Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Smokin' Betty's Reviews List

Smokin' Betty's

Smokin' Betty's is nestled in the heart of Midtown Village offering American comfort food that would make your mama proud. One of Philly's favorite spots for burgers and BBQ ribs, Betty's is also known for their 16 rotating craft drafts, daily menu additions, weekly happy hour and weekend brunch.

With two floors and two bars there is plenty of room for happy hour after work, business lunches, group dinners, and special events. Come enjoy dinner with the family, the big game with friends, or many of Philadelphia's annual promotions.
See more Smokin' Betty's details
554 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(554 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 554 reviews
5 stars
(207)
4 stars
(247)
3 stars
(65)
2 stars
(30)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(199)
  • fit for foodies(160)
  • neighborhood gem(156)
  • great for lunch(130)
  • great for brunch(89)
  • vibrant bar scene(81)
Smokin' Betty's Reviews List
Review 1 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The food was lees than desirable.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I would definitelty focus on the late night service quality"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great value!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"For only about $35, we were able to get food and dessert for 2 people. The ambiance was very nice and the food was delicious."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Only one bad thing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"One of our party ordered pancakes. The pancake at the bottom of the stack was burned on one side but conveniently hidden. Unfortunately we had to depart due to our itinerary so it was not mentioned.
Service was friendly but a tad slow...diners who were seated after us got their food promptly ."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, always something fun and new on the menu, especially for brunch."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was simple but delicious with a wide variety of choices. Great service and exceptionally friendly staff."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing place to eat!!! Try the bread pudding!!! It's delicious!"
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food wasn't good but good experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was barely sub-par, the chilli tasted like pizza sauce with beans and most of the dishes could've been made better by any regular home cook. Despite the food, the look and feeling of the restaurant was great. There was always someone available to assist and the waiters and staff were very engaging and lots of fun! Maybe if I go again it will just be for drinks but overall a pretty good experience!"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Will try again

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Went during Restaurant Week which isn't a true test. Service was a bit slow but since we were with good friends we were okay with that. Short rib flat bread appetizer was amazing!! Main course of Mongolian BBQ Ribs were just okay. Would go back and try the burgers or bbq ribs...."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I went with a few friends- one had never been there. She enjyed the food tremendously!!! she is going to tell everyone about it"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Smokin Betty's was great. The food was excellent and the ambiance was fun. We loved the menu selection and it was just great. My only complaint, if you can cal it that, was we arrived for our reservation 10 minutes early and they wouldn't seat up even though there was plenty of open tables. I found that quite odd. Other than that, great place to eat when your in Philly."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was subpar

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I visited this restaurant for restaurant week because I liked the variety of options on the restaurant week menu. My 1st course was short rib flat bread. The flavors in the dish didnt go well together so it wasnt enjoyable to eat. 2nd course was a simple salad. My main course was ribs and fried rice. This restaurant is advertised as a BBQ restaurant so i expected the ribs to taste good. I was disappointed in the ribs, they were over cooked and the sauce wasnt very good. The rice was just ok. I will not return."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, Horrible draft beer

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The ONLY reason I gave the food a 3 is because there is no separate tab for drink. The food is amazing here. Everything was good (aside from the cornish hen, but they are tricky to cook). Great wait staff and I actually met up with a cook who was leaving around the same time as my group. Wu is a great cook and a friendly person and because of him alone I would recommend this place to anyone. Ribs and apps are to die for. Draft beer on the 1st floor though... horrible. Every beer had more head than actual liquid and tasted sour, when I requested a different beer I got a slight attitude and also the same quality beer from a different pump. I didn't try the beer on the 2nd floor (Which has a great ambiance) because quite frankly I was afraid to. If you guys do something about your beer downstairs this would be a 5 star restaurant in my book. Do not skip this place because of the beer, the food here has me wanting to come back less than a week later."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Busy brunch scene. Very nice waiter. Seemed ready and eager to tackle a table of 5 chatty girls sipping brunch cocktails! Food was super delicious, I had the huevos rancheros! Others enjoyed veg burger, breakfast buritto, benedict and corned beef hash special. We enjoyed our visit!"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/22/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service, food was okay

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My boyfriend and I went during Restaurant Week. The service was great, our waiter was very energetic and attentive. The 1st & 2nd courses, or apps, were awesome, but we were both disappointed by the 3rd course, or entrees. Despite generous portion sizes, I had fish that was dry and not very flavorful. The dessert was delicious. We both agreed that we would eat here again, but probably stick to ordering a few apps or try soup/salad/sandwich offerings."
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Did not meet expectations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We went for Philly Restaurant Week. The items on the RW menu sounded appealing, but they were almost all executed poorly.
The appetizers we ordered were the coconut shrimp (which was probably the best food of theirs we had) and the buffalo chicken meatballs. The meatballs were more like lumps, and the buffalo sauce was almost certainly not a house recipe.
For the second course we ordered the roasted cauliflower salad and the apple turkey chili. The cauliflower was not seasoned (and could have been roasted a bit more), the lettuce greens looked like they came straight out of a bag, and the one yellow tomato was simply quartered and left alone. The shallot vinaigrette was not exciting either. The chili was lacking any distinct apple flavor, and the little muffin that came with it looked like it came out of a pack of a hundred frozen muffins.
Our entrees were the cornish game hen and the beef short rib. We originally ordered the Mongolian BBQ ribs, but when we saw it served at a nearby table, it did not look appealing (the ribs are overshadowed by the cups and cups of rice on the plate). The game hen was blandly prepared, the jalapeno cornbread dressing was not very jalapeno-y, and the green beans were completely unseasoned (boiled in unsalted water?). The short rib was decent and the potatoes were good, but the carrots were not well-cooked and poorly seasoned.
We got a Brown Betty and a slice of triple chocolate cheesecake for dessert. The Brown Betty was okay, although a little strong on the nutmeg, while the cheesecake was unsatisfying and appeared to be thawed out frozen supermarket cheesecake.
Everything SOUNDED appealing, but in the end the food fell short."
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Good Spot for Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We celebrated a co-workers birthday. We only had an hour for lunch. The waitress was accommodating and the food was great. There were 6 of us in the group and we were in and out in an hour. Thanks to our waitress for taking care of us."
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My dining companion was looking forward to ribs all day and Betty's did not disappointed probably should have had a second plate. My prix dice for restaurant week was very tasty. Our server was helpful and eager to please. Overall a good experience"
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/20/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Upon arriving to Smokin Betty's our reserved party hadnt all arrived. We were invited to sit upstairs for drinks until there arrival. We were seated and had the pleasure of meeting and becoming acquainted with Brohm our server who was more than knowledgeable and hospitable even suprising me with something we were told was sold out... The meal was nothing less than PERFECT.... Its a must we return!"
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

always a pleasure and great food when in philly

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Be hungry! the staff is always pleasant, the food is always good pop, and the ambiance is always romantic."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good comfort food but hip. Will return."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hidden Gem in an OK area

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"From what we saw, Philly has a nice, clean area and a mediocre/ok-ish side to the city. This was on the mediocre/ok-ish side of the city. We were staying 4 blocks away and so that this restaurant was featured on food network so we said why not check it out as the food sounds good. The restaurant was really cute inside and the food was mostly pretty good. They had good drink prices and they were strong and well made. I think if we're in Philadelphia again we would probably come back here!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Reliable spot for good food - not fancy, well priced. Great for pre-theatre"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Smokin' Betty's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not so Smokin Betty's

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"This past Sunday I made a reservation through open table for A party of 4 at 5:45pm. My family arrived on time and were seated promptly on the second floor. Our server greeted us and took our drink order. Three of us eat from the restaurant week menu and one from the a la carte menu. Two of us ordered the flat bread and another the coconut shrimp of which all were lukewarm but we where hungry. Our second course was turkey chili served in a coffee mug. It was ice cold to the point I asked the server if this was how it was served. She said no and took them back to heat up. (Microwave because the guacamole and sour cream burnt my lip when it was brought back). Dinner was the Mongolian spare ribs, MahiMahi and beef short ribs. The Israeli couscous under the fish was refrigerator cold and stir fry rice with the spareribs was so salty it was uneatable. Beef short ribs were good but not hot just lukewarm. The a la carte stuff, burger and quesadilla was good though fries were ice cold. We did not complain since our server seemed to have her hands full with the other tables. We got desserts but the lemon blueberry was frozen in the center! Brown betty was good so we all shared the one dessert. No manager ever came over. I can honestly say that this was one of the worst meals we have had coming to the city. Paying the $150 bill, not including tip along with $12 to park just made my night. We try new places during restaurant week with my two teenage boys so they can experience different cuisines and normally they are like bottomless pits but on this occasion they didn't eat and we stopped at Pats steaks on they way back home. Restaurant week is a promotion for restaurants (small businesses) to attract new customers. Being in the business and having owned my own restaurant, new customers pay the bills. Thankfully, I only had my family and not a bunch of couples. It would have been embarrassing for me to have picked this restaurant."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>