Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia

Refined luxury in Philadelphia’s iconic square.

Overlooking the historic Rittenhouse Square Park planned by founding father William Penn, our Philadelphia restaurant offers a panoramic view of this picturesque center city landmark. The cozy warmth of polished wood, brass, whimsical antiques, and original art create a refined yet casual steakhouse experience throughout. The main bar draws locals and visiting celebrities alike.

159 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(159 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 159 reviews
5 stars
(74)
4 stars
(46)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(10)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(79)
  • scenic view(56)
  • romantic(49)
  • notable wine list(46)
  • good for groups(31)
  • fit for foodies(30)
Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia Reviews List
Review 1 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2013
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2015
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/15/2013
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sad experience as this was my favorite place to have a great meal.
We went on the last night and it just was awful and tired and should have not served."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food and service were both excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great meal!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was great and the food was so good, but we won't be going there again. Our server informed us that the restaurant would be closing in a week and that is a shame. If you can get there this week, go for it!"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Can't believe it's ending

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We will miss S &W. It was a comfortable friendly place to go. Everyone was so very nice and the food was wonderful. Not sure another steakhouse in Philly will ever feel the same. We will especially miss our favorite server Issac. What a fine gentleman and attentive server. What ever restaurant he lands at will be very lucky to have such a personable professional man."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was a little pricey, mainly the entrees, but it was outstanding. The service started out excellent but it seemed after our food arrived the waiter disappeared. Came back once to ask how the food was but did not seem as friendly as he was when telling us about how good this bottle of wine would be that we were considering ordering. Overall I would say it was a good experience and am sorry they will be closing."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

will miss you very much

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been going to this establishment for 12 years, and never tire of the personal, vibrant, caring, and superior level of service and care.
I find it very sad that this place will be closing their doors very soon because the landlord raised the rent to $600,000 a year. This is a huge amounts of money for any restaurant regardless of who they are.
I do know however, the serving staff who far outshine any in the city, will find very good homes and I will continue to patronize them."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was absolutely divine! I had the salmon and it was the best I have ever had! The atmosphere was too noisy for me. There were TV's everywhere which I think detracts from the dining experience. The gar was very busy for a Thursday night but I guess you have to expect that in a large city. The waiter seated us as the host was nowhere to be found. The service was ok, nothing special. Overall I would go back simply because the food was so good. However, if you want a romantic place with great food this is not for you, simply because it is too noisy."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2013
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Say it ain't so !!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We are so sad to learn that Smith & Wollensky will be closing this restaurant. What a shame. The food rivals any steakhouse in Philly. The service is top shelf. Ask for Jiwad he is the best waiter I have had the pleasure to have dined with. We love this place. The food never disappoints and the wine list is excellent. You only have until July 18th to enjoy this fantastic steakhouse. Try the beef bacon and don't forget to request Jiwad as your server. We will miss this fantastic spot."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We hadn't been here for several years. That was our bad. We had a great, great meal with outstanding service. This is a don't mis when in Philadelphia."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We began our experience with 2 loaves of moldy bread. Yes the in sides where green. This waitress quickly retrieved the manager and he offered an apology . No other consession was offered. Food was fair and it was pricy. Side note parking in area tough but is case with most cities."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

LOVE IT Thanks for making our celebration festive!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"LOVE IT Thanks for making our celebration festive!"
Dined on 9/06/2013
 2005
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love the view of the Rittenhouse Park from our seat in the restaurant. The food was great, service thoughtful and attentive. we enjoyed the meal and restaurant very much."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Worst meal and service I have ever received. Go to Capital Grill or Del Frescos. This place stinks."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Wedding Anniversary Choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the salad and soup (bread included) through dinner and dessert, everything that we ate tasted great and the presentation was top notch."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good quality food.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was tasty. The only draw back was that the waiter was not attentive. Never checked up to make sure the order was right. Never offered to refill drinks. Worst of all, the waiter had a runny nose and kept snorting as he walked by our table. That made the experience a bit less pleasurable. But I can't complain about the food or location."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You can't go wrong at Smith & Wollensky! Quality dining and service all around! Best steak in Philadelphia!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wollensky salad best part of the meal. Rick our waiter was excellent"
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food... Great service.. Would absolutely go back"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A little bit too expensive for what it is

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food and service are good, but for the same price you can dine somewhere much more upscale. The prices could stand to be a bit lower here."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were greeted and seated immediately. Service was excellent and the entire meal was very enjoyable. We would definitely go back."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Steaks but at a premium price

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"WE when to celebrate a special occasion and this place did not disappoint. Wonderful steaks, but at a premium price. Add wine and the bill can be quite steep. Great for that special occasion."
Dined on 5/17/2014
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for restaurant week and definately will go back. Great service and food with a beautiful view."
Dined on 1/26/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for Restaurant Week and had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious, prepared perfectly and the service was outstanding. The Mac and cheese is the best I've ever had! We even received a tour of the other floors of the restaurant after asking where the elevator went. They were very accommodating to our group. We had one vegetarian and one member who does not eat meat and both were given other options for entrees and dessert. I would definitely recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was a good birthday

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I came out to celebrate with my family for my birthday dinner. The food was good. My steak was perfectly cooked inside but it had a little more char on the outside than I wanted. I did not like the way the asparagus was cooked at all. Very hard and dry. The wine was fantastic. Everyone else loved the food. The upper level was nice and quiet. It was a good time."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent place, the food was great, the wine list is really good."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome Dining Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"What a great night for food and company. I went for my birthday for a table of 5. Ages 11 to 44. It was great!! Food was Great!!! Kid friendly with great servers..
I have recommended this for our meetings with the area hospitals.
"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food but slow.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As usual the food was excellent, my wife and I love M&S, over the years we visited many locations, we always came back to our place in Philadelphia though. This time the service was horrendous, slow, late, and with many mistakes...the food still good though."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2010
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I will NEVER go back to this Resturant! The food was just OK; but worse than that was the service. I took my parents here for Resturant Week. It was the first & last time I will visit. The water spilled something on the floor about 3 feet away from our table. He dropped a rag on floor to mop
up his spill. He then used his foot to circulate the rag. He picked up the rag, and brought is our food...yes, he NEVER washed his hands! Eeeewwwww! I wonder what went on the kitchen?! I know that I am completing this review months later but I can still what he did so vividly. Who does that?!
"
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2010
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Totally disappointed and over priced.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to pevery steak house in Philly now. And this is the only one I truly did not like.
I also felt it was slightly higher then all others for food of far less quality. My biggest disapointment of all was the Shrimp cocktail. $22 for four shrimp that where flavorless and very disappointing sauce. I also found the server to be a huge disappointment as well.
I find Ruth's Chris food quality above all else, and others I have dinned with agree.
I will not be back.
"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

the worst service I have ever encountered.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Waited over 20 minutes for bread & water. Waiter was rude.steak was not cooked as requested and was given a hard time when I tried to send it back"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great steak and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for restaurant week. Had a great experience. The staff was super friendly and inviting. We had an amazing view of Rittenhouse square from our table on the second level. I ordered the wedge salad, filet with mash pototoes and chocolate cake! Everything was delicious and cooked to perfection. The bread and butter was also a special treat to get us started. Our waiter, Fabian was great! Very attentive and knowledgable. Overall success and we will definitely be back!:)"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was excellent - Steaks done to perfection and clams and oysters were also great"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Smith & Wollensky Steakhouse - Philadelphia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pretty good for restaurant week

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed our restaurant week meal here. The staff was very nice and food was pretty good. The steaks were decent but not out of this world like ocean prime. It was still a very good experience and we likely will be back."
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>