Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Colosseum Restaurant Reviews List

The Colosseum Restaurant

The Colosseum Restaurant is an award-winning Italian restaurant offering elegant surroundings and exquisite Southern Italian cuisine. Opened in 1987 by Chef Annibale Todesca, the Colosseum has become an established favorite for diners in Salem, NH and the Merrimack Valley. Chef Annibale Todesca serves the same authentic Southern Italian cooking that he enjoyed growing up in Italy. Like many generations of Todescas, he ventures to the market every day to ensure that he cooks with only the freshest vegetables, seafood and highest quality meats. Please stop by for lunch or dinner. It will be our pleasure to serve you.
See more The Colosseum Restaurant details
98 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(98 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
5 stars
(47)
4 stars
(31)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(33)
  • special occasion(30)
  • good for groups(28)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • notable wine list(19)
  • great for lunch(14)
The Colosseum Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

First and last visit

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Poor decor.
45 minutes for apps to arrive... Mussels app was luke warm and bland flavor.
Service started out good but quickly went downhill, from attentive to long periods of checking in on us, forgotten requests for drink refills, napkins, bread, etc.
Shrimp fra Diablo was barely worth $15, not the $29.99 price.
Pork was very dry and over done.
Veal portions were small.
Chicken piccata was fair-to-good.
Martinis were cheap; but, very small in size and lacking in alcohol strength.
"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It started out not so good........

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We hadn't dined here for quite a while and was surprised at 6 pm on a Thursday night that most of the tables were empty.
The cocktails were weak and the appetizers cold. The appetizers were Arancini Balls and Mussels so we sent them back and didn't have them replaced. The restaurant removed them from our bill without our asking.
The entrees though were excellent and came from the kitchen hot as they should be.
Our server, Geena, was very nice."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Diner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Wonderful! great service, food and desserts. I would recommend itanytime."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

food and service consistantly excellent

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Extremely Dissapointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Our experience began by being ignored by the hostess for 10 minutes. After that I was put on a list and told it would be a few minutes. When I asked why since we had a RESERVATION I was told that the list was to track people checking in and that other people arriving late affected the reservations. This is the polar opposite of a reservation. After waiting more than 45 minutes we were finally seated. We were handed bread without plates and once the waitress got our appetizer order she disappeared for more than 20 minutes. Upon her arrival I had to ask if she had a chance to take our dinner order. The dinner also took forever to be served, at this point we were eating dinner at 10 pm (our reservation was 8 pm.) The meal was poorly prepared, my veal saltinbocca was swimming in a 1/4 inch of grease. I was really excited to take my girlfriend there for our anniversary/nye dinner but the entire time I was treated rudely or flat out ignored. I can understand that New Years is a busy time for a restaurant but that's no excuse for such a poor and over priced experience. I will not be returning."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Overall Disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I understand it was New Years Eve but this place was way overbooked and the kitchen couldn't keep up. We had a reservation and It took 4 hrs from start to finish and we didn't even order dessert. If the owner had acknowledged the problem and attempted to make things right I might go back but considering he walked around and only talked to tables with people he knew, I would say it's not worth it. Many other people sat at their table without food just as long as my husband and I did.
We arrived at 6:15 for a 6:30 reservation and waited at the bar. The bartender already couldn't keep up. At 7:15 we were brought to a table. I can see 20 to 25 min past a reservation time but 45 min is not acceptable.
We ordered soup. My husband got his right away but I did not because the server said the kitchen made the wrong kind for me. We ordered our meal at 7:30 and it was brought to us just past 9:30. I had the seafood colosseum and it was delicious. My husband had a chicken with sage dish which was average. Our server was very nice, professional, and apologetic throughout the night. We left at 10:15pm. I saw so many things on the menu I would like to go back for but won't because I can't stand feeling like the only goal of a restaurant is to completely fill a dining room."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Never Again

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"When I made my reservation with open table I emailed the restaurant asking for a table near a window because I was a little clostophobic and they said they would do it if possible. When we arrived they placed us at a enclosed CORNER next to the kitchen, was not happy so gave us another table 20 minutes later. Table was great but service was horrible. Had to ask for everything!!!!!!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Super restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We continue to enjoy the Colosseum! The food is always delicious! Ryan W. was our waiter. He was friendly, attentive and chatted us up when appropriate. I would highly recommend the Colosseum."
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Italian food outside North End/Little Italy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I grew up in New York and frequented the restaurants in Little Italy. And then when I moved to Boston, frequented the North End. The Colosseum's food competes favorably to both. I particularly like the Veal or Chicken Francese. The Caesar salad mixed at the table was perfect. I highly recommend it."
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service was horrible

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would not recommend a restaurant or will I be returning. Your server took half an hour to take our orders and the food took an hour to arrive. Our server said the manager would come speak to us and he never did"
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went there with a party of 6 the food was outstanding the service was over the top all of the wine list was adequate all in all a great experience we will definitely go back again"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Excellent Food! Too bad everything else wasn't

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food here was amazing! However everything else was sub-par. the hostess was very dishevelled and left us standing at the podium (we had a reservation) for quite sometime and proceeded to take every phone call that came in before seating us. It was quite awkward because of the small area to stand. There was a keyboardist jamming to bad 80's music (not even the good stuff) his speaker was way too loud and no one wanted to sit at the bar tables because it was way too loud. The waiter was very rude and did not bring us any water or bread, we had to request both separately. He took FOREVER to deliver the food, give us refills and bring the check, I felt like an after thought the entire time I dined there. Its too bad because the food was amazing! I got the chicken Marsala with spinach (they charged $5 for a side of spinach but it was a large side), my friend got the chicken Alfredo with broccoli and my daughter got the chicken Caesar salad, all the food was hot, freshly made and we cleaned out plates. To bad the overall experience was not good at all."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 10/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good but the service was slow. We sat in the lounge area so I think that's why. The server had other tables and took a long time to take orders and the check."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The waiter, Luke was wonderful. Real asset to the restaurant."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

how can youne at least 50 characters and too many

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Get together with long time friends

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Couldn't have been better...food and wine great. Asked that we be given time to socialize and they were more than obliging . Waiter was friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for more ."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Birthday Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We really enjoyed the great food and the waiter was nice:)"
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Super restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to The Colosseum many times. Each time the food and service were superb! Our waiter was Christopher and he was wonderful, very attentive and timely. I am very pleased with The Colosseum!"
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food, wonderful service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"luke is a friendly and personable waiter, attentive and polite. the food was better than expected - served nice and hot, and even the bread/butter basket was remarkably good. being from out of town, we dined here on a whim, and glad we did."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was ok, Service was excellent

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been going to the Colosseum Restaurnat for special occasions over 20 years and the
food and service never change, the food is excellent and the service staff is always very
attentive.
"
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Worth the trip.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Make sure to experience the table-side cesear salad."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Terrible atmospher- They need a separate building.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the moment we pulled up, my husband and I were disappointed in the strip mall, modern location. No matter how good the food is, the atmosphere is extremely uninviting. There was a crooked beach-type umbrella and two tacky chairs (no table) at the outside entrance of the restaurant. The restaurant has For Rent signs in the windows on the second floor. The entire strip mall has grey T111 siding and large angular windows. The whole place looks like a cheap shopping center. Inside, the drop ceiling did nothing to add to the ambiance. The food was good, but not as good as Javeli's in East Boston. The place was empty although it was only 3:p.m. on a Saturday. The menu offered gelato but they no longer carry it, so I opted for sorbet. It arrived frozen as hard as a rock (and in a lemon that had been emptied and deep frozen). After 10-15 minutes, it thawed enough to dig in to. that disappointing dessert was served in a coffee cup on a saucer. The bread was just wrong; the texture was too coarse and it was served with butter. I had to request a dish of olive oil. - The best thing it had going for it was the waiter. I ordered stuffed calamari with alredo sauce. The waiter told me it was an option and that the sauce would be pink due to the calamari being cooked in red sauce. I was fine with that. They did not tell me the cheese would curdle and give the appearance of something quite unappetizing on the plate. It was my choice and I will not do that again. Having said that, it did taste fine - it just looked terrible. Perhaps they should not offer that option again unless someone has ordered that their previously. - All in all, I will wait until I can get to East Boston before I dine out again for real Italian food."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First rate food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Colosseum Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food is delicious! The chicken parm and homemade pasta are what keeps me going back.
However, the hostess(es) are not very friendly/pleasant - this was our third visit and all three times the hostess acted as if we were bothering her. She never once smiled and she barely spoke to us. And, when I mentioned we had reservations through Open Table, she acted as if that didn't matter - and as if they never even pay attention to that. If it wasn't for the food, I wouldn't return."
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>