Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Rustic House Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Rustic House

Chandeliers casting low light and a brick fireplace set the mood at Rustic House on Halsted Street in Lincoln Park. This Midwestern-inspired restaurant is located just down the street from its sister restaurant, Gemini Bistro, and centers around a 1920's Rotisol French-imported rotisserie oven. Executive Chef Jon Keeley works with the highest quality cuts of meat, poultry and fish to prepare dishes that are both elevated and approachable. Executive Pastry Chef John Larson focuses on delicate desserts and pastries that reflect the chic ambiance of Rustic House. Rustic's two private dining spaces can accommodate groups of up to 36 seated guests or 40 for a cocktail reception.
139 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(139 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
5 stars
(67)
4 stars
(61)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(70)
  • neighborhood gem(68)
  • romantic(43)
  • special occasion(38)
  • good for groups(16)
  • notable wine list(11)
Rustic House Reviews List
Review 1 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, good laughs

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was really great. While we were there, our server took time to teach another table how to tie a bow-tie, a very entertaining and appreciated activity for all who watched. The food was great (we had the calamari risotto, rotisserie chicken, and prime rib)."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Theatre Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a great option before or after the Steppenwolf. Wonderful service and great food."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great pre- theater spot.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was excellent and the service very accommodating, especially their mindfulness of our theater deadline!"
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and service were excellent. We would definitely recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love going to Gemini Bistro so decided to try its sister restaurant, Rustic House. The food was fantastic and the staff very attentive. I have been there twice in two weeks now."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Only the old wood is rustic

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The mushrooms and English peas served perfectly complemented the scallops. The drink was good too, but what I love about this place (besides a great, versatile menu with food that meets your expectations) is the service. We've been to Rustic House three times and each time we've had delightful service. This time, walking through the restaurant to leave, I noticed that several patrons were enjoying conversations with their servers, but those interactions do not mean poor service or having to wait for a bill."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We always have a good experience at Rustic House.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Rotisserie chicken was AMAZING! Loved the atmosphere. Very cozy, warm fire. Overall fantastic restaurant experience."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

terrific food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was delicious - interesting, fresh, well-prepared - high-quality American comfort food. The special asparagus soup was top-notch. Best was the fresh berry crisp. We're so glad we found this place."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dined here again on 4/25/15 and ate at the bar. We love Rustic House because they always remember us and our favorite dishes. That is the kind of service that keeps us coming back - PLUS, the food is always amazing - gnocchi, swordfish chop are two of our favorites. Anything from the rotisserie is fabulous. Saturday night @ 7 pm was packed. Nice crowd and warm/friendly vibe. Our bartender, Michael, was fun and cheerful despite being non-stop busy making drinks the entire time we were there. This is a great neighborhood spot!"
Dined on 10/26/2014
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2002
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot in Lincoln Park

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"4 of us dined here before attending a performance at the Rpyal George. We were a couple minutes late for our 5:45p reservation but were greeted warmly and seated immediately. Pleasant server took our drink orders and went over the menu. We asked him to surprise us with 3 appetizers - the sea scallops were divine but the octopus was the standout - nuts/bacon and olives were a nice touch. We had the prime rib and steak au poive entrees - prime a little tough but flavorful. Great brussel spouts, potatoes and corn brulee - yes, brulee, really sweet but tasty. We shared a dessert, another pick by our server, a chocolate cake with caramelsauce and hazel nuts. It was a perfectly paced dining experience and it was quite crowded by the time we left for our performance."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Fine Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Th e drinks, food, service and atmosphere were excellent for an early, pre-theatre dinner. It was not very crowded but quickly became so, livening up the joint. We had incredibly good swordfish and delicious cocktails."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great! We loved the restaurant. Swordfish chop was outstanding as was all the food!"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our server was great! Bald guy with beard. We just ordered apps, dessert and drinks and really enjoyed. Ambiance is great, maybe would have a larger cocktail menu with more drinks that match the food and stuff."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Meals were quite nice and well priced.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The organic chicken was nicely flavored and very moist. Friends had steak and salmon and all were pleased with the meals. The drinks were good also. Recommend the Old Fashioned. Three course special was quite affordable and did not reduce portions. I'd go again."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Early Satuday Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Restaurant was very flexible with timing. We originally had 7PM reservations and they switched us to 5PM with ease.
The entrees (duck and swordfish) were excellently prepared. The spinach salad was wonderful...a combination of a spinach salad and a salad lyonnaise. All very good. Jimmy, our waiter did a nice job matching wine with our dinner.
A lovely anniversary dinner.
"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but not great

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First, I really liked Rustic House's bar. The cocktails were really well made in a "classic" fashion. Also the mixologists were very personable and seemed to really like what they were doing. I would definitely go back for a cocktail.
Unfortunately the food and service did not carry through as strongly. Our server did not tell us about the specials and seemed to lack a certain "professionalism". The food was good but not for the price. My braised lamb shank flavorful and tender but was dry. The accompanying risotto was stiff, not creamy as it should have been. My wife rotisserie pork chop was also just ok. Portions were large. I will say that my wife's mushroom soup was really really wonderful, intensely mushroomy and just plain yummy. Desserts list was fairly standard and we were very full by that point, so we passed.
Might go back but mostly because it's convenient location to Steppenwolf Theater."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Octopus was amazing. Great neighborhood spot."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Swordfish Ever

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our 1st time to Rustic House. We really enjoyed our meal. My husband's steak was prepared perfectly and my swordfish "chop" on the bone was the best swordfish I have ever eaten. Perfectly cooked and seasoned with a little kick. It was incredibly moist and tasty. Our wines were paired nicely with our meal. The pear, walnut, endive salad was also excellent. No room for dessert."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking for a place to take two friends from out of town who love great food and wine, but we didn't want to go overboard on the expense side. Frankly, we couldn't have chosen a better place. Everything was terrific - from the menu selections to the incredibly attentive and friendly staff. Simply a great place!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was great and the service was incredible, especially since it was a busy Valetine's Day evening. I would highly recommend Rustic House to our family and friends."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a meal.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place for a night out. They had prime rib on the rotisserie, OMG. The best I've ever had."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Trendy Comfort Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was very impressed with our visit. We were seated with our open table reservation with 5 minutes on a busy Saturday night with no open tables when we walked in. Lots of comfort foods on the menu to enjoy and all seemed to have great presentation and amazing taste. We had the salmon and the chicken pot pie, both of which we'd definitely order again. This place has a great ambience with a rustic feel. The only downfall might be the bar area being a bit small. It would be difficult to feel comfortable waiting a long period for a table."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delightful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food and service! I'm convinced they have the best grilled octopus on the planet!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2002
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but Restaurant Wk menu unfair to early diners

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Rustic House serves good food and provides satisfactory service but the Restaurant Week menu can be unfair to early diners. The venue provides a wonderful prix fixe early dining menu (5-6:30 PM nightly) for $35. This is great if planning to attend the nearby Steppenwolf for a show as we were on Saturday evening. However, due to Restaurant Week, the prix fixe menu is not being offered. Only their $44 Restaurant Week (RW) menu. Unfortunately, several of the items on their $44 RW menu are usually offered on their $35 prix fixe. So if you ordered (as one of my guest did) the spinach salad, salmon and dessert as an early diner, you are charged $44 because of Restaurant Week versus the normal $35!! Seemed unfair and obviously affected my review. Maybe Rustic House should consider pricing their Restaurant Week menu for early diners at the $33 that other venues are offering in addition to the $44 pricing. Just a suggestion as most venues use Restaurant Week to provide diners a value (and chance to experience their venue) but not an upcharge!!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great meal

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to rustic house for restaurant week. The food was fantastic. The service was great. The tables are a little tight but overall a great experience."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Rustic House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A delicious dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was our second time dining at Rustic House following a show at the Steppenwolf Theatre. It is an easy walk from the theater and we had a 10:15pm reservation. It was still pretty busy when we arrived and they were out of a few items (swordfish/pot pie) but we were able to easily find other options. My husband enjoyed the mussels followed by the duck a'la orange while I had the mushroom soup (delicious) and a pork chop with squash. All was served with a wonderful foccacia bread. We totally enjoyed the meal and will definitely go again when we are looking for a delicious way to finish off a lovely evening at the theater."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>