Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Dream Cafe Reviews List

Dream Cafe

The Dream Cafe is practically a Dallas institution, serving Eclectic Global Cuisine prepared from the freshest ingredients for over 20 years.

The atmosphere is casual, whimsical and welcoming, the wine list is sophisticated and the menu offers a wide selection to please any mood and taste. The Dream has been called a "hidden gem" and has stayed true to its original roots of serving unique dishes with a fresh-healthy twist. It has been voted, among others "Best Brunch", "Best Patio" and "Kid Friendly". The clientele ranges from Hollywood elite to 30 somethings, Business Professionals to Stay Home Moms. The Dream is a dream come true.
See more Dream Cafe details
30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(12)
  • great for outdoor dining(12)
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • good for groups(6)
Dream Cafe Reviews List
Review 1 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/17/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food healthy but not enough flavorful spices

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

RUDE MANAGER AND INCOMPETENT WAITER

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our most recent return visit for early dinner with one of our tour groups following a theatre matinee on Saturday, October 3, 2015, was NOT pleasant and very disappointing, except for the food.
The manager, Glenn, was short-tempered, snippy and downright rude, especially to me. He acted as though he couldn’t be bothered, even though it was early (around 5:00 pm) and the restaurant was not busy, with most tables empty both and on the patio.
Additionally, the waiter simply could not do his job. He took our beverage order, one of which was for a 9-year old, and after 20-minutes without our having even a glass of water, I had to go inside to get the waiter to tell him to bring out the beverages.
Further, no bread and butter were put on the table while we were waiting for our order. When I asked the manager, he told us we should have ASKED for it. We don’t agree.
Our waiter also could not get each person’s order straight, and NEVER understood we wanted separate checks for 3 people but the rest of the group on one check. We told him THREE times. Instead he gave us a “running total”, on ONE check with a grand total.
When I discussed this with the manager Glenn, he was downright nasty, hostile and angry about making the correction.
If this is the way the manager Glenn treats customers and trains his waitstaff, it’s no wonder most of the tables inside and outside of the restaurant were empty by the time we left at 7:15 pm.
CEO
Americana Heritage Tours by Snobby Tours®, Inc.™
"
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Extremely Noisy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Not a good place for a business conversation... very raucaous and loud. Noise level also included screaming children. I would go back for casual dining or with friends, but never again for business."
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We love Dream Cafe, very laid back and food is great. Not too loud either which is a huge plus in my book. Very helpful to us in choosing a wine, and the suggestion was right on target. Enjoyed the evening!"
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Just Not Quite Right

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been here at least five times in the last several years, because we go to Theatre Three, which is right behind the Cafe. It used to be hit or miss, depending on their menu. The last two times we've been, it's been "miss." Their dishes are just lacking something. Seasonings? There's not much flavor in anything. We've decided it's as though the menu has been developed by vegetarians who don't really understand non-vegetarian dishes. I wish them luck, but we probably won't be back."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Bring back polenta fries!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had not been to Dream Cafe for a while. Glad to see the stuffed Sonoma Squash was still on the menu - I am not a vegetarian, but happy to have this as a delicious and fulfilling meal. We were sad to see the polenta fries were off the menu. Hope they come back !"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

very pleasant lunch, wide menu, interesting crowd

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pre-Theater Gem for a Quick Bite

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Found the Dream Cafe on Open Table while seeking an eatery near the Kalita Humphries theater on Turtle Creek, and we were pleasantly surprised. Initially Dream Cafe looks like a small-ish joint, so a natural assumption would be to believe the menu would be equally limited. Not true at all. We enjoyed the more quiet ambiance of the location, coupled with the innovative menu available for an early evening dinner. The wife had scallops in risotto that were beautifully presented and apparently satisfied my spouse' picky tastes. I went the "safe" route with the steak and frite, and was treated to a perfectly done mini-steak with a crisp and hot (no mushy or lukewarm here) mix of russet and sweet potato frite. The wine list was also impressive, and the special being run on 1/2 off Italian bottles was appreciated (though I settled for a glass instead, due to a tight curtain time schedule.) Worth a visit for certain!"
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Dream Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great, as always!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Two words: Mystic Pasta! Whenever I eat here, I always plan on ordering something else to eat. But why mess with perfection. As always, the Mystic Pasta is a delicious combination of perfectly cooked chicken, bacon, brie, and bow-tie pasta (among other assorted ingredients). I love this place, and it's probably a good thing that I don't live in the neighborhood. Because if I did, I'd eat hear ALL THE TIME."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dream Cafe
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.2 / 3
Moderate