Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Monaghan's on the Hill Reviews List

Monaghan's on the Hill

Located in the Oakland hills in the cozy Woodminster district, we offer a progressive California cuisine in our dining room, and a fun family atmosphere in our sports lounge and private patios. Our menus are designed to please the "foodie's" palate as well as the casual diner looking for a quick bite. We deliver comfort food with style . . . and a smile!
See more Monaghan's on the Hill details
52 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(25)
  • great for outdoor dining(22)
  • vibrant bar scene(21)
  • good for groups(18)
  • kid-friendly(12)
  • great for lunch(8)
Monaghan's on the Hill Reviews List
Review 1 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food good, service friendly, but very slow.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bad food - worse service

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Decided to try a new place for dinner and after looking at the menu, I made reservations. We were seated quickly, however, that was the last thing that went right. We placed our order for French Onion soup for an appetizer and beef short ribs and rib eye steak for the entree. The soup was edible, but nothing special. The steak was extremely tough and had a lot of grizzle and was pretty much inedible. It was probably the worst steak I have had. I ordered iced tea to drink with dinner and when the waiter refilled the glass, he refilled it with root beer instead of iced tea. When I approached the waiter about it, he told me that that was iced tea (despite the amount of foam and the obvious aroma of root beer coming from the glass). He said that was all the tea they had and if I didn't want it, he would get me something else. If the waiter can't tell the difference between iced tea and root beer, he should be in a different line of work. I would not go back for any reason."
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good neighborhood spot.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good spot when you're looking for a neighborhood restaurant where you can get a drink and have a hot meal. Pretty reliable food and mostly good service."
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed our first time visit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I like the fact that you can either sit and eat in the bar, which can be quite noisy and lively, or be able to converse with your dinner partner in the dining room where it's quieter, and the fireplace adds a nice touch on cold nights. Our server was very friendly and helpful too."
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love my neighborhood and this fun establishment!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 10/15/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been wanting to try this neighborhood restaurant and unfortunately I did with out of town visitors.....it was embarrassing. It was an nice night, so though we'd sit outside. My backyard is better. Inside wasn't much better. Food was mediocre. My glass of Pinot was warm and was clearly past its prime, but didn't bother sending it back. I could go on. Bottom line, spend your money anywhere else."
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friendly Neighborhood Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Greet place to go for happy Hour! Great food, great prices, great outdoor seating and most of all , very friendly and helpful staff!"
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There was a Taco Tuesday special, but we just ordered from the bar menu. The pozole was good, but slightly spicy and the pulled pork nachos were great. Definitely will come back here."
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love the place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Some friends introduced my boyfriend and I to Monaghans about a year ago and we have loved every experience at this gem. I am in love with their friend pickles! And have never been let done by any other dish. Pretty decent happy hour , love the ambiance."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

warm evening option

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was very warm in my kitchen which made my desire to cook nil. Thought about restaurants close by and decided on Monaghan's - hadn't been there in a while - the dining room was empty - so we sat in the bar - my husband ordered the sliders with fries and i had a chicken sandwich with fries - we were both pleased with our selections - my sandwich was perfect - good bun - nicely cooked piece of chicken - huge slice of tomato and large sweet red onion slice and lettuce - just the way I like it. Hardly ever eat french fries, but we ate every last one because they were good and crisp. The bar was too noisy to actually have a conversation, but it didn't bother us much, we just yelled to each other. The service was excellent - wish I knew the lovely young ladies who served us. We'll be returning to Monaghan's on the Hill. Linda and Jim"
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

not prepared

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A really good band was there and packed the house. the staff was overwhelmed so the service was really bad."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hope next time is better

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We usually like this restaurant. It is close and the food is good. We forgot it was taco Tuesday. The menu was not the usual fare that we prefer. Tacos were soft tortillas, with your selection of meat, no cheese, or extra toppings...just ok. Some of things on the menu were not available, but the wait staff was very cordial and apologetic for those things. It wasn't too busy, but it took a while to get our order together. Out of the 4 of us, I was the only one to have the burger...it was great and the fries were plentiful. I shared them with the others. We took out of town guests to this place, and had to say we were disappointed in our selection that night. We will come again and hope on a different night, we will have our usual entrees, that we like. The lamb shank is wonderful and the steak is, too."
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A waste of time. Almost ruined our evening out.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We walked out of this restaurant We ordered as soon as the server came. Then after waiting 20 just to receive water and silverware on the table, we waited another 30 for any food to arrive . Server was no where to be found. We finally gave up and left. This place is totally understaffed and poorly managed. Don't waste your time."
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Chef...New Menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you were tired of the old menu, Come on in and try the NEW dishes,"
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very Good Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have always thought of Monaghan's as a bar that has a restaurant. Our dinner last night was very good. The Arugula salad was very fresh and tasty. My wife had Lamb Shanks, and I had the special Prime Rib. Both were great tasting. We had Vodka Martini's before dinner that were a very generous pour. Service by Noel was very good, but slow. The restaurant was busy, but not packed. The wait staff seemed confused and overloaded. There appeared to be only 2 servers. I noticed other people who arrived before us were getting impatient about how long it took for there food to be served. There was a band playing in the restaurant that was loud and playing dance music . That was probably the biggest draw back. But, it is what you should expect in a place where a bar and entertainment is important, especially on a Saturday night."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Monahans is a great place for families

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Monahans is great for sports enthusiasts, children, outdoor dining and on Saturday night music and sometimes dancing to good music. The menu accommodates all types of palates and the staff and waiters are wonderful and the chef is skilled."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Would not recommend

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was poor, food was expensive and not at all tasty ! I would not recommend it to anyone ! Please do not go ! I ordered mussels and they gave me clams ! Save your money - difficult to park 1"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Monaghan's on the Hill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Out of Food, didn't bother to call

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant somehow ran out of all of their food, and after waiting about 10 minutes at an empty hostess podium, someone came up to inform us of the fact they had no food.
It would have been nice to have been informed that they couldn't serve us before we drove 20 minutes to the restaurant and wasted gas money."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Monaghan's on the Hill
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
10 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic