Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cellar 56 Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Cellar 56

Located in the heart of Buckhead, Cellar 56's delectable menu is complemented by the flavorful selection of wines. Every palate is accommodated with the menu broken into food categories to include Land, Sea, Garden, and Sweets, each priced $5-$7. Cellar 56 works with local farms and dairies to bring the best and freshest ingredients to the table. Many of the wine selections are sourced from boutique wineries on small allocation to bring Spectator rated 90+ wines to the consumer starting at $24 a bottle and by the glass at $3 half and $6 full. The remaining wine choices are available by the bottle and include many favorites at various pricing.
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • notable wine list(22)
  • romantic(18)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • special occasion(14)
  • good for groups(12)
  • late-night find(10)
Cellar 56 Reviews List
Review 1 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing to write home about

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was very underwhelmed with this spot. The only good thing about it is you are able to get the code to Prohibition from the server. If you sit outside, be prepared to be overwhelmed with cigarette smoke while you eat."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/22/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love coming to Cellar 56 before going to one of the comedy shows at the Improv upstairs. Cellar 56 serves small plates but the food is outstanding. We always order a bunch of appetizers and just share everything. Service is superb and the staff is always friendly. This restaurant also serves amazing cocktails and is popular for its wine selection."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cellar 56 is a Fun wine bar with a great menu.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was not impressed at all. Restaurant was nearly empty at 8p on a Friday night which was the first sign. The food was not good (we had Mac & Cheese that was chewy, lamb that was flavorless and some fried pork egg roll like things that were fair). Music was terrible and too loud. Only decent part of the evening was our server, Anthony. I would not go back."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food. Tired many items.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent :) food items were hot and tasted great. Best little lamb chops I have ever had. Wine lest was excellent. The red blend and the Moscato were Awesome :) will definitely be going back. Thanks"
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointment.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"7PM Reservations when we arrived. Valet parking only, complimentary. Upon arrival, only 2 people in entire restaurant on a Friday night at 7PM. Bar empty. We were seated within arm's length of the 2 people already dining. Why? Not only were the 2 people on one side, but the computer and kitchen door where the wait staff stand was to our right.
You would think we could have had a table that would have allowed us to have a more intimate experience. Had it been crowded, or if we did not have a reservation, would have been a different story. We ordered wine from New Zealand, our favorite in whites. Not great. I ordered Caesar Salad, which also was not great. The small plate of steak/mashed potatoes and scallop/corn was very good.
Since we were not comfortably seated, we decided to cut the experience short and asked for the check. I would not go back."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Gem!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Cellar 56 exceeded our expectations. Great food and wine - plus the service was outstanding!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worst service and management

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was by far the worst restaurant experience I have had. By 8pm they were already out of several dishes that we had come there for. The waitress never apologized and just that she doesn't make the rules. We asked to speak the manager and he never apologized either. He actually had the nerve to say he could get us a reservation at another restaurant if we wanted to leave. Don't waste your time here. The food we did get to eat was average. Management definitely needs to change. I never write reviews but I had to for this terrible experience."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A lot of Wines!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were rushed by the server to order as soon as we were seated as the kitchen was going to close soon but he did not understand that he told us once and that was good enough, secondly do not show me your watch saying time is too short and then rudeness came in by not answering questions properly and treating us like S**t.. Well we kept our cool giving him the benefit of the doubt that he might be having a bad day.. Anyway manager noticed and took over from there on without anyone of us complaining which seemed professional by him as he sensed an uncomfortable atmosphere. Well, he made our night by chatting and drinking with us and treating us to free dessert for my friend's birthday. He was awesome.. Good food and great for wine lovers!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

ambiance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place is a rare find. Very nice the staff where very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The ambiance was breath taking and the food was to die for. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

poor service rest good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"service was very inattentive and need improvement"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It was fairly good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have been to cellar 56 about 2 years ago. From what I recall, the experience was fairly comparable for both visits. We went during the Friday night dinner rush so it was understandably busy. It seemed like they were understaffed but our server did hustle and was very nice. The food was decent. We had a voucher for food which made it more enjoyable. I don't know that I would pay full price. My boyfriend is a picky eater and enjoyed the options on the menu.
The wine selections were decent although very few are offered by the glass.
Overall it was a decent experience but I am not in a big hurry to return.
"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good and Bad

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I would have to first say the service was excellent and the drinks (Jack and Coke, Tito's and Cranberry) were spot on, they brought us our tickets for the Atlanta Improv upstairs which was a nice convenience..
With that said the food was another story... Portion size is ridiculously small, and short rib I had was basically mediocre Pot Roast at best (room temp), the truffle potatoes were bland and not warm. My wife got one scallop and a spoon of corn. Hers was good just not really and entrée. We both had salad and dessert. The dessert was easily the best part of the entire meal."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and even better service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Enjoyed a terrific dinner at Cellar 56 before a show at the improve. Between my date and I, we tried five small plates and each was delicious. The Calamari is among the best we've ever had, Spinach Salad is top notch, and don't leave without trying the Krispy Kreme donut bread pudding. Service was outstanding. Highly recommended!!!"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Third time is not the charm

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have gone here three times now and we've had the same server every time. She disappears for long periods and the restaurant is NEVER busy when we arrive (typically a weekend night around 6:30-7:30). They have an extensive wine list, but very few that come by the glass and she is not knowledgeable or doesn't take the time to help recommend anything. They have decent tapas, but the prices and the service have finally proved why we should not go back here. In fact, the entire East Andrews District restaurant group is pretty poor in service and price. The only thing they have going for them is convenience to other happenings (we go to The Improv upstairs often and it's convenient to have dinner downstairs before the show)."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2010
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Cellar 56
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have gone to this restaurant for several years and this was our first disappointing visit. It seemed as if there were/are new owners who are getting used to their purchase. We will try it again, but give them a chance to get their bearings. The food was good but we were looking forward to the seasonal menu displayed on the website but was nonexistent."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cellar 56
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
17 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic