Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Barter Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Barter

Winner of the 2014 Tastemaker Awards for Best New Restaurant: Barter's executive chef Andrew Dilda offers a menu that honors Dallas¹ culinary traditions and flavors.

Award Winning Beverage Director Rocco Milano leads the bar program, creating some of the best craft cocktails in the city.

Milano has paired Barter’s wine list to pair perfectly with the bold flavors brought on by the food.


.

34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • good for groups(9)
  • hot spot(7)
  • vibrant bar scene(7)
  • special occasion(5)
Barter Reviews List
Review 1 for Barter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2013
 2013
Dined on 12/18/2013
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very cool spot. The tapas style cuisine was delicious and the ambiance was nice. I loved the bespoke cocktail feature on the menu."
Dined on 12/18/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Barter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2013
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Solid brunch with a great patio to enjoy cocktails."
Dined on 3/29/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Barter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2012
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Barter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for restaurant week and weren't too impressed with the food or service. Cocktails were good and the setting is nice."
Dined on 8/12/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Barter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Barter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2008
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The drinks were great. The food meh. My sea bass must have been the runt of the liter. We left moderately hungry but ended up back there for a night cap. The appetizer was always really good."
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Barter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Dinner was very nice. Service was good. Definitely somewhere we would go again."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Barter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had been told that this restaurant's menu in the past was limited and not very "appealing". However, I picked this restaurant because of the menu and was later told that they have expanded it since opening. The drinks are super fun and tasty. I had the Bubbly Botanist and it was very light, crisp and refreshing. The food was good too - my husband had the shrimp and biscuits - and his only complaint was that he wished it had more sauce (because it was so good he wanted more). The only negative we had for the whole experience was that they were out of a lot of things - drinks, appetizers (the deviled eggs - which was a bit strange because I would think a restaurant has eggs at all times), and some entrees (the lamb). We went on a Saturday night at 7p so we were surprised that they were out of a lot of the things we wanted to try. I will say though that what we did eat we liked. I would suggest this place to groups who are looking for fun cocktails and atmosphere, perhaps for celebrating, as well as couples looking for a special date night. There was live music (a young woman singing with a guitar player) - she was very good and it we didn't feel like we had to compete to be heard among our 4-top table. Overall, I was pleased with my experience, especially since I hadn't really heard good things. I just wish we could have tried those things we ordered, but they were out of."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Barter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome date night spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Varied menu, nice live music (and we could still talk to each other!), great food and presentation. Taken all together Barter is a perfect find for the elusive mid-week date night. We went on a Thursday. Server was Adam (great job!). We started with Texas hummus. I tried the suggested craft soda (wow). I had the chicken fried chicken (pterodactyl-sized served with generius portions of mashed potatoes and grilled/seasoned green beans). My partner had the sliced beef sandwich. We were too full for dessert but we will try the apple fritters on a return visit."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Barter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I made my reservation through Opentable. It showed only openings at 6:00PM or 9:00PM when I wanted around 7:00PM. So I took the 6:00PM time. When we arrived the restaurant was empty except a few people in the bar. We seated about 6:00. I believe only a few tables were filled between 7:00 and 8:00.
It appears you are blocking out 7-9:00PM in Opentable. Not a good idea."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Barter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Barter is comfortable and delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Tried Barter because of the menu. Met a friend there on a Tuesday night, so it was relatively quiet but not at all boring. Ambiance is great and is a friendly place in a seemingly pretentious area (just sayin). The bartender made me a special drink I nicknamed The Pink Lady and it was perfect. Good wine, great food, awesome staff. We made friends with everyone there. Ordered the spring rolls - those were amazing. Burger and Crab fajitas for dinner. The crab fajitas were definitely unique. Excellent flavors. Loved it and will definitely be a repeat customer!"
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Barter
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
11 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic