Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Match Works Tavern Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Match Works Tavern

Come visit us in the historic Match Works Building for a truly unique culinary and social experience in a "casual atmosphere with serious food". Founder and Executive Chef Tom Quick is a graduate of California Culinary Academy in San Francisco. His culinary skills are an eclectic fusion of American, Asian and European cuisine. If you liked Epiq, you're sure to love his Match Works Tavern.
24 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(24 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(13)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • romantic(9)
  • good for groups(6)
  • great for outdoor dining(3)
Match Works Tavern Reviews List
Review 1 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Matchworks Tavern more than tavern food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"for a very relaxing, romantic setting to unwind after hectic week, enjoy the peace, sip some vino, enjoy conversation where you don't have to shout, and be served by entertaining professional wait staff... a most excellent selection of entrees. We had the duck and lamb chops... most excellent, and in good portions. Shared the cheesecake which was just right after the meal. Don't be afraid to spend as the cost is high, but worth the experience. Enjoy in any season (but it may be louder in summer when bands are playing)."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place, never disappointed.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Short ribs are divine! Every time I've been here I've been wowed; I recommend this restaurant to all my friends."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

building history was best part.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Other than the great company of our party (total of 6) and the history of the building, our dinner was pretty bad. The waitress was fine, but the food took forever. We placed our appetizer order and food order together. Almost within 10 minutes after drink orders. No special instructions, and the place was empty, maybe two to three other tables and they looked like they had been in for awhile. It took an hour just to get our appetizers, which was only two cups of soup and the potato skins and nachos. Almost an hour later for entrees, the duck special tasted old and had aftertaste of stale old frying oil the lamb meatloaf another special was bland the other items okay, nothing to write home about. For the cost of the food I would expect more, not in quantity but taste. I paid like a lower mid range fine dining, but food quality was like a Applebee, and slow getting the food. Three hours from start to finish. We won't be back."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great menu selection, deliciois gormet food,

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had attentive service, the food was fantastic and our wait staff was pleasantly attentive. My only complaint was that the dining room was very cold, although the wait staff did provide a small space heater. I would return and definitely come for a special occasion. We were the only 3 guests in the entire dining room."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

EXCELLENT!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had reservations so no waiting. The food was excellent and the service was also excellent. My highest recommendations!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brrr

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Charming restaurant, Ginny is a great server. But the 4 in our party were all very
cold. A space heater helped, but not much.
"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food in a unique atmosphere (an old refurbished match factory). We love it."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently excellent food, great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've been a loyal patron of Matchworks since its opening, so I may be a bit bias. With that being said, the restaurant has never disappointed and is very accommodating to those with special dietary needs ( myself having celiacs disease.) The New Years Eve menu was very similar to last years, but it was a great menu so I had no problem with that what so ever. I got a gluten-free variation of the crab-stuffed flounder and their Tuscan beef soup. The soup was mind-blowing! Hardy amounts of lean beef, a good quantity of vegetables, perfectly cooked. The broth itself is extremely flavorful, I could have that by itself and be completely satisfied. The flounder was amazing as well, lobster chunks topping the sauce-laden tender fish."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Match Works Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

To kill for

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a special place to gather with friends. The atmosphere is a kick back type of place yet very nicely decorated. All the employees are friendly and cooperative with a smile. They go out of their way to make you feel like you have a friend here that you can come and talk to. The food, prepared by Tom Quick, is the best tasting experience I have had since leaving New York City 35 years ago. The drinks are well endowed and are very well mixed by an expert bartender. When we were there, during Christmas week, we almost had the place to ourselves. I'm sure when others discover its goodness it won't remain that way. If you haven't tried this place, do not pass go, just go straight to reservations now before it gets so packed you won't be able to get in."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Match Works Tavern
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
11 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic