Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Grovewood Cafe Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Grovewood Cafe

Located adjacent to the historic Grove Park Inn and nestled in an enclave of shops and museums, The Grovewood Cafe offers the finest in regional and continental cuisine. The Grovewood Cafe has served up delicious Southern recipes in the mountains of Western North Carolina for over 17 years. Fresh salads, homemade soups and flavorful seasonally changing dishes showcase both the talents of the chef and the remarkable locally available produce and meats. We offer vegetarian dishes and also have a children"s menu for our youngest guests. We offer both indoor dining and a seasonal outdoor patio. We would love to see you for your special occasions, every day lunch or dinner, and welcome large parties and banquets. We offer all variety of spirits and we are sure that we can find the proper libation to whet your whistle.
42 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(42 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • great for lunch(14)
  • romantic(14)
  • good for groups(12)
  • great for brunch(12)
Grovewood Cafe Reviews List
Review 1 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/08/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So Long

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It be hard to come to Asheville and not have Grovewood Cafe to come to
Your staff and your Food was 5 Stars and just made the time at Grove Wood a great time
Big Thanks
"
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

BEWARE!!!!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were excited to try somewhere new in Asheville, but we were definitely disappointment. The restaurant was not warm at all to start with. I ordered the pork loin and my date ordered the mountain trout. They brought out a basket of rolls to start and they were good. Then the main course came out. My pork loin was overlooked and extremely dry. It looked like it had been prepared earlier and then heated up. It was served with tasteless instant mashed potatoes and undercooked steamed vegetables. My dates mountain trout was paper thin and looked like it had been cooked to death. The skin was thick and hard to get off. It was served with tasteless potatoe bites and some spinach. The serving portions were saw small for the astronomical price of the food. We decided to try a dessert. It was suppose to be some Apple crisp, but instead it was more like canned apples with oatmeal poured on top. Let's say when we walked out the door we were still starving and had to go get a sub just to fill us up from a meal that should have filled us up. The meal after the tip was almost $80 and a waste of money for that. Never, ever will I step foot back in that place!!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overcooked food. Poor service.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"From the beginning we wished we had the server at the next table. The restaurant was not busy, but we rarely saw our server. Another person brought out our food. My pork, which I had requested medium rare, was cooked until it was dry and tasteless. I was not given a steak knife. By the time our server brought me the proper knife, my husband had nearly finished his meal. I had eaten two bites of mine and requested a new entree. She was not familiar with the menu, even though it only listed 5 or 6 entrees. Both my husband and I ate alone because of the poor service. My flatware had been taken with the first meal and was not replaced. We had to steal a set from a nearby table. Even the process of getting and paying the bill was an ordeal."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentine Delight

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Surf & Turf, wine, wonderful companion and excellent service combined for a delightful meal at Grovewood."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

interesting

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were the only people in the restaurant for 10 a.m. brunch, which was odd, but the service was fantastic and food was okay"
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely staff and great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have had nothing but positive experiences with the Grovewood Cafe which is one of Asheville's hidden gems. We had a table of 12 last night and received excellent service. The food was superb. Everyone was very pleased and all of us will return. We love brunch here too, especially on the charming terrace in warm weather."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Flexible and Good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great fresh seafood. The chef is versatile and can make variations based on food allergies and needs. Also I like that the menu changes as fresh or seasonal items are available. Great option to the Grove Park Inn guests. Also you don't have to pay for your parking!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas Day Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Christmas Day Lunch was an excellent alternative to the mobs at the GPI next door and we still went to see the gingerbread houses and trees at our leisure. Table service is always preferable for a special meal. The variety of appetizers and entree's fit all palates. The roasted oysters were a delicious treat. The dessert buffet had something for everyone."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best dishes I've had

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The roasted butternut squash dish was amazing. It was one of the best dishes I've had in a long time. Service was great as well."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have dined here several times and always enjoy it. This visit was very different. While the restaurant wasn't crowded, our order took 45 minutes to arrive. We were served stale, cold biscuits while we waited. When the food finally arrived, the portions were very small and the presentation wasn't great. The Sunburst trout was probably a 3 ounce serving, accompanied by a few tablespoons of 2 sides. Chicken breast about the same. While it was tasty, hardly worth the wait. We all left feeling like we had our appetizer and were ready to have dinner. We won't be back."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lunch at the Grovewood Cafe

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"On several visits the kitchen has been very slow to produce our order, and it has not been busy in the restaurant itself. Perhaps 3 other tables already served. That is our main criticism. The time before, a couple actually left because they were tired of waiting, and hungry I presume."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, menu, ambience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A group of six women enjoys lunch here twice a year. It is quiet (we are all over 60 so this is important), the food is superb, the menu has excellent choices and the service has usually been quite good."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A great place for lunch! The food has never disappointed, and we have been many times. The vegetable plate is so unique. There are probably 6 different vegetables served in a variety of ways. Very seldom would I order a "vegetable plate", but this one is outstanding! The salads are fresh, unique and delicious. The omelets are also fantastic. You can't go wrong eating here! It's a gem!"
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grovewood Cafe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food, would recommend!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This smaller cafe lacked a little in ambiance (obviously old building) but delivered in excellent food and great service!! My boyfriend described the filet mignon as the most tender piece of meat he'd ever put in his mouth."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Grovewood Cafe
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
23 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic