Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Golden Ox Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Golden Ox

The Historic Golden Ox Restaurant opened its doors in May of 1949. The restaurant's purpose was simply to furnish a good place to dine for the ranchers, farmers, and their wives who brought their livestock to the stockyards, featuring the then and now world-famous Kansas City Steak.

Today the stock yards are gone, but the tradition lives on. The Historic Golden Ox Restaurant is a big part of that tradition, located on the first floor of the Livestock Exchange Building in the heart of the stock yards. Our professional staff serves the highest quality steaks and The Golden Ox is one of the few restaurants that continues to have its steaks aged and hand cut.

Take a step back in time and visit the Historic Golden Ox Restaurant to enjoy a true Steakhouse atmosphere, the way they used to be, and discover the real reason Kansas City is famous for it's steaks!
21 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(21 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
3.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • good for groups(9)
  • special occasion(9)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • kid-friendly(2)
Golden Ox Reviews List
Review 1 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Steaks

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The steaks were very tender but lack for seasoning. We ended up adding salt and a pat of butter to help the flavoring."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It is what it is suppose to be.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2008
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The steaks were amazingly good quality. The decor and old west feel are all part of the ambiance that this place is suppose to have. I would recommend to friends or take out of town-ers here."
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2008
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food. Historic spot, service was good... It was the best steak I have had. Pork chops my kids had were also good."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sorry the place is closing...food is quite good and plays a long part of KC history"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

now I know why they are closing.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"food was poorly prepared and was cold. This place should have closed long ago"
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

wine selection limited

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Parking was great on a cold night, we got seated almost immediately (had reservations) and service, price and the amount of food was a good value. We would definitely return."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our rib-eye steaks were very well prepared and quite flavorful, just slightly below the highest quality of meat. My companion's baked potato was very good, while my green beans were superb - the best I can recall in my recent experience. (This was a suggestion by our server in response to my rejection of potato side dishes.) My lobster bisque was also very good, and it was a pleasure to find this on the menu since it has been discontinued by several local restaurants in recent years. All in all, this was a wonderful chapter in a fifty-eight year (!) love affair with this historic restaurant."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A great night out

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A great steak for my wife and I had the prime rib that was fantastic. The calamari laked spice in the batter and my apple pie was small. The main course was all we wanted it to be and we had a great night."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Golden Ox
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I am broken-hearted Golden Ox is closing - history

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This truly funky old place with amazing food and unique heritage is a treasure to Kansas City. It's heart-breaking to me that it is closing..."
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Golden Ox
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
8 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.5 / 3
Energetic