Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York Reviews List

Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York

Located adjacent to the hotel lobby, The Lobby Lounge is the perfect place to enjoy light fare, afternoon tea, or late night desserts with dramatic views of Central Park and the city skyline.
See more Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York details
67 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(67 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
(36)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(40)
  • special occasion(23)
  • great for lunch(22)
  • romantic(14)
  • great for brunch(12)
  • hot spot(8)
Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York Reviews List
Review 1 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

not for afternoon tea

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"note that to book afternoon tea you must call them directly. I was not aware of this but still stayed to enjoy the view and have some very expensive bites. But you pay for the ambiance and view so it isn't unwarranted per se."
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2002
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 3/19/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/06/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Why pay $30 each to go up a building like the Empire State, where you'll be jostled for 20mins before you have to come down, when you can come here, sit by a window with a staggering view and enjoy a nice lunch? It's a no brainier to come here if that's the alternative.
Overall it's good but not great (but the. You're not paying for great). Food was fine but won't knock your socks off. Service was absolutely fine. View was breathtaking so make sure you request a window seat when you book (and do book, don't just turn up).
It is a very peaceful, pleasant way to take in the New York skyline without being hounded by tourists and frankly very affordable too."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Stunning venue

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Fab food, fab service and stunning views over Columbus circle and Central Park. Was the perfect venue for a relaxing lunch."
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/10/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Absolute stunning view over Central Park

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Stunning view over Central Park, very good food and drinks and most friendly service."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/20/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great View and Gourmet Bar Snacks

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2002
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Great view of Central Park and Columbus Circle from the 35th Floor in a comfortable setting. The food appears to be "bar food" but tastes gourmet. Great options for a casual lunch, or snacks with drinks. I'd recommend to anyone wanting a few minutes of downtime while touring the Big Apple. Prices are a bit on the high side, but what you'd expect from Mandarin Oriental."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too much trouble for too much snobbery....

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Afternoon tea for me brings up so many dear memories of close friends and family enjoying sweet moments of warmth and comfort together. I've also lived and worked in London and have enjoyed some of the best tea services in the world. Unfortunately, the Mandarin just didn't cut the shine. It was adequate but not up to the standard they are so desperately trying to achieve. When I arrived for our reservation I was told they don't actually serve the afternoon tea menu until 2:30. When I asked if they could seat us for the later seating since that's clearly what I was asked for when I booked, the maître'd reluctantly explained he had to ask his manager because they are 'very busy' (there were literally 3 people in there so give me a break). Anyway, the poor scared man asked his manager and I was 'granted' my request. When we came back we were seated promptly but I noticed there were several seats open on the window overlooking the park. When I asked if I could sit in one of those instead I was told they were all reserved. However, over 2 hours later I noticed they were not all taken. I think they are just pre-reserved for guests of the hotel which was NOT impressive. Anyway, I digress. The tea came and the service was adequate. However, the tea was not hot enough and got colder and colder as the time went by. Sandwiches were pre-selected for me but there were only 4 and I didn't get to choose what I wanted. The desserts were served traditionally and were good, but nothing outstanding. Same with the scones which were tiny. Bottom line, I just felt the place lacked warmth. It was not inviting and for the most part I felt like the Mandarin had set up this pretend caste system that was designed to make people either feel intimidated or empowered. I really didn't like the vibe at all and will not be returning anytime soon. It was just too much for too much snobbery."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Terrible food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were only given a small lunch menu. After we ordered noticed different food arriving at other tables which looked more appealing; so obviously we had not been made aware of all lunch options. When food arrived looked very unappetising and was poor on taste. One meal was sent back and a chicken dish selected. The meal took such a long time to arrive that the rest of the party had finished. This dish was no better, as the vegetables were raw, and was sent back; so no lunch was had by this member of the party. What a let down as expected something much better for a five star hotel. The only saving grace was the view from the lounge."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 10/24/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful view, service and ambiance.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

High Tea

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I took a friend for her annual HIgh Tea birthday celebration. We've been to several other place for High Tea. All are relatively expensive, but it's just a nice treat for a special occasion. Comparing High Tea at the Mandarin to other places, I would say the ambience and service were wonderful, but the portions, even for High Tea, were ridiculously small. In other venues, there were generally 3 large scones, enough for leftovers to take home. Here, the 2 scones were about the size of a quarter. Sandwiches were equally skimpy. So while we enjoyed our afternoon, we left hungry. And one other thing, it was freezing. When I asked if the AC could be turned down, they actually brought me a baby blanket, so it must be a common complaint. My guess is that you're better off with the regular menu, which while a bit expensive, is more filling. If you're going for the view, ambience and service, the Mandarin will be your cup of tea, just not "High Tea"."
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Absolutely fabulous!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very nice experience. I decided to have tea and a light breakfast with a friend. The host and server were extremely nice. We had a gorgeous view. Everyone was pleasant and the hotel was overall clean and calm. Will definitely come back again!"
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place for meeting friends.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I met a few friends there for lunch. Though known of as more a spot for tourists, it's a great place for locals too! It's close to the subway and right next to the shopping mall. It's a very relaxing place to sit and talk, with a wonderful view too. The three of us ordered plates to share. It ended up being pricier than we thought it would be, but everything we ordered was delicious. It wasn't too crowded the day we were there, so it was a nice atmosphere. We spotted a well known actress arriving there as we were leaving."
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

April 2015

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for tea service. Service was great, view was great. Food wasn't what I expected at all for the mandarin oriental... Sandwiches were terrible and the desserts so disappointing. Brought a friend from it of own to come here and regretted it."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing view and great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As stated above I gave the lobby lounge 5 stars. We had a reservation and I requested a table with a view which we were given and sat early. The food and ambiance are great as are the attentive wait staff. We had a 14 and 12 year old who were celebrating birthdays... They brought out a candle in two separate desserts beautifully made up!"
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Manhattan delight!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Every time I come to NY, I make time to go to the Lobby Lounge. It's a perfect setting with Central Park as your view. Everything we ordered was fantastic and delicious. Service was superb!"
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful view for Lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and beautiful views of Midtown Manhattan!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Is a good place elegant a quite for spend a bruch"
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful dining experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All the small plates we tried were perfect. The service was friendly and helpful, yet left us to chat and enjoy the food. We will definitely be back again. Thanks for a wonderful time!"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Outrageous - $15USD fee for wifi password!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were most disappointed with our recent visit as we had expected excellent service with a great view. Although we requested a window seat (the whole point of going there) we were told they were reserved and even when a table vacated soon after we had been seated elsewhere no attempt was made to move us closer to the window. The menu was limited as expected but we were really only going for the view and to see if it was worth staying at the hotel during our next trip to Manhattan.
When we ordered we asked for the wifi password; as international tourists with no data roaming, we had got used to doing this for free throughout New York, and were outraged to be told there was a fee of $15USD. We only wanted to check emails on our phone before the food arrived; we thought this was ridiculous. As experienced global travellers we have never been charged in a restaurant for wifi before - so on point of principle we cancelled our order and left. A simple lunch/snack and drink each would have cost $75 plus tax and service - hardly cheap, so to request this amount on top of what would have amounted to 5 mins wifi time was surprising and disappointing.
The manager on duty handled our complaint with grace and patience and agreed that it was an unnecessarily high charge; it would seem that the staff often receive complaints and they welcomed the feedback on open forum. Maybe the management of the Mandarin Oriental may be less short sighted and more welcoming to potential future guests - who knows?
The whole experience was dreadful! Not what we would expect of such a great chain."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Lobby Lounge at Mandarin Oriental, New York
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

some staff better than others

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"i came here to celebrate a special occasion with a friend, which i mentioned to the hostess. she could not have been nicer or more accommodating. although there wasn't a window seat available, she sat me in another section until a table became available. my only complaint is that when i was in the first area away from the window, i sat there for 20 minutes with no drink order or even a glass of water. it wasn't until i flagged down one of the four waiters that continually walked by me without making any sort of contact that i got my drink. thankfully, when we switched to the other section, our server was prompt, attentive and very friendly. would highly recommend this as a secret spot with a great view"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>