Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

518 West Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

518 West

For reservations of parties over six people, please call us directly. 518 West, an Italian Restaurant in Raleigh, North Carolina, specializes in seasonal fresh pastas, wood fired pizzas, fresh seafood, steaks, and specials inspired by the flavors of Italy and the Mediterranean. Located in the heart of Glenwood South, 518 West is a short drive from the Raleigh/Durham Airport (RDU) and the Research Triangle. 518 West was recently voted, "Best Italian Restaurant in the Triangle", by the readers of the Independent, the areas leading local magazine.
146 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(146 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 146 reviews
5 stars
(86)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(73)
  • good for groups(66)
  • romantic(58)
  • neighborhood gem(52)
  • fit for foodies(50)
  • great for lunch(37)
518 West Reviews List
Review 1 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We chose this because they had good options for large parties. The food was good & pleased teens-adults. It was a little loud due to many large groups but we could hear ourselves just fine."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 518 West
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2014
 2014
Dined on 3/23/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/23/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great place, sorry to see it retired

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Over 15 years we ate here a handful of times, the last time just before it closed its doors. Every meal here was excellent, sorry to see it retired."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"518 was one of the great restaurants in Raleigh. Sorry this review is coming a little late (I'm usually on Trip Advisor). We probably ate at 518 10-12 times and every time the food - the service - impeccable. Top to bottom - pastas - entrees - salads - desserts. Excellent. Cannot go wrong."
Dined on 6/10/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2007
 2007
Dined on 2/14/2007
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2007
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2007
 2007
Dined on 4/27/2007
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/27/2007
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful food great atmosphere very romantic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So sad that the 518 West era is over. Glad my husband and I had one last meal there. My sister had her wedding rehearsal dinner at 518 West. It was very quaint. Staff was very responsive and food was great."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So so sad....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of our favorite restaurants since its opening in 1996. Went as a college girl, a date night, a night with my fiancé, and later husband, then my kids, and many anniversaries. So sad this gem has closed."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Will miss 518. Please reopen in another location in Raleigh."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All the accolades I could write are for naught, since 518 West is closing on 4.5.15. We'll have to go back to Chapel Hill to 411 West for their signature Lemon Linguine and wood fired pizzas. It was worth the drive before 518 West opened and will be again. Thanks for the years of fine food, exemplary service and charming atmosphere. We will miss you."
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Glenwood South Original

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been going to 518 West now for going on 20 years. The food and service their has always been superb. It has a very vibrant atmosphere that makes it a fun "go to place". Unfortunately 518 West will be closing it's doors on April 4th. A sad day for the Glenwood South scene. Thanks for the memories!"
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So Sorry Their Closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food, drinks, and service was amazing. We're going to miss this gem when it closes. Hope the owners consider opening in another location, will really miss this authentic Italian food in Raleigh."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food every time we are there!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"So sorry this restaurant is closing- we have had a great experience every time we are there. The homemade pasta was delicious and the salad was fresh. We all had dessert and they were all delicious."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Family friend about to pass on.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Consistently great over the years for food, service and ambiance. It is really too bad it is closing, but you can't blame the owners for selling the building. Farewell."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It is sad that 518 will be closing soon.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you didn't know they were closing, you would not be able to tell while there. Service and quality are still great! We will miss 518 and always remember we great found and fun we had there!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant closing soon. Sad day for us all.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've loved this restaurant since the day it opened. Food consistently excellent. Service always attentive. Ambiance is great. Daily specials outstanding. Pasta is fresh. Fish is always perfect. Sad to see it closing after Easter and we wanted to say goodbye. 411 West in Chapel Hill has same owners and similar menu so we wont forget."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Go while you can.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I heard that the owners had decided to close soon and go in another direction, so we had to eat here one last time. Enjoy them while you have the chance."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Have always loved 518.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Found out the day after we dined that you are closing. So sad. We will miss you!!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Met my college age kids here for lunch. Everyone enjoyed the meal."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good night out

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The atmosphere was great here. It is great for a night out with some friends. They were nice enough to seat us before the rest of our party arrived. The special was the duck which was a little overcooked but all in all it was a Good dinner"
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

unique italian

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"great food at reasonable prices. the lemon linguine and stella's salad are MUST haves!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

LOVE IT!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"518 WEST is always one of my favorites in Raleigh. Just like its sister
restaurant 411 WEST in Chapel Hill, which is my favorite restaurant in
the Triangle. 518 is casual, has great food, good environment and always
good service. And prices are very reasonable.
"
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved the entire experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had gotten to the restaurant earlier than my reservation time but they got my and my date seated within 5 minutes. The atmosphere was very nice, great wine list and the waiter was good at suggesting a good wine for my taste palette. The food was really good as well. Overall the entire experience was wonderful and I look forward to going back there for other occasions."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An awesome find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I had an awesome Sunday brunch here. The food was great and the noise level was surprisingly low for a Sunday after church is out."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Really enjoyed the night******************************************************************"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 518 West
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Valentine Night Out

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had eaten at 518 West a few months before and my husband and I really enjoyed it. Decided to try it again for dinner on Valentine's Day. The service was above average. However, the food was average - nothing to write home about (salmon and chicken marsala). I was disappointed that we were seated at a table upstairs located beside a brick wall. So, while other diners enjoyed a great view, we were literally staring at a brick wall. The noise level was very low, which allowed for an enjoyable conversation with the couple dining with us. I live out-of-state, but come to the Raleigh area often. With so many restaurants to choose from, I am not sure I will come back for a third time. Also, I did not notice anything related to Valentine's Day - either in the decor or on the menu, since February 14th was on Saturday. Seemed like just another Saturday night dinner service."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had made reservations and were seated right away. Our server was prompt and our food came out in 10 minutes. Very good service and the food was delicious !"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Italian food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although they didn't do anything special for Valentine's Day, the setting and food are special any day you go! Everything we had was absolutely delicious, the wait staff always attentive and pleasant!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Nice Evening

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There were five of us and we arrived early. The bar was not crowded and we enjoyed a drink while waiting. We were surprised that our bottle of white wine (shared by 3 of us) was left on the bar. Putting it on ice would have been nice. The main dining room is lovely and romantic. We were seated in the side room, which is nice, too, but not as. The menu has a variety of choices and is reasonably priced. The salads were wonderful. I shared the pear Gorgonzola salad with my daughter and they accommodated us by splitting it in the kitchen. Others also loved theirs. The main courses were really good. I can't say they were great, but a solid good. I can't say they were memorable. Maybe we ordered wrong. Two people ordered the salmon. While it is well known it comes rare, they wanted theirs medium well. It came rare. The trout was apparently better. The steak arrived and was eaten with no complaint, but I didn't hear great praise. My eggplant parm was good, but lacked enough sauce and flavor. It needed seasoning and herbs. 'Kind of bland and part of it was inedible because it was hardened to brick. Where these folks shined was at dessert! The best tiramisu ever! The banana bread pudding was fabulous. Really good extraordinary. The brownie a la mode was so good, my friend had no interest in sharing when normally she does. Kudos to the chefs! We might return if in the neighborhood."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Me and my wife ate here and I was excited to try a new place and all I really have to say is the food is great and at a fair price and the staff are friendly and great at what they do. We will definitely be back!!!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid night out

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"518 didn't blow me away, but the good service and atmosphere facilitated a great night out with the wife. Desert was delicious and the price was surprisingly low for a 3 course meal + a bottle of wine."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 518 West
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A Bit Disappointed with the Service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"518 West has become our "go to" restaurant on evenings when we are going to a play or the symphony in downtown Raleigh. We love the food there and have always had above par service. In fact, we have had former servers to stop by our table to greet us during some of our dining experiences there.
However, this time we were seated in an area that was tended to by the bar personnel. Although our server was nice, she wasn't overly personable and seemed to get quite busy during our visit. Our salads arrived promptly, but we finally had to ask about when our entrees would be served. Our server did check on us soon after our entrees arrived to make sure all was good.
However, since we were on our way to a play, we couldn't afford the time to wait for our server to check back after that. We finally had to flag her down to ask for our checks so that we could leave.
Had this been the first time we had dined at 518 West on our way to a play, I'm not sure that we would choose to return on another play/symphony night. I'm going to chalk this experience up to where we were seated rather than there has been some sort of change at the restaurant. We will be back, for sure!"
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

nice place for lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food and service was very good while the decor was very pleasant."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pretty good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food has been good each time we go, the restaurant is amazing. *If* you are sat upstairs or in the dining room you'll be in for a treat. However, out of the 4 times we've been, somehow majority of the time we are always sat in the little no mans land area between the bar and the rest of the restaurant. In an area of about 200 sq feet there are 6-7 table jammed in there within reach of the draft of the door which is a major pet peeve. These are 4-tops with a booth running the length of table groupings on one side, much like you'd find in fast food restaurants.
That's probably the only "con." The food is consistently good, pasta's-seafood-pizzette's-drinks are always consistently good and priced fairly. We'll be back and won't let our seating go to chance.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mmmmm

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I ate here last Saturday and it was delicious! I had the Lemon Linguine and Glenwood South's Best Brownie and boy, was that a good brownie. Neither dish disappointed, at all. So much so that our waitress looked down at our plates and joked that we must have hated our dishes and disposed of the evidence because we didn't leave one bite. The service was a bit too infrequent, but our waitress apologized and even comped one of our desserts. Outside of it being busy (make reservations for the weekend!) and having to sit at a somewhat cramped table, we really enjoyed our dinner here. I plan to go back again!"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Casual with good food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ask not to be seated near the koi pond. Food is delicious. Server was friendly. Loud but fun atmosphere. Lots of birthday groups.
Good for a girl's night out.
Not really a romantic date place.
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Management and Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love going to a restaurant and not feel like I am walking into a high school drama saga. Every employee was extremely nice, helpful and very friendly and appeared to enjoy their jobs. The camaraderie between staff was obvious in the ways they helped each other and by their positive attitudes. Also, the food was amazing. I highly recommend their pesto pasta. They make the pasta in house-and it shows. The food is full of complimenting flavors that satisfied my entire palette. I thought the price was reasonable especially when comparing to other eateries in Raleigh. We will be back!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food, Ambiance and Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I ate dinner at 518 for the first time on our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The ambiance inside is fantastic and it had a great vibe on a Saturday night. The pasta is all housemade and the dishes are familiar, but not at all boring. After seeing the wrapped gifts on the table, our server asked about our celebration and offered dessert on the house. Service was excellent, our server was able to make recommendations and answer questions easily, even though she'd only been there a few months. The restaurant was 100% full when we were dining, and food was a bit slow - but we were enjoying our time so much that we didn't really notice until our server apologized for it! There is a very nice staircase to the 2nd floor, and there's one small table for 2 on the landing of the staircase - it overlooks the first floor and the bar and would be a fantastic table to request for a special occasion."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

waitress

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very friendly very professional. Right on all tasks . Quick and never left any time in between refills ."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service and excellent food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Pasta, pizza, steak, vegetables, crab dip and sorbet were just a few of the items the 6 of us enjoyed. Something for everyone's taste and not a bad bite anywhere. We will be back."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Food...Just a Little Rushed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Everything from the kitchen was "spot on." The only negative was that we felt rushed. It was a moderately busy Monday night and I made it clear that we were in no hurry and wanted to stretch the evening out. Despite that request, the waiter, although polite and professional, kept appearing more than necessary. Our entrée showed up before we finished our salad. My friends car appeared in front of the restaurant without her request...we assumed it was a signal that it was time to leave. This feedback is intended for the restaurant management and not other diners. I highly recommend 518...I had not been there in several years and was very pleased to see that the food was as good as ever...certainly too good to rush!"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Handmade pasta

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had the caesar and handmade pasta with seafood. It was delicious and the right size for the quality. They even corrected my mother's request after she didn't like the self created dish she asked for. The waitress was wonderful and prompt to all of the tables needs and personable. Recommend."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A favorite for lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"518 West is a local favorite with a menu with Italian influences, nice salads and the cosy atmosphere of a busy place with the low buzz of happy diners. Service is very good but not obtrusive."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for 518 West
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently GREAT!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I frequent 518 West because it has the ambience of the new South! Gracious southern hospitality combined with excellent cuisine and service! I highly recommend the Lemon Linguine with a glass of Moscato! Enjoy!"
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for 518 West
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Anniversary or Casual Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went on a Monday night for our anniversary, and were treated great from the time we got to the door to the time we walked out. Very friendly valet, hosting, and wait staff. They sat us at the table for two on the landing staircase landing, which was a neat experience. On busier nights it might be less so (depending on foot traffic up and down the stairs), but that evening it was perfect, and allowed us a slightly more private experience. Also, the after-dinner coffee was great! We will definitely go back before our next anniversary."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>