Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen

Locally-owned fresh Mexican flavor in downtown Media offering lunch and dinner six days a week. Signature offerings include scratch-made chorizo sausage, slow-roasted meats and fresh seafood. BYOT - bring your own tequila. Fresh margarita & mojito pitchers available for mixing. Indoor & outdoor dining (weather permitting) and participant of Media's own Dining Under the Stars.
43 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(43 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • great for outdoor dining(3)
  • kid-friendly(3)
Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/20/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had dinner with a friend for dining under the stars. Service was a little slow. They brought out the wrong dish. Food was bland. I enjoyed the byot margaritas."
Dined on 9/03/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Geeat Mecan Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not much to say except great food, at very good prices nice size portions, fast and exceptional service Sidney was awesome. Small restaurant good idea to have reservations . We know Mexican food and this place is terrific. We will return often I'm sure. Keith Havertown, PA"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Media Night Out

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service is friendly and efficient. Portions are generous. Try the Guacamole, it was fresh and delicious. The Shrimp dish is excellent but plantanes were a little overcooked (for my taste but that may be that's how they should be). The Chicken Enchilada is worth trying. Coffee was superior. Nice dinner out in Media"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Media Gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had heard good things about this restaurant and was not disappointed! We went on Valentine's Day - my wife ordered chicken mole from the regular menu while I had the short ribs from the special Valentine's Day menu and both were great! Appetizers (homemade guacamole) and desserts (heart shaped brownies and plantain cheesecake) were outstanding! Service was well-timed and very friendly, like being invited into a friend's kitchen. We'll definitely come back!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Food! Small Space

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I decided to try a new place in the area and settled on Dos Gringos. When we arrived we were very surprised at how small the space is. We had an 8pm reservation and still waited 15 minutes to get seated. That we didn't mind because the food was excellent! Very fresh and well prepared. The service was great and the Valentines Day menu was well priced. Overall great food and small space but would go back. Wouldn't recommend going with a large group."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not bad but have had better

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Too cramped. Too cold (our seat was by the door). Fajitas not served on sizzling pan. Food was okay but have had better and more affordable."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun night out with friends

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The restaurant is very small, so I definitely recommend a reservation. But my friends and I really liked the food and the style of this place. We all really enjoyed the salsas they brought out, and out entrees were all fantastic. The Margarita mixes were probably too expensive for what they were, but, whatever. They were delicious and it was a special occasion. Our server was really good too, attentive but not overbearing. I will definitely go back, and I recommend it!"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Mexican in an unexpected spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We go here regularly because: the dinner specials are great, the service is friendly and efficient, the regular menu are standbys we love to go back to!"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great BYO Mexican

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Always enjoy a great meal at Dos Gringos. Food is fresh and delicious and the margarita makings are always tasty."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dos Gringos has awesome food. I've never had a bad meal here. It's definitely my go-to spot for Mexican food in Media."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Go for great food, not Lebensraum

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There is a lot to like about this tiny BYOB on Olive Street. The food is always interesting, the presentation so inviting. Our server was great. On other hand, I feel cramped in a restaurant usually only when there are so many empty tables, which happened to be the case after 3 of us were getting seated at a table for 2.5, presumably because the tables for 4 were all booked (only to see party of 3 at a larger table half an hour later). There should be some advantage to early open table reservation. We will be back for dining under the stars, this is a top spot!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dos Gringos Mexican Kitchen
Based on the average of (30) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
25 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic