Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chazz: A Bronx Original Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Chazz: A Bronx Original

“Pizzas that have the perfect crust, the ideal char, the bubbles, and the good ingredients to compete with the BEST IN THE U.S.” --John Mariani of Esquire Magazine

The experienced restaurateurs behind Baltimore’s most celebrated Italian restaurant, the Vitale family of Aldo’s Ristorante Italiano, paired up with Oscar-nominated actor Chazz Palminteri to serve up homemade Italian-American classics like Veal Parmigiana, a famous Signature Veal Meatball, and specialties like hand-formed burrata mozzarella... all served alongside award-winning Bronx-style pizza, baked in a custom coal-fired oven that reaches up to 1,000 degrees. Everything is made fresh, in-house, daily: homemade fresh pasta, pizza, desserts… even fruit juice used to make handcrafted cocktails is fresh-squeezed twice daily. Featuring foods inspired by the Italian-American “neighborhood.” Guests can also enjoy wines from Southern Italy and vineyards beyond, homemade limoncello and craft beers on-tap.
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(12)
  • great for brunch(8)
  • kid-friendly(5)
  • special occasion(5)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
Chazz: A Bronx Original Reviews List
Review 1 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2013
 2010
Dined on 10/04/2013
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 6/27/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Thin Crust Pizza!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a party of 6 that was seated immediately with reservation after the Army/Navy Game. The service was outstanding and the food was great. Finding a nice thin crust pizza can be challenge sometimes...no reason to look anywhere else near Inner Harbor! Chazz is it! The bar was awesome and the beer selection was great. We enjoyed the experience and will return when we're in town! Thanks!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had the veal meatball appetizer, which I enjoyed, although it's a bit overpriced at $15. I also had brussell sprouts that were fine. My colleagues had a Caesar salad that they really liked and two pasta dishes that underwhelmed. Attentive service."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food not commensurate with the price

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2000
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2000
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food wasn't bad per se, but it surely doesn't match their pricing. They also need to revise their menu to match what the kitchen is producing. My mom and I both sent back our entrees, and that is highly unusual for us, we hate wasting food. The asparagus ravioli is described as having grilled asparagus atop cheese ravioli, also topped with caramelized onions and smoked Gouda. No mention of a cream sauce. Well, it came in cream sauce so heavy, you couldn't identify any asparagus or onions, and there was no hint of smoked Gouda. The server was nice and apologetic and said they had had a lot of menu changes. Well, they need to revise the menu then! It was not what you expect for $21 for one entree. It's fine for a casual dining experience, but the prices are higher than casual. You expect more creativity or quality, and whoever is in the kitchen just isn't doing that."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would give it 0 stars if I could. Went this past Sunday evening with friends for dinner. Have been twice before and had horrible service both times. Surly waitresses who didn't want to answer questions about the menu...eye roll included for free. Also sat at the bar and had annoyed bartender. The only happy person who would even speak to us during our last visit was the buss boy. But the pizza was so good those other times we were willing to go back. What a mistake. Worst waitress. Got the eye roll when my boyfriend asked if they just have a simple side salad and...gasp. ..he asked her what the price was. Got the eye roll and was told "the price is on the menu." The man just wanted a small salad. Sorry for the intrusion. Then the pizza arrived. It was HORRIBLE. HORRIBLE. For some reason they changed the crust. it is no longer paper thin like before . The new crust was like cardboard. Half-inch thick cardboard. I would compare it to a DiGiorgno frozen pizza but that would be an insult to DiGiorgno. It was more like the crust on a Red Baron or Lean Cuisine pizza. We had nearly an entire pizza leftover and I didn't take it home. And I never turn down leftovers. I can't believe this place is still open. And can't believe we wasted a birthday dinner here. THUMBS DOWN. The whole time I was wishing we were at The Arthouse in Hamden. Now THAT is good pizza."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

What happened??

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was our third or fourth visit since it opened and definitely our last. The menu has completely changed and not for the better. The service was awful and the food a complete letdown from our past experiences. So sorry to see the decline..."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2006
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a bad experience on 11/15/14 but returned 12/22/14 with a party of 8 for a 2nd chance. Service was bad. Our server seemed very unsure of the food, etc. She told us that they did not have chardonnay which we seemed odd. My husband was never asked for his cocktail order and had to ask the server. My mushroom pizza was mediocre as though it had been made in advance and had been sitting for awhile. Others were disappointed with their food; however, the salmon was very good. Sorry, we won't be back."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent choice.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There were 7 people in our party. Everyone ordered something different and all were very satisfied with their choice. The pizzas were great. Chicken parmigiana and penne with blackened chicken were also excellent. Service was attentive given a busy football Saturday night. Great experience."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pizza

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The pizza selections here are unique (e.g. veal meatball pizza) and delicious. We had a party of 6 and shared three pizzas and some appetizers, which made for a fun meal. Our server was friendly and attentive.
I found the restaurant to be quite noisy, would not suggest it as a place to have a serious conversation over dinner."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brilliant Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I shared two brunch entrees, both recommendations of our server (Megan). The crab benedict and steak and eggs breakfast pizza were fantastic! We'll be back!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

We had hoped for so much more.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was our second visit to Chazz. When we arrived at 6:45, more than half the restaurant was empty and the hostess sat us at a table near the rest rooms. The hostess did accommodate our request to move to another area of the restaurant, not a great table but certainly better. The restaurant has so much going for it in terms of location and ambiance but the service was rushed throughout the meal. Each time we asked for clean silverware, we got another fresh napkin-wrapped set. By then end of the meal, we each had three napkins. The bread came to the table after the entrees had been served. We ordered roasted brussel sprouts as an appetizer and they were served with woody stems and blanched but not roasted. The spaghetti bolognese was came out pretossed - nothing special. The asparagus ravioli was overcooked and gummy. Blackened chicken was grilled but not blackened as requested and unfortunately the Salmon was nothing special. Desserts were delicious. Bread pudding and the chocolate flourless cake were delicious. By the way, we had assumed that tables must have been reserved and that's why they had difficulty reseating us. The restaurant never sat more than two other tables while we were there."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

10/10 will go again

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First time here and loved it! atmosphere was great. Food was great. Server was also nice. Nice little piece of NY. Didn't get to try the pizza but the pasta was spot on. Sorry mom :o"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Chazz: A Bronx Original
Based on the average of (18) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
13 out of 17 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
3.6 / 3
Energetic