Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Baby Blues BBQ - SF Reviews List

Baby Blues BBQ - SF

The best damn BBQ in SF!! We slow smoke our meats to delicious perfection. We offer three different styles of ribs including Baby Backs, Memphis Style long bone, and the Texas style beef rib. Yummy :) Both our pulled pork and beef brisket are braised in Guinness. We have a variety of fixins including collard greens, mac-n-cheese, baked beans, sauteed okra, potato salad, and many, many more!! Check us out, you won't be disappointed!!!
See more Baby Blues BBQ - SF details
59 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(59 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(32)
  • neighborhood gem(29)
  • kid-friendly(16)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • vibrant bar scene(7)
Baby Blues BBQ - SF Reviews List
Review 1 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

BBQ

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2004
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Fun, old-fashioned barbecue in a modern setting. The food was great with a much appreciated attention to the sides, which often get short shrift. I particularly enjoyed the collard greens and the mac and cheese. The space itself was was warm with beautiful wood counters. The service was friendly and accommodating. An altogether pleasant experience that will have you wanting to come back for more."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as it used to be

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our family lives in the neighborhood and were so happy to have a good bbq restaurant right on our doorstep, and have been there frequently since it opened. We have been used to waiting for a table on busy nights and didn't mind because the food was always worth the wait, however on our two most recent visits we were disappointed with the food and entire experience.
The food took an unusually long time to arrive even though on both occasions there were less than half the tables occupied, and when it did arrive all our meals were lukewarm and the meats dry. The service was lackluster, and we didn't feel at all welcome like we always have in the past.
Hoping this is a temporary downturn as it used to be such a treasure.
"
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Tried a number of items on the menu - smoked chicken wings, badass meatballs, Memphis ribs, pulled pork, hot link and sliced beef brisket. Sides were creamed spinach and coleslaw. The wings, brisket and pulled pork and slaw are good - the meatballs, ribs, hot link and creamed spinach are very good. Great BBQ sauces on the table - waiters suggested mix of the habanero and sweet was fantastic. Given that San Fran isn't a BBQ destination I'd give this place an A for effort. Excellent service and a cool joint. Would definitely return."
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

reliable meat-centric joint

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is always good, but the noise when busy makes normal conversation almost impossible. My parents (in their 80s) prefer it to the more fashionable restaurants that we often go to--despite the noise. If you don't mind repeating yourself or near-shouting through your meal, there's every reason to enjoy this eatery. Did I mention how loud it is? :)"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good great. Fun atmosphere. Service fabulous!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2001
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2001
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2001
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2001
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2001
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2001
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/08/2013
 2012
Dined on 6/08/2013
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/08/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The brisket was amazing. The service too!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great BBQ in SF

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have eaten at Baby Blues in Philadelphia many times. My absolute favorite BBQ joint. And I'm from Virginia. They don't have a freezer and they don't have a microwave. I'm told that a few guys from PA went West (probably not looking for gold) and brought their BBQ skills with them opening up a restaurant in SF and two in LA before coming back home to open up one in Philly. So I thought I would try the SF location. I was not disappointed. start off with the smoked wings ask for either plain or "sweet kick". More about that in a minute. Ribs and brisket are great. Family debates Memphis vs baby back; I suggest trying both. If you want to go for it try a Texas rib (it's Fred Flintstone size). It might be too fatty or expensive for some, but great flavor. The cornbread is the best I have ever had (if it is too dry ask for another piece), and the creamed spinach is awesome (ask my kids). But the key to this place is the sauces. Skip the two middle ones and only go for the sweet and the XXX. I am a hot guy but the sweet is so good. So you mix the two to your preferred heat level. Everyone can enjoy. But you gotta mix the two, even if you are a heat wimp, because the XXX really does bring great flavor. The "sweet kick" on the wings is a mixture of the two aforementioned sauces. Well, there you have it. Oh, they also have some nice craft draft beers, but this seems to be the norm in CA. Enjoy."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2004
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun place! Great staff! Delicious food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2005
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lively atmosphere, excellent Memphis Style Ribs

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a Saturday night dinner with my son at Baby Blues on a busy night. The staff were friendly and attentive despite it being a very busy night. The ribs (we tried both the baby back and memphis style long ribs) were excellent-- flavorful, almost but not quite fall-off-the-bone tender. The veggie sides (we had spinach and greens) and corn bread were outstanding. Serving sizes were generous. The decor is Texas-roadhouse with long benches and bar seating. It was a bit loud for casual conversation but still tolerable. Overall an enjoyable experience and I will come back."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Causal neighborhood joint

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Read so many rave reviews about the Baby Blue BBQ. Decided to venture out to the Outer Mission since I love BBQ.
It is a very causal place, almost too causal. Most of the customers must be regulars. They are kind of self service and the servers presume you know what do you want to order. She was shocked when we asked for the menu. Then she disappeared for quite awhile. Silverware and napkins are in the can so it is self serving.
The food is decent but not memorable. The ribs are not tender enough that the meat will detach from the bones when you bite them. The brisket is too fatty. Turn out the server was very nice and friendly. She came to check us out and make sure we have enough beer once we get used to the causal service environment.
"
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent ribs place.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice choice in the Mission for ribs. Very friendly and very reasonable pricewise. Check it out !"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So proper!!! Love this place even more than the LA

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So proper!!! Love this place even more than the LA"
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great BBQ

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a big group so the kitchen delivered a couple of Beggar's Banquet platters. EVERYTHING on that plate was fantastic, but the beef ribs were a standout. We also loved the brisket and the mac and cheese.
The staff was fantastic and the price was amazing for what we got.
"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

LA BBQ in SF

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always like the BBQ here, just as good as Venice Beach location. Too bad SF folks don't get it.
Enjoyable food.
"
Dined on 11/21/2011
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mission Jem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Baby Blue's is at the top of my list for SF eats. The atmosphere is relaxed and inviting. The wine list is great and the BBQ is some if the best I've had on the west coast. The shrimp app is a great starter. Family favorites are the 3 little piggies, pork belly salad, and the big blue. Don't miss the banana pudding!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"food was awesome, pricing was great and our server Holly was amazing!!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Baby Blues BBQ for a birthday win!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I visited Baby Blues BBQ as part of a birthday party I had planned for a fairly large group (~20 people, over the course of the evening). Based on RSVPs, I initially made a reservation for 10 people, but several people replied that they would be joining very late (the day before, in some cases). I called Baby Blues BBQ to see if I could expand the reservation. They initially didn't see the OpenTable reservation because those are only visible the day of the visit, but when I told them my situation, the manager was very quick to book me a larger table that could accommodate up to 18 people, and she told me not to worry if a few more straggled in over the course of the meal (which did end up happening).
Concerning the food, it was very simple to order for a large group, since they have pre-made meals to feet different-sized groups. I was worried a few vegetarians in the party would have trouble finding something they could enjoy at a BBQ place, but the sides were scrumptious (as was the BBQ, but I expected that). I'm not a foodie myself, but am definitely a fan of BBQ, and I'd happily go to this place again in a heartbeat.
In short, great service, great food, relatively affordable prices (~$30 per person, not counting drinks), and a very lively ambiance. Worth checking out."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OMG OMG.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I would not call myself a ribs expert, but had one of the best meals I can remember in a LONG time on my first visit to this place with a friend who had been there before and loves it. Save room for dessert though. The bread pudding is out of control. And Dolly the waitress was a real doll. Loved it."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best BBQ in the city

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've been here 100 time and I have never had a bad experience. Come here with a group and get a feedbag. The food is always on point and the service is always great."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Department Lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have a couple of big eater in our department so we settled on Baby Blues for our department lunch. Baby Blues fit the primary criterion. Big hardy plates of food! It just did not transport me back to my BBQ roots."
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Baby Blues BBQ - SF
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic