Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Merlo on Maple Reviews List

Merlo on Maple

Merlo features authentic Bolognese Italian and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Luisa Silvia Marani, takes great pride in her handmade pastas, homemade sauces and her ability to acquire the freshest ingredients available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Merlo is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Merlo will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Merlo also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Along with the cuisine, comes the heart and soul of generations before this chef and her husband, Proprietor, Giampaolo Sassi. Bon Appetito!! We invite you to take a tour of our restaurant. http://bit.ly/1ByZtoJ
See more Merlo on Maple details
395 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(395 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 395 reviews
5 stars
(259)
4 stars
(90)
3 stars
(26)
2 stars
(15)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(235)
  • special occasion(227)
  • fit for foodies(207)
  • neighborhood gem(170)
  • notable wine list(150)
  • good for groups(33)
Merlo on Maple Reviews List
Review 1 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner in this Gold Coast Gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had an incredible meal at Merlo on Maple. Our waiter was well informed and knew every dish on the menu.
It's refreshing when they say that they have tried the nightly specials and can make spot on recommendations about the preparation and dish.
I had the tagliatelle with seafood as I was looking for a lighter dish. It delivered completely on my expectations and was not an entree that I would have normally ordered. Two others in our party ordered the bolognese and it was as good as I've ever had anywhere. All of the past is
made in-house and it shows.
My wife had the pasta special with a spinach pasta and shaved porcini mushrooms and parmesan cheese. She raved about it the next day.
After dinner we went downstairs to the bar and spent some time with Sam the bartender. He mixed great cocktails and we enjoyed the wine recommendation.
Merlo is located in an old brownstone that looks a little out of place on Maple next to the newer buildings. However it's a gem inside. Still quite original inside with nice ambiance. Get a window seat if you can!
Overall, it was a really enjoyable evening and we'd definitely go back again without question!"
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I felt like I was in Italy!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Wow, this place is a gem! We sat in a remodeled brownstone, listening to our Italian waitress tell us about all the food and wine, and then ate fabulous authentic Italian food...I felt like I was right in Italy. The food and service were tremendous...I highly recommend this little piece of heaven. Try the artichoke tart and the homemade pasta choices are all delicious...entrees generous and scrumptious...very nice wine selection...this is definitely at the top of my favorites list. I can't wait to go back!"
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/26/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2004
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All was great. Atmosphere, candle light, attentive service. Is all perfect for a special night. One caution is that you have to go up stairs to enter (quaint bar area) then down relatively steep stairs to get to the dinning room."
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/25/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/25/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Italian In Chicago

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've frequented many, if not all, the best named Italian restaurants around Chicago, but Merlo on Maple above all blew me away.
I had walked past it so many times, always remarking to whomever I was with how cute the place seemed and how delicious the menu looked, but had always forgotten to stop there - instead booking reservations at the bigger Italian restaurants around downtown. But those restaurants always left something to be desired, which I very recently found in Merlo on Maple.
It took me back to dining in the Tuscan countryside, beautiful old building with rich history, being able to sit with friends and family for a longer more intimate meal, and having the most friendly servers and staff guide you through the dining experience.
The food was fantastic, by far the best I've had in the city for Italian (Get lots and share). The atmosphere was quieter and relaxed, no where near the near-chaotic bustling of big restaurants, which created for us a more friendly environment where they clearly weren't rushing you through. In fact the opposite, they tell you upfront they prefer making the dinners memorable, lengthier occasions like you'd find in Italy. There's not a single thing I'd change about the experience, and nothing more I could've wished for.
I plan to recommend Merlo on Maple to everyone I know, and I plan to return often myself. It's very rare to find a gem such as this place."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly recommended, and deservedly so !!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/15/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best in the north Rush area

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We stop here every time we're in town - if you only have one night for dinner in Chicago, have it here.
The drinks , food and wine offerings are splendidly unique. Try the Osso Bucco with a bottle of Amarone - you won't be disappointed.
This visit was as great as any other, our server Simona was a delight and was very knowledgeable about traditional Northern Italian food and wines. She timed the meal perfectly from the drinks to the dessert.
I could go on, but I think you get the idea - try it once and you'll keep coming back"
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Merlo

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food service was excellent. Need to improve dessert."
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/02/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sorry, but really not good.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I wanted to like this restaurant, but the atmosphere was pretty dead even on a Saturday night. Food wasn't good, service wasn't good. The wine was good but really expensive."
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth the effort

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Perhaps its because we went on a Sunday night at 9 pm... the experience was not anywhere close to expectations. The reviews were good and the website was well designed, however after experiencing dinner here, I think bought sources were deceiving. On the positive side, our waiter was good and engaging; but that was about it as the highlight for the night. The food was very uninspired. Two of the items that were supposed to be on the pre-fixed menu they were out of, so our 5th course the waiter asked us if we wanted a salad (a simple salad!) or the first course appetizer - seriously?! Again probably chalk it up to the fact that we were amongst the last diners in the place... Certainly wont be going back. Was quite disappointed."
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Merlo was Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Merlo has been our neighbor for years, but we avoided it as the menu listed outside seemed expensive. We were delighted to have a great meal at a reasonably fair price. The fact that 3/4 of our party were abstemious helped keep costs in line, but we will return to again when the diet is less restricted."
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The food at this restaurant is fabulous. There are not too many restaurants in the US that serve Italian food as the Italians do, and this is one of them. The pastas are absolutely fresh and complex, with exception of the black truffle pasta, which is beautifully simple (and delicious). Our server was Simone and I am most hopeful that she will be working there when I return, which I will, as she was completely knowledgeable, helpful and most charming. Lastly, the bartender, whose name I unfortunately forget, is a fantastic character setting the stage for a great night!!!! Not one constructive criticism - just keep doing what you are doing!!!!"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/15/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Merlo on Maple Review

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My wife and I dined at Merlo on Maple and decided to eat there because it had been a few years since we had done so and we wanted to go back. My wife had the special which I can't remember what it was but she enjoyed it very much. I decided to order the Fritto di pesce and I ended up being disappointed. It was a dish with diver scallops, calamari, tiger shrimp, artichokes, etc. and was supposed to be lightly fried in extra virgin olive oil. It seemed to be over done and didn't taste as good as I thought it would. It may be that I made a poor choice in ordering and the dish is always prepared that way and if so I won't order it the next we're there. Having said that we did have a nice time and we will patronize Merlo on Maple in the future."
Dined on 3/09/2016
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/03/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Merlo on Maple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>