Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel Reviews List

The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel

Dine at The Terrace Restaurant to enjoy a contemporary, American-inspired menu created by executive Chef Joseph Rose. The Terrace culinary team offers guests organic and locally sourced ingredients that are fresh and seasonal.

Sitting on the fifth floor of the The Gwen: A Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago's lobby, the indoor Terrace Bar offers a sleek interior and a variety of domestic and imported beers, wine, ports, dessert wines, scotch, liqueurs and martinis paired with our shareable plates menu, including our amazing Robata Skewers. Sit back, relax and enjoy any one of our seasonal cocktails!
See more The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel details
9 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
(9 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
(1)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(3)
  • special occasion(3)
  • good for groups(2)
  • great for brunch(2)
  • great for outdoor dining(2)
  • hot spot(2)
The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel Reviews List
Review 1 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just a bar. The outdoor terrace closes at 6 pm

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The terrace was closed unbeknownst to us prior to our arrival. We ended up sitting in the lounge area. Service was extremely poor. The octopus was some of the worst I've had. Such a let down as I was looking forward to it. The steak was tender, flavorful and had very little fat. I would recommend ordering it. The wait staff either needs to be retrained or be replaced. I would be hesitant on returning anytime in the near future."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Was pretty cold outside, no working heat station.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Need some blankets as well for guest.
Food is amassing.
"
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing roof top experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There is no better way to enjoy Chicago's summer than this roof top experience. The late night food and wine was fantastic. This is a great place for a romantic occasion or to just enjoy drinks with friends."
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Terrace Restaurant/Rooftop/Bar at The Gwen Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ambiance was great. My only complaint was that the food took quite some time to arrive even though they didn't appear to be too busy. Then our waitress went on a "mandatory break" in the middle of serving us, so we didn't any service while she was away except for when someone walked by, and we asked for refills on our water. We all (6) got cocktails from the bar as well, and no one enjoyed them. Our waitress didn't bother to ask us about them even when she saw that no one finished their drinks.
Overall, I would go back for a special occasion, but I would not order cocktails and I would want to make sure our service was way better."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.