Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis Reviews List

Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis

Welcome to Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant OpenTable site.
Pancho Villa has a vast menu of authentic Mexican cuisine. From tacos and enchiladas to soups and tamales, Pancho Villa's has it all.

The restaurant is open from 10:00 am until 2:00 am, 365 days out of the year. Pancho Villa's is the perfect place to go for sporting events, parties, or a fun night out. Please take a look at our menu and stop by today!

Thank you very much for the support offered by all our clients to Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant, we are located in the South of Minneapolis.
See more Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis details
28 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(28 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(15)
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • special occasion(9)
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • kid-friendly(3)
Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis Reviews List
Review 1 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/28/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent for large parties!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wait staff was fun and very accommodating when our reservation number went over the original size. They kept the margaritas flowing and every one loved the place."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/24/2013
 2010
Dined on 2/24/2013
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/24/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food excellent service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I ordered the chicken tortilla soup for lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The broth was flat, the chicken was bland. I was expecting a sour & spicy soup and did not get that. The server was very friendly and surprisingly the place was "dead". I have had better tortilla soup elsewhere and if I go back, I will order the enchiladas."
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

service disappointment

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I invited a group for my boyfriend's 21st. It was a fun experience but it was a school night and I felt bad for keeping my friends for two hours since we had to wait forever to even order, two people got their food after everyone else had finished, it took another unnecessary amount of time for them to get us the checks and collect our cards.. and it was not that busy. The birthday boy did not even get his order in the first time because he was forgotten and had to go up and tell the waitress his order. My girlfriends would have appreciated knowing about the 2 for 1 happy hour on margaritas before they spent 9 dollars each on mojitos. It is a fun way to celebrate a 21st other than that with the Sombrero, flaming shot, and pretty good cake."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great first experience !!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great service and great food. First time coming here and won't be the last! We went as a birthday group and they made sure to make him feel special. Got to wear a sombrero and got sung to by a bunch of the workers with instruments and all! Then he got to spin the wheel and he won a free meal so we will be back as soon as we can. Great find and will recommend to anyone"
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good food, cold everything else

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for lunch on a Saturday and there was a good amount of seating which was nice, we did not have to wait. The place smelled heavily of cleaning products. I thought that it should maybe smell of delicious food being cooked, but I guess it means the place is clean. That is something I guess. The server came over and asked where we parked and then told us that we cannot park in the lot. Bad idea to have people wait until they are seated before asking where we parked. We parked on the street so they were fine with that. Apart from that, the restaurant was freezing cold. I kept my coat on and so did most of the rest of the people I was dining with. If I come back in July and it is still that temp, then that would feel amazing, but when it is still cold outside, I like my restaurants to be heated properly. The server came back with waters that tasted like the cleaning products they use. I admit that I like a clean restaurant, but not when it leaks in to the water. We ordered food and it came in a timely manner which was nice. The food was good overall. My pork was a tad dry and one of my fellow diners did not like the chips, but other than that, the food was yummy. The salsa was great and so were the tortillas. However, the server was not very pleasant. She did not smile or really even pretend to care we were there. She rushed about and basically went through the motions of being a server. When your income is based off of the generosity of strangers, I would consider being nice to them. She never came to give us more chips even though they were supposedly free refills and only refilled out water glasses once despite that fact that we could have used them to be refilled at least 2 times or not 3. Overall, not a bad dining experience, but in the future I would not stay, I would take the food to go."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointed in dining experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Visited Pancho Villa at 7p last Friday and was very disappointed with the overall experience: -
-Despite the restaurant being mostly empty upon our arrival, we were seated RIGHT next to another table that was already occupied for some reason
-We were not told that the only Margarita's that were 2 for 1 were the house Margarita's, so we expected our specialty Margarita's to be 2 for 1, and they were not
-Ordered taco's with shrimp and they arrived with Carnitas
-4th person in our party received their entree 9 minutes after the other 3 of us had, with no apology or comp'd items from the staff, despite the late arrival
"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant - Minneapolis
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic