They definitely had a huge selection of food with one glaring omission of yogurt. The chef behind the table did offer to get some for me though which was very accommodating of him. Otherwise the hot food was cold, and nothing to write home about. The wait staff was very accommodating and professional. With the exception of the gentleman we encountered in the beginning everyone was really nice, but the ambience we thought we were getting turned out to have a mess hall feel dressed up as some bizarre pseudo wedding banquet equipped with a singer and guitarist. Makes me think they were really trying to sell their special event services! I think in the future should I do something like this again I will call and confirm prior to committing to the reservation but will not come here again for my mother's day brunch.
"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good hotel stop

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We needed a place for a quick bite before a concert and we found it. The food was satisfying and the service outstanding"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Easter Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We just enjoyed a delightful Easter Brunch at the Marriotts in Rancho Cordova. We have celebrated holidays here before and have always been very satisfied. The only hard part is the price. We invited 6 family members and so our bill was $345.00. That is alottttt of money for one meal. I have to say that the crab pre-split and the smoked salmon and the mussels etc. were a wonderful addition to a normal Sunday brunch, and therefore the cost increase. However….even had you kept the price at maybe $39.99 that would be more than sufficient. You have to realize that not everyone is a heavy eater. We had a teen girl with our group who eats like a bird and yet had to pay the same price. We also had an elderly person who eats light. So my only suggestion to make the brunch better would be to lower the price just a bit. Other than that…..your staff was all very accommodating and friendly. Your bunny was adorable and very good with the children. We adults took pictures as well. The pig in the buffet was a little off-putting. I know it is a popular way of serving pork, but it kept me from eating it. lol. We have already signed up for Mother's Day brunch, and although not looking forward to the punch paying the bill….we know we will have a wonderful, even fabulous time enjoying your very delicious and impressive buffet . Thank you for providing these special buffets at holiday time."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best buffet brunch ever!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All the food is very fresh. Great variety. All cold food is kept very cold, all hot food is hot, not just warm. They had the best clams I've ever eaten. All of the employees were very friendly without being overbearing. Our waitress was Jackie. Very sweet and always seemed to appear as soon as we needed anything."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Easter Brunch

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2003
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Formaggio is an excellent place to go for Easter Brunch, We have been going for years and have never been disappointed. This year they had an entire roast pig that was delicious."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Formaggio Taverna & Patio - Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"one of the best mussel dishes I've ever had and the salad with pears, spiced pecans and pomegranate seeds was exceptionally good."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>