Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Forum Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Forum

Located in the heart of the Back Bay, FORUM Bar & Restaurant boasts two distinct floors, two bars, a cafe space with outdoor patio, and a 1300 bottle wine cellar. On the first floor, guests are invited to socialize around front bar, featuring a selection of seasonal signature cocktails, house infused vodkas, glycol-cooled beer drafts and our exquisite selection of bar bites. Our seasonal patio offer alfresco dining in a casual setting. Upstairs, our intimate martini bar provides a private ambiance. Our dining room is elegantly appointed, designed to provide a romantic atmosphere. The dining room offers unobstructed views of glitzy Boylston Street and provides several options for private parties.
39 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(39 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(17)
  • vibrant bar scene(14)
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • hot spot(8)
  • late-night find(8)
  • romantic(8)
Forum Reviews List
Review 1 for Forum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2013
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/12/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Too bad it is closed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food and service was great but this place got closed by high rent."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/17/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentine's Day Dinner 2015

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My boyfriend and I paid $65 each for a 3 course meal. We got a light salad for one appetizer and pork sausage skewers for the other. The salad was light and flavorful. The skewers were the perfect mixture of spicy and sweet. My boyfriend got the steak and mashed potatoes with a lb of lobster on top and he said it was amazing. I got the chicken with potatoes, bacon and asparagus which was delicious and savory. Finally, we ordered some sort of chocolate cake with caramel ice cream for one desert and then a smore's jar as the other. The cake was a bit too sweet for my taste but the smore's jar was incredible! I ate the entire thing! I could go back just for that desert alone. Also, our waiter (Eric I think was his name) was extremely attentive and probably the nicest server I've ever had."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Valentine's dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We came here for a Valentine's dinner and even with all the snow, service was amazing and their special menu had great choices. My steak was cooked perfectly and my boyfriend loved his lobster bake. Our waiter was attentive and came to check on us throughout the meal even when his section was full. We will definitely be back again soon."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forum
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poorly Run Restaurant w/Mediocre Food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Even though the restaurant was almost completely empty at Sunday brunch, our server rarely took time to check on us, refill water, etc. Due to what we were told was a "mishap in the kitchen" some of the food (a simple order of eggs and toast) took very long to be made. Overall the food was just mediocre and although some of our bill was comped to make up for the issues, I left with the feeling the restaurant is not well run rather than this being a one-time bad luck experience."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2006
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Such a great place!!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went with a group for brunch and everyone LOVED it!! Our waiter Eric was superb, totally made us feel special. The food was great, not a complaint from any one of us!!"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food, good place.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was good and reasonably priced and the service was quality. A bit noisy but not a deal breaker."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forum
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

watering hole only - not 4-start worthy

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"had high hopes with the reviews, but when arrived, the bar tender, the manager, and one staff gave us the stare down and told us "we dont have kids menu," from which we hardly ever order. The food was very very heavy, masking any freshness to the ingredients, and overall underwhelming. The evening was saved by our very accommodating waiter from South Africa; and we made up for the bad food with more cocktails and wine.
don't go there unless you just want a drink and watch some sports."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2003
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Holiday Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took the family to Forum to celebrate being together for the holidays. Seated right away at the more quiet upstairs dining room and away from the bar scene. Service was efficient and solicitous but not obtrusive. Just the right balance. Craft beers on draft. Excellent Ipswich lager. Food was excellent and presented well. Try the sweet scallops or the mild, tasty halibut. The giant chocolate cookie baked in a frying pan and served with ice cream is a signature dish!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

suemc

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food is a bit different for our crowd, but in our party of 5 everyone found something to enjoy. The service was very good. The only thing I would say is that try to choose not the booths. They look a bit tight in seating. Price is what I expect in Boston."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forum
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food and the view was so beautiful at Christmas time"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"great brunch and atmosphere. will return! we all ordered something different and we all enjoyed everything, from start to finish"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food for sharing. Good service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A group of us went for dinner and drinks. We ordered a bunch of appetizers to share and drinks. The food was great and the service pretty fast. I was surprised the place didn't have more people in it but it was a rainy Wednesday night. The only annoying thing was our server working the upsell on the menu. And this is coming from a group of salesmen, lol. I seriously doubt your favorite dish is the 2nd most expensive item in the menu. My advice to Eric would be to ask about our tastes before offering up a recommendation. Not everyone eats fish. But I loved the restaurant and will be back soon. :)"
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forum
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Meal OK, Nothing Special

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Forum is consistently featured in a local magazine as a high-quality restaurant with ambiance and great food choices. We decided to try this restaurant with friends in from out of Boston. The food was good, but the choices were limited. The prices were high, but not excessive. The best part of the menu was the appetizers, which while very limited in quantity, were very high in quality. There was no soup offering for our meal. Rate as a one-time visit, will not return."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forum
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Simple and chic - Good food and nice service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is your above average bar/bistro type restaurant. The food was good but not extraordinary. I did not like the high chairs. Very uncomfortable, and the high tables were too small for the plates and bread basket. Nevertheless I think that this is good place to relax, but would not necesseraly return given the options in the area. That being said, I will give them an other chance in a few months. I think that they will improve if they pay attention to the customer feedback. Oh also... Please use real orange juice in your mimosa."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Forum
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
17 out of 21 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic