Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Crown Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Crown

John DeLucie is the Chef Proprietor of Crown, Bill's Food & Drink, and The Lion restaurants in New York City. DeLucie opened Crown in a 1930's mansion steps away from The Metropolitan Museum of Art on the Upper East Side. Bill's Food & Drink opened in November 2012 in Manhattan’s Midtown, and features hearty American cuisine. The Lion opened in May 2010 and is located in the West Village – it features a menu consistent with the Chef himself; classic American with undeniable Italian influences.
39 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(39 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(20)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • special occasion(18)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • good for groups(7)
  • vibrant bar scene(5)
Crown Reviews List
Review 1 for Crown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2012
 2012
Dined on 3/23/2012
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/23/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

An Eastside Class Act

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always delightful having a wonderful meal here. I have gone many times and shall return...Kudo's to the staff and chef !!!"
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Years Eve at the Crown

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My daughter & I had a most enjoyable New Year's Eve, and saw 2015 in with good food & live music at the Crown. We had to wait some 45 minutes for our table, but that was perhaps inevitable, in that people were lingering and listening to the group; apologies from management throughout our wait were profuse, and our drinks at the bar were offered freely.
My first course- onion tart- was absolutely delicious & memorable, not least because as I finished, we were asked- with abject apology- if we would move table- we were on a table for four, and a party of three were not yet seated. Generous recompense was offered with the request- which we happily accepted, and the whole move was effected swiftly and without fuss.
Second course of Maine lobster was excellent, desserts good.
We much appreciated the manager coming to our table at the end to reiterate apologies, and express appreciation of our willingness to move. Other establishments should take note: this is the way to ensure happy guests, who will recommend the restaurant to others. As far as we were concerned The Crown has it all: good food, friendly & competent staff (our waiter was a joy!) and excellent management. My regret is that, living as we do in England, it is rather too far to be our local!
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice ambience.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good service. Excellent beers. Uninspired food. Too salty for a mature palate."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Horrible NYE

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Crown for NYE and were very disappointed. The service was horrendous from not seating us until 45 minutes after our reservation time to an inattentive near absentee waiter, had to keep asking for our water refilled and never even got bread. Food itself was only fair my app and entree were both overcooked and underseasoned. While atmosphere and live band were festive, the overall experience was comically bad."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Cheapest bottle of burgundy on the entire menu was $185. When served a glass of Sangiovese, which was spilled, the Waiter did not pause for a taste and it was corked. When served the appetizer, it was ordered without olives and served with olives. Had to be returned. The chicken entre was dry and tasted gamey. I was to frustrated at this point to send it back.
Worst expensive restaurant in nyc!
The got It right at The Lion...not sure why so wrong here. In dire need of a more realistic wine buyer and better management."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful romantic dinning

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my fiancée here after a romantic stroke around Central Park. We where seated straight away, the waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu as we had a few questions. The food came promptly and the wait between starter and main was perfect. The food was tasty and the waiter severed our drinks at expected. The cocktails are strong but the bartender knew how to make anything. I would definitely recommend for a romantic dinning experience."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A MUST IF YOU LIKE REALLY GOOD CUISINE

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A Classy Uptown eatery...People watching..A NY Buzz....I spotted a few celebs laughing and dining @ this Trendy hot spot that serves up exquisite dishes.. Ambience of royalty..real cozy comfy....Staff Onpoint...Kudo's to the chef !!! ..I shall return"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Crown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Elegant atmosphere, well presented food and a very acceptable wine list. The service staff seemed confused at times about who ordered what which detracted slightly from an overall good experience."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Crown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Crown - fit for a king

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ambience great. Focacia decent though would prefer a sourdough, wholegrain or rye. Olive oil excellent quality. Artichoke appetizer very good. Kale salad excellent. Duck with sauce superb. Waiter nice enough though felt like trying to ring the register a bit, i.e. just poured our wine glasses which were all full when the main course came and asked if we would like another bottle. Also pushed bottled water versus tap. Main course came with NO vegetable or starch. Generally a good restaurant and one of the better ones on the upper east side though a bit expensive."
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Crown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Thanksgiving Lunch Disaster

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We are a family of 6, arrived at Crown for what we thought was going to be a very special delicious Thanksgiving lunch. Upon entering this very classy upscale establishment - they were blaring music completely inappropriate for setting a holiday mood. (the band Journey was playing). We had to ask the waiter to please change the music. In this large dining room with 90 percent empty tables, they sat us off in a corner of the restaurant. My husband ordered a cocktail (which only came after he reminded the wait staff 3 times) and FINALLY, the manager personally made the drink and delivered it. When our food was served, we all noticed that the so called "turkey" was certainly not what we expected (freshly carved) - but instead was actually all uniform in size 1"x1" square cubes of meat cut into 3-4 pieces. This had the texture of canned ham or meat and we had no idea really what this was we were eating. Along with the "so-called" turkey, they only brought 3 very small dishes of various side items to "share among our 6" and it was not enough, so we had to order "extra". When ordering the dessert, we had also ordered coffee, but it did not come in time to enjoy with our dessert ; the waiter said they had to "make the coffee". The price for this disastrous Thanksgiving lunch was $800.00 Needless to say, none of us finished our lunch and we left there feeling that it was a HUGE disappointment and such a rip-off. I'm not sure why Crown opened its doors on Thanksgiving Day, Next year might I recommend they allow their staff to stay home - put their feet up and relax and enjoy their canned turkey. I cannot recommend this restaurant and will never be back again."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crown
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
15 out of 19 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic