Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Alexandra - NYC Reviews List

Alexandra - NYC

Hello,
Welcome to our contemporary American Bistro.
For over a decade, we have lovingly served thousands of people from every corner of the world, right here from our cozy living room in the west village.
We are bringing you the freshest, local, organic ingredients possible: its our family tradition.
We invite you to enjoy our jovial New York City hospitality and celebration of American art: From our sophisticated Jazz to good-time Country music, and our ever evolving "Made in the USA" inspired menu.
BIG LOVE,
TEAM AX
See more Alexandra - NYC details
30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • great for brunch(8)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • great for outdoor dining(7)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • romantic(4)
Alexandra - NYC Reviews List
Review 1 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and atmosphere. Love the jazz band!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I came here with a group of friends on Sunday night for dinner and live jazz. We arrived early enough for the cocktail hour which had a great selection of drinks and small plates to choose from. For dinner I had the paella which was cooked to order and delicious. The seafood in the dish was cooked perfectly and went along very well with the seasoned rice. I also had a taste of the steak which was also very good and cooked perfectly. I would have liked to try the mussels which I saw other guests eating but just did not have enough room! I will have to order the next time I come. Blue Rhino jazz is not to be missed! We will be back again."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Indifference

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived and were seated in an empty dining room with a blaring radio that we were told could not be lowered in volume. We decide to eat outside where there several other tables with people. Perhaps they couldn't handle the noise either. It was 5:15 and we had a 7:00 curtain. While discussing the menu and appetizers I told the waiter we needed to finish eating by 6:30. He hinted that we might skip the appetizer. One of our party got her meal at 6, the rest about ten minutes later.
My wife then went inside to the rest room which she was told was not in working order.
We passed the restaurant after theater and saw that most of the outside tables were filled. Perhaps a loud inside radio does wonders for the outside street scene."
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2009
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A little restaurant that is big on service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed our meals and were charmed when the owner refilled our glasses and later hailed us a cab in the rain. Like visiting a friend's house for dinner!"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

thumbs down

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had such an unpleasant experience here. Inexperienced waitstaff. Music too loud. Rickety tables and chairs. Would neither come back not recommend."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Really excellent food every time I have been there. But the music is so loud inside that conversation is a chore, even at lunch. I have had trouble ordering because of this. When the wait person could not hear to take the order, I asked if the music could be lowered. Apparently the owner insists on the level. So go when you can sit outside."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice, but the waiters should provide more accurate information about the dishes."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

not blown away

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was expecting more from this place based on other reviews. Perhaps it's better at dinner. Went for brunch on a Sunday and we were put on a table too small with not enough space to sit around without getting in the way of the front door, which meant the whole meal wasn't very relaxed.
I'm obsessed with Huevos Rancheros and two of us ordered that but it was disappointing - dry, not much flavour. Third person ordered caesar salad, which was fine. The food was not awful by any stretch, just not great and so I don't feel compelled to go back, which is a shame as clearly it can be awesome! The service was very good and staff are super friendly."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cozy & romantic

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved the food and cocktails. It's a cute, romantic place with wonderful staff. Highly recommend it."
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Adorable Decor and Incredible Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had such a great time at Alexandra. The food was great and the service was even better. We would absolutely go back- especially with a group. Must order the brownie desert!"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

West Village Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"West Village gem. Cozy and warm with a great staff, solid wine list and excellent food."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alexandra - NYC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This restaurant is small and cozy.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was outstanding and the waiter paid close attention to all details. The wine list was not extensive. Listened to wonderful jazz while eating."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Alexandra - NYC
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic