Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Cottage Chestnut Hill Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Cottage Chestnut Hill

The Cottage Chestnut Hill has it’s origin in two different lifestyles. John grew up surfing the beaches of Southern California. Laura grew up in Wellesley and is the third generation in her family to have a business in town. Our decor, service and food reflect the casualness and familiarity of So Calif and the sophistication and warmth of New England. Please take a moment to say hello on your next visit. Welcome to the Cottage! — John + Laura
115 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(115 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
5 stars
(38)
4 stars
(53)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(38)
  • good for groups(31)
  • neighborhood gem(27)
  • fit for foodies(24)
  • great for brunch(19)
  • kid-friendly(17)
The Cottage Chestnut Hill Reviews List
Review 1 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2014
 2012
Dined on 2/16/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/16/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2012
 2012
Dined on 12/02/2012
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/02/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2014
 2009
Dined on 8/01/2014
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A GREAT place to eat!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Recently, I dined with my mom at the cottage and once again, we weren't disappointed. Everything from the bread to dessert was amazing and every time she comes into town, we have to eat here. Brunch here is also amazing. Nevertheless, I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants a change of pace and to escape from reality for a little bit."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I love this restaurant. Are we in San Diego?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant makes you feel like you're at a trendy beachside grille in San Diego---but youre in Chestnut Hill! Menu is always interesting; cappuccinos are DELICIOUS. Went here for a baby shower and had amazing nachos and a burger. Good wine list! Went here for lunch on a Saturday and had a great veggie burger - real veggie burger - not frozen or anything.
I do wish they offered brunch on Saturdays - they only offer it on Sundays.
Love this place - a little pricey but really a wonderful restaurant."
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Won't be going to this location again

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A disappointing experience due to the lack of attention from our server. The 3 cheese quiche was acceptable, but not very warm when I received it. The donuts bites for dessert were very disappointing because they tasted VERY fried and definitely over-cooked. The coffee was weak and not worth ordering. Overall, our experience at the Chestnut Hill restaurant was very sub par and I would not recommend this particular location."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Easygoing

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice restaurant for a rare weekday lunch with a friend. Peaceful vibe. Lunch was completely not rushed. Delicious bread to start, filling salads, attentive (and funny) waiter."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Better thanin the summer

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In the summer I mentioned that the crab cakes had gone from 2 to 1 and seemed like less food. I ordered it again and it was delicious with a generous veggie topping. It was solid crab and so filling I almost felt like the crab cake, the rolls and the wine were enough for a lite dinner. Chicken picata was rather bland but the chicken Mirabela was excellent as were all the polenta dishes. The polenta appetizer was fantastic. Salad nicoise was lovely with fresh tuna. Wait staff were very helpful for our party of various food allergies. For a celiac person they even provided a warm gluten free roll. You can't ask for more than that. And yes this time they offered fresh ground pepper something that was sorely lacking in the summer."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always a good time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food and service whenever we have dined there. I prefer the bar area where you can people watch, but the SO prefers the classic dining room. Can't go wrong in either case."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great family dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I brought our 3yr old out to dinner and we all enjoyed the food and the service. We prefer a noisier atmosphere when bringing our daughter but in general you can have a nice romantic dinner and still have a nice conversation even with the noise. Great brunch also and have never had a negative experience at this restaurant."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently outstanding!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Cottage has never disappointed me or my friends. On my most recent visit, the food was top notch, the server was attentive and knowledgeable. I had reservations, and the manager who was on duty that evening took special care to see that we were seated in a comfortable booth."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Needs Help

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Arrived for the reservation on time and was told they just needed to clear tables. 20 minutes later we were seated right by the door. Looking around we immediately noticed nobody had their food and there were lots of irritated looking customers. We ordered drinks and a different waiter brought us all another tables drinks. Then when our drinks arrived they were missing one. The food took 55 minutes to arrive. The waitress felt terrible and kept apologizing but it was obscene. This restaurant was not at all prepared to handle this volume of business. No excuse for a restaurant that has been around for quite some time. The table next to ours it was even worse... they still had not gotten their food by the time we left and they ordered at the same time we did.
The food itself was less than spectacular. The brunch menu looked more intriguing than it actually tasted. Nothing was particularly great, just very mediocre."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very low level of food and service.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As if they don't care if you come back. Minimal effort to make you happy. Food was lower level than a fast food restaurant. Very disappointing.
The question here is if I would recommend anyone to visit the restaurant. Open Table should add an option to recommend NOT to visit the restaurant.
"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A few good items

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The items that taste good, are excellent. I just wish more items tasted good. the service is always good and they take allergies very seriously."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New server, great job

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our server was new and he was awesome. He was very meticulous in checking for allergies and he took good care of us during a working lunch!"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Charming lunch spot!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The decor and atmosphere is charming, and fit for a lunch-time hit. I dined here with a group for lunch, and enjoyed the Tuna Nicois salad. The burger looked delicious too! Overall nice place for lunch, food is average, but for the price and nice atmosphere, a good lunch spot."
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent mahi mahi with jumbalaya. Delivery of meal was slow."
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

nice spot, terrible food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2005
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great service, however everything we ordered was overcooked and also dried out from what appeared to be over exposure to a heat lamp. The Manager comped one of our meals which was nice, but unless the kitchen/food improves we won't be back and I simply can't recommend this to others."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"even though ny friend was in the Wellesley Cottage and I in the Newton one, I wa allowed to stay at the table to wait for her"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

burger night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Daughter was in from California, and her favorite place is the Cottage--she loves the Aloha Chicken Tenders--so the first place we ate, within hours of her flight, was the Cottage in Wellesley. Then to mix it up a little we decided to try the Cottage in Chestnut Hill for her last meal before she left to go back to Cali.
She and I had the burgers. I got the Texan which I ordered with no bun- it was smoky and delicious, and possibly even diet friendly with the asparagus instead of fries option :). She had hers plain.
My other daughter got the salmon with the glaze on the side, and we all enjoyed the meal with perfect service.
The waiter was there when you needed him, friendly and helpful and quick with refills, but also invisible when we were caught up in talking.
Always recommend the Cottage to friends and family.
"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good menu choices; iffy service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I always find something I like on the menu, but I don't always get served what I ordered. The service has been unreliable the last few times. Last time it was almost comical how many things went wrong. At least they took something off the check in compensation."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

So disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were sent by the Host to "Just go take that booth and I'll bring menus". She did not bring menus and the waiter accused us of seating ourselves and then he forgot to bring the menus or the warm rolls they have always served. When I asked if they had a pot of fresh decaf the waiter answered " well, it's from sometime this morning (it was 1:30), but I'll keep my eye on it and let you know when I see a fresh pot". My warm goat cheese salad with chicken had no warm goat cheese and wilted, almost squishy greens. My husband's tuna melt looked good, but the fries were over-salted and not quite fresh or crisp. My friend's salad arrived without the avocado she had ordered. Would not wast my time here again, although the dining room is beautiful and because it was only half full the noise level was tolerable."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good service and food, but VERY overpriced.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I ordered a salad with shrimp, which was tasty and nicely done, but it cost $21!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, great service from Angela

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2004
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Really good casual restaurant with a good variety of dishes to satisfy picky eaters. Great place for group get togethers, although a little noisy."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very pleasant lunch spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great place to have conversations since the tables are well spaced. Our server was very pleasant and attentive. The Caesar salad dressing with avocado is fabulous!"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2003
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Ambiance and good food...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Per usual, The Cottage menu offered delightful selections and the food was good. The service was a bit lacking. Two of the three of us were delayed in arriving. The third person had placed her order just a tad before we arrived due to her time constraints. So we two who arrived a bit late ordered salads with lobster (very tasty). The waiter did not ask if we wanted the first order delayed nor did he delay the first order to be timed with the two additional orders. The salads took a good amount of time to arrive, which should have been quicker and the waiter should have asked the kitchen to help move it along. The ambiance and food were quite good. I would recommend this restaurant for food and ambiance but caution those looking for good or great service."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, service, atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had a nice Friday evening dinner with my wife and daughter recently. Service was very prompt and efficient. Food was all good all around (burger, salmon, sides). Very nice ambiance in this location as well. Recommended."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food with Modern Vibe

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was expecting an old-world cottage atmosphere, but found it to be a lovely, modern decor. Food was very good. I had the lobster fettuccini, which had large chunks of lobster, mushrooms, and white beans. It was scrumptious. My daughter had the tenderloin tips, also excellent. My husband had the duck. We had the calamari appetizer and I loved the savory salad that accompanied it."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Asked in advance for a quiet table but did not get one. Bread on sandwich could not be cut without a very sharp steak knife. Not outstanding in any way."
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Cottage Chestnut Hill
Based on the average of (83) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
58 out of 64 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic