Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mountain View at Penn National Race Course Reviews List

Mountain View at Penn National Race Course

"Local, Sustainable, & Seasonal"
We believe in fresh, locally sourced ingredients that are simply prepared from scratch. We take classic dishes, add modern twists, and develop our menu around each month's best produce, meats, and products from local farms

Our Executive Chef Allan Rupert, and Chef de Cuisine Jason Clark hand select all of the partner farms to provide a wide range of the area's best harvests. We are a certified PA Preferred Restaurant because we believe in quality ingredients grown right here in our Commonwealth.

We want to create a memorable dining experience complimented by the thriling sport of live thoroughbred racing.
See more Mountain View at Penn National Race Course details
181 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(181 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 181 reviews
5 stars
(62)
4 stars
(72)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(15)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(129)
  • good for groups(97)
  • special occasion(69)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • hot spot(20)
  • kid-friendly(15)
Mountain View at Penn National Race Course Reviews List
Review 1 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good but took really long to get it.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food was good but took a long time to get it. We did have a larger party (9) but it took about 75 mins to get it and some were colder. We enjoyed the horse races so that distracted us in realize just how long it took. Overall, the food was great just slow in getting it. Waitress was friendly and helpful."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a nice meal while we watched the races. It was very enjoyable as always. We come here often and we will continue to come here for a relaxing night out."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Have had several meals at this restaurant because we enjoy horse racing, we always have to wait an extremely long time for our meals. As a customer service manager I take notice each time to waiter confusion seeing them discuss the who-what and where and also the apology to customers on help shortages.... On a positive the meals are typically an b-plus."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Chef has made big changes in Resturant

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have dined at Mountain view several times in the past couple years and it was ok, but nothing special. Now the New Chef( Jason Clark, former Chef of Final Cut) has made some incredible changes to the restaurant.
The Menu has some great appetizers and Entree's that are very creative and will melt in your mouth with delicious flavors.
I' am a big fan of Meatballs and have try them in many restaurants. The Mountain View stuff mozzarella cheese meatballs appetizer are the best I ever had.
My Wife had the Potato soup for an appetizer and the Chicken and dumplings as the entrée. She was very pleased with both dishes.
I had the scallops stuffed with crab meat for the entrée and it was very good.
The services has improved a 100% from what it was before. From the time we sat down and until we received our check we had someone wait on us and check to make sure everything was ok. The timing of the food was perfect between appetizer and entrée.
We had a glass of wine with our meal and it was very good for the money, but it would be nice to have some higher end bottle options at reasonable price if your celebrating a special occasion.
If you never dined at Mountain view before, try it and if you have dined here and was disappointed give it another chance."
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Changes

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Things changed since I was at this restaurant. My favorite appetizer, nachos, changed to, corn chips with a little chilli underneath. Once our party tasted them we decided not to order anything else and sent them back. Was so disappointed. Really enjoyed the horse races, which saved our evening out."
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Night Out at the Races

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had an excellent night watching the races from the restaurant.
View was great, food was good and the access to betting machines was awesome.
Try it sometime. I think that you will be pleased with the service and atmosphere.
"
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary Dinner & Fun

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have never had a problem with a reservation we made. The restaurant is always clean and inviting. The food is great. The fun is being able to watch the horse races while and after we eat. Our table is always with a great view of the horses. I would recommend Mountain View to anyone or group expecting and wanting to have a good time!"
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Third time was not a charm.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Disappointed with the over all dining experience. The service was horrible, food was so/so. We had a group of six and had an automatic 20% gratuity added to the bill. The waiter did so not deserve 20%. We waited for food for 45 minutes and the waiter seemed flustered... I was celebrating my 40th birthday and felt disappointed since we have been here two other times and never had any issues...
I had someone call me to just make sure we were still coming. I let her know that we wanted a table close to the finish line with a betting table. We ended up having to move our table since this was not done. The restaurant was not packed so I don't understand why our wishes were not met.
The horse races as always were entertaining. But overall that was the highlight of our evening."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We waited an hour and 20 minutes for our food!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our meals were good, just not hot, and the steak was to be served medium rare and it came out well. They offered to replace it, but who wants to wait another hour+!"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As always I had a good time at Mountain View. Food was good. Missed some of the regular items that used to be on the menu, but was explained how the new menu is working, so just have to come back to see what they add next time!! Our server was very nice and did a good job. Actually all of the people that helped with our service were friendly and helpful. The view of the track is great and it is very easy to place bets. All in all I enjoy coming to the restaurant and plan on coming back in the near future!"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

service was very slow, food cold.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had slow service, food was dry and not hot had to hail someone over for a water refill.
Overall just not very good.
"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We been a couple times and our server Susie remembered us and was over-the-top pleasant such a gem. The food is always good and the selection on the wine list is incredible."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Menu doesn't fit the venue

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu and style of food was totally changed and was not updated on the website.
The menu was more bistro / gourmet style and less "fun" and basic food which is great for
spending a couple of hours while enjoying the races. Fancy food is fine if it's prepared well -
all of the dishes we tried were awful - truly awful.
Tyler, our server was super - his tremendous service was the only reason we didn't walk out after the nasty nachos"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Fun for betting and racing, but below average food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dining at Mountain View is fun if you enjoy betting on the races and being able to watch while you dine. Unfortunately, the service was very slow, and the food was poor. Our server was very nice, and did his best, but the kitchen service took forever. Two of the people in our party ordered burgers cooked medium, and while one was cooked correctly, the other was served rare. Another one of our meals literally came out after everyone else in our party was finished eating (our server told us there had been a mistake in preparation). We were disappointed, and felt that for the price, it definitely was not worth it. Although we enjoyed the opportunity to dine while betting on the ponies, we likely will not dine there again."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wow! What a turn for the worse. This year the restaurant hired a new chef who decided to make the restaurant more fancier. He shrunk the portion sizes and increased prices. And you have to have a degree to read the menu. The appetizers were just horrible. And we were about to leave but the manager assured us the dishes will be better. And yes they were. We will be going back but we will be doing the buffet first then watching the races from above."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

excellent server-side gad a great mannerism.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"No better date than drinking and eating while betting on ponies! View was awesome, privacy was great and service was outstanding.
The only negative was my steak was overcooked twice- but I split my dates dinner which was delicious!
"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Racing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a nice table near the window. Very nice evening of dining and horse racing."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor meal on Sat Sept 26,2015

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came to the dining room to celebrate a 50th birthday. It was not a celebration for your dining room whatsoever! Our server was accommodating to our needs. However we placed an order for soup that did not come until the meals were served. One meal was sent back it came out med rare and was ordered med well. Another meal had to be sent back twice! The person had special dietary needs. First time it was sent back they only removed an item she could not eat. Second time they left a spread on that the woman could not eat as well. It took a good extra 30 minutes for a sandwich. It was comped but not the point. Pretzel appetizers were cold. I have been there when it was FAR more busy than it was Sat night. Will be a LONG time before we return."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food When You Get It

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Reservations and seating were very fast. View of the track was nice. Took entirely too long to get our food. Over half hour just to get soup, then the appetizers, and finally the entree. Almost 3 hours to eat dinner."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding features, great service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food at Mountainview was wonderful. I had the chef's features which were reasonably priced. From start to finish the whole meal left me wanting more. I would definitely recommend this place for foodies as well as horse racing fans. The server Laken was great, very accomodating"
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A great evening with my grandaughter.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A very nice dinner watching the horse races. A most enjoyable evening. No reason to rush the night is yours."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great entertainment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"1st time at the track. Loved the restaurant...great view of the track... Good food, not over priced... Service was terrific."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The best place to have a meal and watch thoroughbred racing. Service provided by Amber was excellent."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good and bad

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"great setting with added enjoyment of horse racing---great service--food was only average--prices only fair"
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mountain View at Penn National Race Course
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>