Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Marche du Sud Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Marche du Sud

Marché du Sud is inspired by markets of the Mediterranean region and their gastronomic specialties.

We are a gourmet French market, restaurant, bakery, and wine bar all under one roof.

Toward the front of Marché du Sud are homemade croissants, breads, pastries and tarts.

As you move along, our ceiling height wooden shelves are filled by gourmet olives, couscous, condiments, and soups you name it, we have it.

Toward the back cases of cheeses and charcuterie responsible for our nine variations of French pizzas.
56 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(56 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(20)
  • great for brunch(16)
  • great for lunch(16)
  • great for outdoor dining(10)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • good for groups(8)
Marche du Sud Reviews List
Review 1 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Objecting to arbitrary tip of 20%

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was better then average. Service was proper, but a smile would have been nice. Confusion about reservations!? I had sent an e-mail for the table and requested a specific Champagne for the guest of honor ( her birthday and a surprise gathering). When the bill came there was a big circle under a 20% tip with the word "Merci". As is customarily done I sent my credit card and expected to add the Tip myself. Instead the bill came back with the tip and the total all included, which I find deplorable and shocking. In French it is said "a l'appreciation du client" for tip meaning " according to the client's apprecition". I would have given the 20% and left something for the waitress but I did not appreciate beign told what to give for tips! The customer must always be given a choice rather than be dictated what to give! Regrettable because the evening could have been better."
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hard seats, no ambiance and awful salad.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect lunch spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The French flatbread pizzas were terrific. Just the right size to be filling but not heavy, and full of flavor. The brie and honey with pancetta was an unexpectedly good flavor combination. The burger was well-portioned and perfectly cooked. We enjoyed sitting on the patio--quiet and comfortable . We'll definitely be going again."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The garden area is nice, the mini pizza was excellent. My main dish, the mussels were good but not special. If they still had the seafood pizza on the menu I would have ordered it and raved about the food. Unfortunately, when they revised their menu they removed this item."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

just ok...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I really wanted to sit on the patio when I made the reservation. I planned well in advance. However, when I arrived, they told me that they closed the patio due to a private party. I understand that, I would have booked it for another night... We were then forced to sit uncomfortably at the bar.
They did have a nice wine selection..."
Dined on 8/21/2013
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Went for oyster happy hour on Sunday .

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food, Great Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was an amazing experience receiving such amazing service in this quaint little location, no frivolous or overbearing waitress, gave us just the right of space and advice in making our selections. She did not try and push the highest priced items, nor did she dismiss us outright when we asked for some time to decide between our first and our second course order. It was my wifes birthday, and they surprised us with a beautiful and tasty little cake. All in all, it was an experience that I would definetely reccomend again!!"
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our first time here. Will definitely be back. Great, great food in an adorable restaurant with an attentive staff."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the best service and the food was great. Would recommend to others and will definitely go again."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

First Time, Shouldn't Be the Last Time

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I selected this restaurant after reading a recent NYT article that mentioned the restaurant, but which was really much more about an around the corner pre-1800 structure that is currently the Mount Vernon Hotel Museum. After reading more on the restaurant web-site, I thought it was worth a try. My wife and I had a half dozen oysters, each $1.50 during the weekend happy hour and they were fresh, firm, and tasty. Our friends both had the Provencal soup, which got one thumbs up and one thumbs down. The Alsatian pizza looked inventive, but no one ordered one. Each of the four of us got a different entree: mussels, salmon, and to be honest, I am not sure what the other two were. No one raved, nor gave poor reviews. We followed with a cheese plate, and a creme brulee. All were tasty and to order again. I selected a fairly expensive Burgundy to share from the Cote D'Or, which did not disappoint and totally out-did the several red wine choices available by the glass which two of the party had afterwards. The service was a bit unpredictable, tho' pleasant and we liked the atmosphere (we ate between the bar area and the covered room in the garden). Not a typical area for us to dine out, tho' will be a nice walk across the Queensboro Bridge from work when the weather improves. We'll try again and aim for the evening when couscous are on tap."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice lite spot for lunch.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Daringly titled menu choices where the prose is much more interesting than the dish. Safe, tasty and solid but not up to the expectations raised by the descriptors. The pizzas (tartes flambees) were delectable. A big hit. The champagne was fantastic ( feuillatte)."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nice staff, below average food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff was lovely and accommodating, but couldn't make-up for the poor quality of the food. My husband had a steak and the quality of the meat was so poor that we sent it back. I had the cod and it was average, a bit dry and not well seasoned. I wanted to like this place because you could tell they were trying but it just wasn't good!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and great service! Thanks very much!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had our annual lab lunch at Marche du Sud and it was a wonderful experience! The food was fantastic and the service was well paced. Thanks very much! Looking forward to visiting you again :)"
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Price vs. Quality

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The description of the menu sounded decadent and appealing, but the taste of the food did not quite live up to what the menu seemed. When I read the ingredients in the dishes it sounded of high quality which made sense for the pricing to be on the expensive side, but the taste of the food was just good not really great."
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was good but not great. Wait staff was very friendly and helpful."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good no-fuss French fare

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This made for a perfect lunch on a cold winter's day. Fresh soup au pistou, Le burger with Provençal frites, a tasty risotto redolent of wild mushrooms and duck... Heart warming! Special kudos to our server Mickael, an ex-pat from Alsace who made a fine experience even better!"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Marche du Sud
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pizza alsatienne

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The french-style pizza features crispy thin crust, delicate cheese, mushrooms, chicken and other goodies -- not tomato sauce, ot mozarlle. A nice change -- and the star offering here. Salads also firt-rate.
Service is pleasant —a la francaise— but leisurely. Very leisurely.
"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Marche du Sud
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
19 out of 21 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic