Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Il Vicinato Ristorante Reviews List

Il Vicinato Ristorante

IL Vicinato is immersed in the Heart of Chicago’s Little Italy Neighborhood. This authentic piece of Italy is a hidden gem that has passionately created dishes from old world recipes for 40 years. Appetizers are a great start with such favorites as twice Baked Clams, Red Roasted Peppers, and Grilled Octopus. Our signature dishes include Homemade Veal Ravioli’s, Chicken Vesuvio, and Steak Rinaldo that will make your dining experience an event to remember. If you save room, choose from one of our delectable desserts! We have daily specials; some created and named after customers. Our welcoming atmosphere and family orientated staff will make you a “regular.” Customers come from city and suburbs alike to dine with us. Corporate events welcomed. Dishes are plentiful and accompanied by an extensive wine list and full bar. Great stop before United Center, U.S. Cell and Soldier Field. See us at Check Please, and a recent review by CLTV Chicago's Best.
See more Il Vicinato Ristorante details
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(65)
4 stars
(30)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(68)
  • good for groups(40)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • special occasion(28)
  • romantic(25)
  • great for lunch(17)
Il Vicinato Ristorante Reviews List
Review 1 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was wonderful. Drinks were generous. I had the salmon which was seasoned perfectly accompanied with a generous portion of delicious sautéed spinach. Will definitely return."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I have been coming here for 20 years My favorite

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is the best northern Italian restaurant I have ever tried
Try steak renaldo and pasta roger or better yet family style 6 course meal chefs special
A very special place!"
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"What a great experience we enjoyed at Il Vicinato- comfortable surroundings- great value for both food and wine. Wonderful and attentive service from our waiter, Walter- very engaged, conversational. No rushing, allowed to enjoy our evening - at the end I went to the owner, Felipe, and told him what an enjoyable time we had and that we would soon become 'regulars'."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a great time at Il Vicinato! We were welcomed as soon as we walked in the door. The food was amazing! Ben, our server, was the best! He answered questions, made suggestions, was very attentive, making sure we had everything we needed. Everyone at Il Vicinato was wonderful! We'll definitely be back!"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Among my top 5 favorite restaurants in Chicago.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"No pretension here, just great food combined with old school charm. I first dined here years ago. I came back 6 months later, and my server (Ben) remembered my name as well as my food and drink orders. This place is a gem, untouched by time, and I always leave astounded by the overall experience."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, great atmosphere, great time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Have enjoyed dinner at Il Vicinato on several occasions. Always a great time. Unpretentious with a casual elegance. Food and service always top notch and reasonably priced. Love it."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Authentic Italian food with a great value. I don’t know why we don’t go here more. Understand, nothing fancy just great family service and tasty food. Always hard to pick from the menu, my last choice was off the special board, black linguini with lobster, scallops and shrimp that served me lunch the next day. If you are looking for Italian food from back in the day, this is the place."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Classic Chicago Italian

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Italian comfort food in unpretentious setting. The pasta is always fresh and the bolognese sauce always perfectly executed. Prices are reasonable and some great value wines on the menu, as well."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've driven by this restaurant hundreds of times and never stopped in. It's a great find in Heart of Italy, and I can't wait to return! Great food, excellent service, accommodating for families with kids. Just a perfect spot if you're in the mood for classic Italian fare. I will definitely recommend it to others!"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Was very nice. We just felt a little tight being a party of 10."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good old fashioned Italian Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The classics are executed well here. We had the shrimp arrancia as an appetizer which was delicious and the gnocchi bolegnese and black fettucine with lobster special for our entrees. The food was outstanding. Our waiter was good but the bus boy was the real star of the service- so sincere and always checking on us."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved this quaint but exquisite eatery - parking was challenging."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was very good and the portions where very generous."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was outstanding. Food very, very good. Great selection of items."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Italian, great service.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great old school Italian. Good food, great service and inexpensive. Went with the women in family for a Sunday lunch. We sat for over 2-1/2 hours and they never tried to get us to leave. Very relaxed."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food and service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food was great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been there many other times but one of the guests that came with us was amazed of how good the food was, she ate everything in her plate and she is a very picky eater."
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My new favorite Italian restaurant.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My first visit was based on a friends recommendation and I have to say she was right on. The food is great and the staff is friendly and efficient. It is so nice to find a place so comfortable and reasonable so close to home."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2004
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The seafood was excellent! We had a great time celebrating a friend's birthday."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice Local Gem!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was amazing and the dish I ordered was just okay mostly because the lasagne was different than what I expected it was very meaty and had an odd texture to me. It was not bad just different. I would still go back to try some of their other dishes."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great neighborhood restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wonderful food served by the friendliest people. The menu has Classic Italian fare and if you want something different the white board lists several specials. Be sure to get the antipasti salad for a starter. The homemade pastas are great, especially the veal ravioli. Great desert selection too, homemade tiramisu was outstanding. The same meal would cost double downtown so do yourself a favor and have dinner in one of Chicago's old Italian neighborhoods."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I had been here previously and thought our meal was great, waitstaff was nice and I couldn't wait to bring my family to try it. We went on a Wednesday night the place was empty not one other table upstairs. Our waiter didn't say much took our order and left. Didn't ask if we wanted salad or soup which I knew we had before after he had passed by us a couple times I asked him if we got salad he was like do you want it?! I said isn't it included? he said yes and then brought it out. I thought it was strange. Then the food came, my dads lasagna didn't even look or taste like lasagna and the bowl of plain noodles for my kids was almost empty for $11.50 and given the amount of pasta you get for any other meal I would of thought a few more noodles would of been appropriate maybe because they were "sharing" he didn't fill it up like normal?! It was ridiculous. That's besides the point it was a completely disappointing meal not one of us enjoyed our food, maybe the regular cook was odff and all the regulars knew about it but man was I embarrassed to have brought my family here and shelled out that kind of money for food that was almost inedible. Unfortunately, we will never be back."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Impressive dining spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the perfect evening for outdoor dining. Even though our group of four were the only outdoor diners, we never lacked attention or felt "forgotten". My husband and I had escargot for an appetizer, cooked perfectly in garlic butter with a light bread crumb topping. The specials were all tempting. My husband and sister both had the black fettuccini loaded with seafood. I loved my red snapper, grilled nicely with a mango relish, while my sisters boyfriend enjoyed his chicken over pasta dish. Portions were generous. We were sadly too full for dessert, but that will be for another time. We'll definitely be returning."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2002
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Il Vicinato Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Family aka Noisey

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nice neighborhood family restaurant (near several better ones on Oakley St.) with mediocre food. The night we were there one of the cooks supposedly hadn't shown up, causing a long delay in getting served. The server was inattentive. The worst was stereo screaming kids on both sides, with oblivious parents. Not a place for a quiet evening out."
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>