Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Cottage Wellesley Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Cottage Wellesley

The Cottage Wellesley has it’s origin in two different lifestyles. John grew up surfing the beaches of Southern California. Laura grew up in Wellesley and is the third generation in her family to have a business in town. Our decor, service and food reflect the casualness and familiarity of So Calif and the sophistication and warmth of New England. Please take a moment to say hello on your next visit. Welcome to the Cottage! — John + Laura
138 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(138 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
5 stars
(58)
4 stars
(53)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(59)
  • neighborhood gem(51)
  • good for groups(43)
  • kid-friendly(35)
  • great for brunch(31)
  • fit for foodies(29)
The Cottage Wellesley Reviews List
Review 1 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/20/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/20/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2014
 2009
Dined on 9/20/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2013
 2006
Dined on 10/30/2013
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/30/2013
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/14/2012
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2015
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/04/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ate there for Sunday Brunch, tuscan omelett and french toast. Both dishes surpassed expectations, check Sunday liquor laws before making a reservation."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love that place! One of my 2 favorites in Wellesley ( Blue Ginger being the other one)! Young greet staff can be great or not so great though;-("
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent overall experience. This about our 10th visit."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always Reliable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Cottage Wellesley is my go to fit brunch, lunch, and dinner. It never disappoints!"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Go To to Go To

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is one of those places you can always count on to be good, although it may get a little old for some people. The menu has stayed pretty much the same over the years, but for me that is okay; especially since I LOVE their tortilla soup and chicken milanese, among the other salads and sandwiches that are tasty and nicely prepared/plated. The servers are usually very friendly and effiicient, as was Ben this week. Great pre-blizzard lunch with a dear friend at a restaurant that has become a dear friend! (Thanks for the appetizer, too!)"
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was helpful to reserve a table. We had a great booth on time, wait staff excellent, food was different and good, coffee not good, omelettes unique accompanied by scone. Fresh fruit cup. Crowded. Noisy. But good."
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This place is great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We live in Natick and this is our favorite local place. This time around, I got the Blackened Mahi-Mahi, and my girlfriend got the Short Rib. She commented that the Short Rib was one of the best things she'd ever eaten, and the Mahi-Mahi was great too - the gumbo that it was served in was spicy and delicious.
Also, do yourself a favor and sign up for their email list. They send out some type of coupon every month, and this time around it resulted in a free appetizer, in our case the ahi tuna "nachos," a very creative and delicious app."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My daughter has several alleegies and the chef was able to create a dish for her that was delicious and safe. Handled very well. We will be back."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food reasonably priced

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Enjoyable dinner here. The food is always good and it is reasonably priced. Service was good attentive enough to make sure we were ok, but did not make us feel like she was interrupting our dinner out. We both had fish, Salmon and Mahi Mahi. Both of these dishes were flavorful and cooked just right. I have been here a few times now and I have always enjoyed it."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Something new

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Have gone to the Cottage often and always find it to be a positive experience. We were there early on a Sunday night and they had some new nightly specials and it was a little quieter than the usual noise fest. Our adult family from out of town love it too! Good food and fun place!"
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Maybe at an off time

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant was very crowded and very noisy and although it was before noon wasn't particularly clean. Took about 15 minutes to find a parking space. My omelet was good, but the side of potatoes wasn't. My friend's eggs benedict included two eggs and that's it. Pretty pricey too. Probably would be better during a less busy time."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"the dining choices are great and the food was excellent well seasoned
The server was excellent
"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice neighborhood place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good place to meet for a quick dinner with friends. Varied menu from burgers & salads to nice entrees. Always a lot kids there. Not overly expensive."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2003
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

A bit disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went went with hubby, his mother, and my two kids (12 & 13). While most enjoyed their food, it was not really up to previous meals. As a frequent diner, we received a 'free appetizer' email which said it needed to be presented at the time of seating, which we did. The waiter gave us some dismissive response about how the coupon 'hadn't been set up properly' but he would handle it.
Our waiter was inattentive - drink order/refills were not timely, we had to ask if there were specials (there were not) and he served us 4 rolls for 5 people. We asked for more rolls (since we had not been given enough) and were given 3 more? Again - we were a table of 5. He seemed just to never be around and, when he was, we felt like we were an inconvenience.
When check came, we noted that the appetizer had not been taken off the bill. When we were able to flag down the waiter, he thanked us for reminding him about the coupon and corrected the bill.
About the food: Eggplant fries appetizer was yummy. Lobster fettuccine entree($22) was lacking taste (it was supposed to have truffle butter, parmesan crema and grape tomatoes, but it tasted like a watery alfredo with no tomato - absolutely nothing special or worth the price). Pasta in the dish was served in one large congealed lump. We would have sent the dish back had our waiter been around. Short ribs and Chicken Picatta were much better executed. We shared the cider donuts for dessert and those were sweet and tasty with the house-made caramel sauce.
We do enjoy going to The Cottage every 4-6 weeks so hopefully this was just an 'off' night for the server (we had never had him before) and our next experience will be more up to previous standards."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We invited two guests to lunch from Europe...one from Switzerland, one from Russia. They loved the restaurant, the ambience, the food, and the service. They both said they felt they were back in Europe! A delightful holiday lunch"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brunch Visit

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I found The Cottage to be a nice Wellesley spot with plenty of parking as it backs into shopping area. Pricey brunch for routine offerings, tasty, adequate, but there wasn't one item that was a standout. I would visit again, but would aim to try a lunch or dinner menu to see what is served up off of those menus that may prove more unique or better than average."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Upscale Casual Dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Just a GREAT upscale casual dining restaurant. Dress is nice casual, atmosphere is relaxed and the food /drink is wonderful. It was my son's birthday and everything was perfect, including the single candle on a delicious cheesecake representing 26 successful years. I'm very particular about the noise level and the few children that were there were well behaved by parental oversight. I feel it is important to teach children how to eat and behave in a nice restaurant and this is a place to provide that learning experience. A great restaurant for having a very fine meal with excellent food, service and in a very special relaxed atmosphere. We all commented that the decor was exceptional and added to the upscale relaxed atmosphere. Very professional restaurant and I don't think you will be disappointed. We visited many times and this time for a Sunday Brunch 12/28/14 and will return."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Greatly improved menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food choices and service. Would be happy to take any guest there, any time."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Draft beer

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The beer selection is great! appetizers excellent. Disappointed in the quality of the ahi tuna"
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Only there for brunch, which was good, but can't speak to the rest of the menu. Family friendly, lively, casual, with well-prepared food."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ambiance, Waitstaff are wonderful~Food not so much

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Cottage is a very pretty restaurant and the wait staff could not be more attentive. This is my 4-5th experience there and I always leave with the same thought: Why do I like it so much when the food is only fair? This time we had the chicken salad sandwich. It was 90% bread which was impossible to eat because it was so thick. I removed the bread and just ate the chicken....it could not have been more than 3 oz of food. The spinach was soggy and way too buttery for my taste, but that could be personal preference. Last time I had the lobster salad sandwich which was a similar experience.....thick, thick bread and little lobster content. I have also had the crab cakes which seemed really undercooked. I am not a persnickety diner....if someone cooks and I don't have to, I am generally just thrilled. Would I go back? Probably, as I have four other times.....but I wouldn't go hungry. Sorry, just not a great foodie experience :-("
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as it used to be

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've eaten at the Cottage a number of times over the past few years and had great food. This past weekend, my husband and I went back for the first time in a while, and it was not nearly as good as it used to be. We had the nachos to start, which were good... but not great. There was a ton of guacamole on top, but no salsa. There were just a handful of chopped tomatoes sprinkled on the plate that seemed insufficient. I had the arugula salad next. There was a TON of arugula, which had almost no dressing, especially considering the size of the salad. It seemed like it was just heaped on the plate with a couple of cherry tomatoes tossed in. A salad half as big with twice as much dressing would have been much better. My husband had the caesar salad, and same thing - almost no dressing. I had the sweet potato crusted cod, which was well-cooked and quite good. The broccoli rabe underneath was very, very garlicky. The roasted potatoes were basic but good. My husband had the fish tacos, which I thought were quite good. (Not the real deal authentic, but good nonetheless.)"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Cottage Wellesley was just right!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Last night's dinner at The Cottage Wellesley with Hubby and Darling Daughter was so nice.
That perfect waiter Jake was our server again. Can't go wrong following his recommendations!
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Solid service and food. Larger than i figured. ambiance ok. food came out quick. almost too quick."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always delicious

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been here for multiple dinners. The menu is varied so it meats the needs of our family with carnivore and vegetarians alike. I also like that they are continually updating the menu with new dishes. I had the sweet potato encrusted cod - lovely and light. My son who loves a great steak had steak frites and said it was amazing. My daughter asked them to make the fettucini without the lobster and loved it, they also charged a reasonable price for the modified dish. My husband had chicken piccata and ate every last bit. It is a bit noisy due to acoustics, but the great food, wonderful service and local feel are worth it. Desert was also delicious. We shared the apple streudel and chocolate souffle."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was mediocre at best. I had a hamburger and the meat was tough and not of great quality. French fries were ok. I tried some of the salads. Again, just ok, nothing that stood out by any means. Ambiance is nice and cozy and this somewhat makes up for the average-below average food that is overpriced. The waitress asked us if there were any allergies in our party. When we informed her that one person was lactose intolerant, we discovered that there were very few options that didn't contain dairy. Even the buns on the burgers contain cheese. This needs to be worked on by the management. If someone with a dairy allergy wants a plain burger this should be an easy accommodation. Otherwise, why even ask if there is an allergy if there are hardly any options."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice birthday spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went for my wife's birthday. We had made a reservation and ended up arriving about 30 minutes early. They offered us the option of waiting or sitting at a high top in the bar - since the bar wasn't loud or crowded we chose that. Our server was terrific and the food was excellent. We will definitely be back."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for The Cottage Wellesley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was friendly enough, but very unpolished. The wine list needs help."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Cottage Wellesley
Based on the average of (101) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
69 out of 73 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic