Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sant Ambroeus - Southampton Reviews List

Sant Ambroeus - Southampton

Shortly after the original Sant Ambroeus opened its doors in Milan in 1936, a devoted following emerged. This celebrated pasticceria and confetteria became the meeting place for the local intelligentsia, whether beginning their day with Sant Ambroeus's legendary cappuccino and cornetto, savoring panini at lunch, or spending their evening enjoying refined cuisine in the restaurant's elegant dining room.
We translated these old-world sensibilities of Sant Ambroeus to modern times, and imported our rich culinary traditions to New York. Each of our restaurants remains authentic to our Milanese origins, and we continue to serve our culturally inspired delectables in a casual yet elegant environment.
See more Sant Ambroeus - Southampton details
25 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(25 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • special occasion(11)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • romantic(6)
Sant Ambroeus - Southampton Reviews List
Review 1 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicioso!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Began our first visit to Southampton with a delicious meal here. The fine dining space is small tucked away behind the gelato bar. Fine service began with a delicious artichoke salad, then the special veal rolatini...to die for. We ended with gelato of course. Expensive but worth it for a special treat."
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing food. Amazing wait staff. Wicked good dinner!"
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

So stuck up they turn clients away

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"On a gorgeous, sunny afternoon, we decided to have dessert and a glass of wine and coffee, while sitting on the outside patio. And yes, we did have a reservation. There were two other occupied tables. We were seated and we asked for the dessert menu. The waitress returned to inform us if we were only having dessert, we would have to go buy it from the patisserie and eat it there.
Are you kidding me, Sant Ambrose?
So I cannot review the food or the service, however, I can safely say I would never recommend it to anyone, even if they were eating a full meal."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overall experience nowhere near the NYC location

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First of all, I love this restaurant in NYC and thought I would love the Southampton location until our experience this past Monday eve. Understanding it's a Monday reservation after a summer weekend of demanding locals and patrons and the staff wanted to go home however it was the fastest $500 meal for 3 people (one entree and apps) that I've ever had .
We were enjoying ourselves and even were asked for last call so we ordered another glass of wine for two of us and glass of champagne for my friend. Before we could get a couple sips into our last drink, the waiters started hovering around.
We sat in the garden area of which would have been easy for us to leave (they had locked the main door already) after enjoying our last drink however the couple servers made us very uncomfortable by standing over us less than five feet away from the table. It frustrated one of our guests so much who had taken the train out just in time for dinner that eve .
If you plan to go, ensure in addition to the high premium on prices that you ask your server if you have time to finish your meal including last call drinks. Our reservation was for 9:15 and they probably should not have sat us or managed our expectations that they would be expecting us to finish our meals and out the door by 10pm close.
Sad for this experience given I love the NYC location's food and service so much but I'm afraid I will choose other upscale dining options in Southampton who have a more mindful level of patron service."
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The most expensive restaurant in Southampton, but the food is wonderful, so it is worth it and always packed."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Tiny portions

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Its just one of those places that gets away with charging really high prices for tiny portions. The decor is nothing special. There arent a lot of other options around so thats how it stays in business.."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sant Ambroeus - Southampton
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic