Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago Reviews List

Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago

The ultimate steakhouse in the city that knows its steak.



Adjacent to the Loop on bustling State Street, our Chicago location offers an impressive view of the Chicago River and features a large outdoor patio open during pleasant weather, spring through fall. Enjoy turn-of-the-century décor, and ample space for private events. For more casual fare or a relaxing cocktail hour, visit Wollensky’s Grill on the lower floor. Tours of the dry-aging room and on-site butcher shop may be arranged by special request.
See more Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago details
1078 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(1,078 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,078 reviews
5 stars
(624)
4 stars
(277)
3 stars
(107)
2 stars
(42)
1 star
(28)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(556)
  • special occasion(527)
  • romantic(289)
  • good for groups(273)
  • notable wine list(271)
  • great for outdoor dining(269)
Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago Reviews List
Review 1 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food, great service and the best view in the city"
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great ambiance; outstanding food; attentive staff.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday Celebration

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My Birthday falls during Restaurant week. In our family, you get to choose where ever you want to go for dinner. But, I also get to pay the bill. So, I take advantage. With that being said, I made reservations at a steak house we have been to often. The restaurant week menu their was unimpressive. I decided to look at other steak houses on the list. That is where I found Smith & Wollensky. It looked like a nice place , menu was right up my ally, and the view of the river was the final seller. I Switched reservations. In the notes, I did say we were celebrating my birthday and ask to please be seated by the window. I did get a conformation call the day before. Our evening came, and I have to say, it was absolutely wonderful! We were greeted by a friendly staff, who seated us right away, and sat us by the window with the most beautiful view of the city. Our evening continued on a high note. I was surprised with complimentary glass of Champaign. 2 of us chose the 3 corse restaurant week menu. My Husband chose off the regular menu. First corse we chose the salad wedge . Nice, crisp and light. We each chose a steak. Mine was a 14oz ribeye, my daughter chose the 10oz filet, and hubby chose a 24 oz. ribeye. All excellent, excellent, excellent! Cooked to perfection. We chose 2 sides to share. Extremely good, and plenty to go around. We finished with coconut cake with a passion fruit drizzle accompanied by fresh fruit and a lit candle. I'm a desert foodie. It was to dye for. When we were done, we were not rushed out the door, even thought the place was hopping. I was wished a "Happy Birthday!" by more than a few different staff members during the evening. To say that this was a wonderful place to eat, and experience, does not give it justice. This IS my new favorite place & we will defiantly be coming back again. I can't wait."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I love S&W, but our last dining experience was not the best. When I made the reservation, I indicated it was my dad's birthday; no one made any mention of his birthday the entire meal, which is odd as we come here every year for his birthday and other special occasions, and S&W has never not acknowledged same. Our waiter was very busy and distracted. It took him three visits to our table before taking our drink orders. The brussels sprouts were not cooked enough. If I didn't already love this steakhouse I wouldn't recommend it based on our past experience."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing Second Visit

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My wife and I went here for restaurant week last year and it was great. This year we went again and my skirt steak had to be reheated, the waiter was missing-in-action (which may explain my steak's temperatures), and the batter on one of my wife's perch was not fully cooked.
It is a good restaurant and I am working with their management to rectify the matter. I am sure this was an anomaly and why I would still recommend giving them a visit."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"S&W had a great Restaurant Week menu, so my sister and I decided to check it out for lunch. Let me start by saying the service was pretty on-point and the streak frites were great. Well-seasoned and cooked as I requested. My sister had the burger, which was just okay, but her fries were pretty disappointing (seemed previously frozen, which was surprising for this price point). We both really liked the coconut cake, and I'm saying that as someone who doesn't really care for coconut.
We weren't able to sit on the upper level, as it was closed for renovations. The lower level felt cramped and dark, especially since we weren't able to sit near the window overlooking the river. This was especially strange, as it wasn't particularly crowded when we were seated. The restaurant was serving brunch at this time, but there was no price for the single Bloody Mary on the menu (the bottomless price was listed, but it was outrageous) and the server didn't seem to know how much it was or what was in it, so I skipped it.
Overall, good food, but the experience was just okay. I'm glad I went for Restaurant Week, as I don't think I would want to return and pay full price."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I visited for the first time during Restaurant week with a few girlfriends. The main dining room was under construction, so we dined downstairs in the grill area. I had the smoked ribeye. It is a la carte so we ordered sides to pass around the table. The food was awesome. I would definitely visit again. It is pricey but well worth the money."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice scenic view, but fell short on the taste

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Went for Saturday lunch during Restaurant Week. The pricing was fair, $22 for a 3 course meal. Overlooking the small ox bone I found in the starter, both it (oxtail onion soup) and the dessert (coconut cake) were very delish, but the main course (burger) was not that great. I was going to try a steak but wanted to stay on the RW menu, and the burger tasted more like mush I have gotten from company cafeterias than a first class restaurant. Myself nor my brother finished our burgers. I also am not a fan of fries in general, but they wouldn't substitute that side for anything else and their fries were flavorless. The drink was very tasty too, and typically priced for cocktails in Chicago ($14). The riverside view was the best part."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Smith & Wollensky

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"A great evening and meal made better by the tremendous staff who pay attention to every detail and are wonderful in their demeanor and approach."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, very slow and lackluster service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We went here during Chicago Restaurant Week for a special occasion. I understand that the pace of service for a fine dining experience is quite a bit slower than a casual neighborhood restaurant, but the service on this evening was excruciatingly slow. At times, we only had partially filled water glasses on the table for 20-30 minutes between courses. Empty plates were not cleared timely, and the waiter really seemed to be "phoning it in". The food was very good when it did come, but the total experience just did not make it a good value for us."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible Experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had a reservation and was sat way in the back corner at a small table right next to a screaming kid. We were trying to celebrate my wife's birthday. We will not return even though the food was good."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing return visit from PPX member

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Review for initial visit about a month ago: Had lunch at S&W about a month ago with my mom in the main dining room. We had an excellent waiter, nice table by the window, the food was prepared with care and had great flavors. My mom had the NY strip and I had the salmon, we had mashed potatoes and onion rings as sides, and cheesecake for dessert. It was such a great experience that I couldn't wait to take my mom back there for her birthday lunch and order all of that again :)
Review for this visit: I made a reservation for my mom and I through opentable and noted that I wanted a table with a view if possible, and that it was a birthday lunch for my mom. The hostess was lovely, and that was pretty much where the good service ended. The hostess seated us at a nice table overlooking the water.
Cons:
- No one brought up the notation that this was a birthday lunch
- brusk interactions with waiter who seemed more interested in the two larger tables on either side of us; he didn't check in to ask how things were, one of the support staff did, but we were practically done eating.
- waiter seemed irritated by my mom trying to explain the NY Strip she wanted, he told her it was sirloin, I will give him kudos that he then asked the hostess to come over & tell her it's called a sirloin, but when we got the steak, it wasn't the NY Strip. It's a $50 steak, so we're not going to return it. My mom did say the sirloin was cooked well and flavorful, but it's not what she wanted.
- felt ignored so just ordered cheesecake to go, but this has been a place in the past where you enjoy your meal while you're there and feel welcomed, not just invisible and brisk. I tried to redeem the meal & told my mom to get the cheesecake to go so she could enjoy at home.
Honestly, not sure about returning or recommending. Would definitely say know exactly what you want and alternate names for the dish, and ask for a different server if yours is like ours. Service matters as much as food."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time visiting S&W. Overall great experience.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Disappointed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We come to your restaurant during the summer to enjoy the excellent outdoor dinner dining by the river. Every year we travel from Elgin to Chicago during Restaurant Week to enjoy your lunch offering. My husband tells people all year long that the hamburger at S&W can't be beat. And again, he was not disappointed. I ordered the steak frites and am still dreaming of those delectable truffle drizzled, crispy shoestring frites. Same excellent taste, portion and quality as always. Excellent server and I so wish I remembered his name. Hats off again this trip to your chef and staff."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Chicago
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>