Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Kan Zaman Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Kan Zaman

A Chicago Lebanese Restaurant where fringe-beaded lamps, a long shelf of Middle Eastern knicknacks and dolls make for an exotic, upscale-casual vibe.
25 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(25 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(5)
  • special occasion(3)
  • great for lunch(2)
  • fit for foodies(1)
  • great for outdoor dining(1)
  • kid-friendly(1)
Kan Zaman Reviews List
Review 1 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/12/2013
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and fun atmosphere

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our wait staff was extremely accommodating. The food was great and reasonably priced. It is a BYOB place. The belly dancing was outstanding! We had friends in from out of town and it was just a great, fun place to hang out for the night."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food is good but ruined by hookahs

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've always enjoyed the food at Kan Zaman. However our experience this time was completely ruined by the hookahs which made the entire restaurant smell like burnt plastic. The hookahs are also used throughout the entire restaurant so you have no choice but to inhale the smoke."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is great! I've been here 3 times and have enjoyed it each time. The owner is not so nice but the servers are usually kind. The owner greeted us as we entered and sat us at our table. I mentioned that I had requested a table near the window because the restaurant is extremely dark but he didn't care. I also had an issue with him last time. He didn't want to give me tahini sauce with my extra to go order because supposedly it wasn't included with the meal I ordered...so cheap! Anyway, the food is good, large portioned, and inexpensive. Also, it's BYOB which is a nice touch. If you get an appetizer to share the whole meal is usually under $20 a person."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"every time I've been there the service was absolutely great.
this last time it seemed they were unaware of our reservation and the waiter we had forgot us often. very strange.
we had brought guests with us and had talked the place up quite a bit and were disappointed and a bit embarrassed by the lack of attention: forgot to bring bread when asked, forgot to bring take home boxes, messed up coffee orders, had to ask for check. In all these cases another server responded to the call.
Food was great as usual. will go back but will look for one of the other servers that in times past took great care in doing the job
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, brusque and inattentive service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I enjoyed the food at Kan Zaman, but the service was disappointing for our party of 12."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our favorite middle eastern food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent food. Best fattoush salad we've ever had. Always great service and a nice atmosphere."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kan Zaman
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Spot for Good Lebanese

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fantastic service with a good sense of humor and really solid food. I'll definitely return."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Kan Zaman
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
1.4 / 3
Moderate