Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Weather Mark Tavern Reviews List

Weather Mark Tavern

Weather Mark Tavern is a neighborhood bar that invites indulgence at a great price. A must on Chicagoland's entertainment tour, this delightful nautical tavern and family restaurant is located just minutes from the Field Museum on Michigan Avenue.



An outstanding destination for lunch and dinner, Weather Mark Tavern's atmosphere is upscale fun for sailors and non-sailors alike. The food is delicious and the company even better. It's a perfect place to meet up with your friends, hear sailing yarns, network and prospect. Whether you're from the neighborhood or visiting Chicago's South Loop for the first time, you will want to stay, have dinner and party all night.
See more Weather Mark Tavern details
39 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(39 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • good for groups(14)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • kid-friendly(7)
  • great for brunch(6)
  • late-night find(5)
Weather Mark Tavern Reviews List
Review 1 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for dinner and brunch.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"After having dinner here several times, I took my family and others here for Brunch. The rum syrup was amazing. Great menu. Will definitely return!"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/17/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice place for brunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Held a women's brunch at this location - not very busy on a Saturday which was great! Was able to hold a conversation with my friends very easily. General brunch fare served. Street parking was not too difficult. Not near a train line (CTA Roosevelt is about 6 blocks away) but several CTA buses are available."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great pregame place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love going here before the Bears games. Great eggs benedict and drink specials."
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I picked this restaurant for their children's menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was decent and the beer list lengthy. Only issue was we ordered and then waited a long time for our food to arrive. (Other people came in after us and were served and left before us). This would not have been an issue if we had not been there with a 3 year old. Thankfully, the puppies on the patio and blackboard tables and chalk kept her entertained."
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Somewhat Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Arrived at 10:30. Restaurant opens at 10:30. Had to wait for kitchen to be prepared. They also changed their menu from what is online. So what I had my taste buds all set for was no longer a menu item. Someone wanted waffles and was told had to wait for it to heat up. I went for brunch but instead had lunch. Not too excited about my visit here."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Made reservations for 1:45. My daughter arrived early and said the rest of us were on the way from a huge public event that just ended. At 1:47 the manager asked my daughter to leave table and he gave it to another party. Our entire party arrived at 1:55 and the manager said we'd have to wait 1 hour for another table. Will never return to this establishment."
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Typical sports bar

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Typical sports bar with decent food and okay service. We went there in a pinch and it was just fine, not great but not totally disappointing."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not nautical and not nice

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Beside some photos on the wall, I would not call it a nautical bar. Large dimely lit space that could use some improvements. Really just a bar with some food. While limited menu, food itself was decent. Surprising lack of seafood however given the nautical theme."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We wIll go again when in Chicago!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't bother.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waitress was surly. Food was bland, boring and just not at all appetizing."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun with the coworkers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great spot to eat with coworkers. Fun environment."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Trivia Thursday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went here for Trivia Thursday, which also includes 50% off all appetizers. How can you go wrong with that deal! Food was great, service was good and bill was cheap. I left full and happy. I'll be going back every Thursday for fun trivia and great food."
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Pub food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good for bar/pub food. Sports bar atmosphere. Great service. Would go back."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Great Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were looking for a restaurant close to but not in the Loop, and Weather Mark Tavern was the perfect find. The atmosphere was very casual, service was great and the food was wonderful. We parked across the street, watched the Blackhawks game on a huge wide-screen TV, and had a good time with friends. We'd certainly recommend the restaurant to friends, particularly those looking for a spot away from the hustle and bustle of the Loop area."
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was a perfect place to bring my son (kid-friendly) and grandma. We enjoyed our delicious lunch and it was conveniently located close to our hotel."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood hangout

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Weathermark is a South Loop Chicago staple with solid food, big portions, a decent drink menu, and fair prices. It is not some foodie "gastropub" with upscale (and pricy) food or a trendy hipster hangout. Instead, it is a friendly and reliable local watering hole where you can comfortably meet with your friends and family, talk or watch a ball game on TV, have a decent burger (or a fish fry - all you can eat on Fridays) and a cold beer without breaking the bank. Usually has a nice mix of young couples on dates and families."
Dined on 11/14/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Weather Mark Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I was so beyond disappointed with this place!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I chose this place for my birthday gathering after seeing it on a list of Chicago's best brunch spots. I love trying new brunch places and this place seemed cute with the Nautical theme. But when I got there they were getting ready for a private event for that night and the place was a mess. I made sure to make a reservation on OpenTable as I knew I would have a group of about 8 with me. My table wasn't ready at the time of my reservation and the restaurant was pretty empty. We had a waitress with a horrible attitude who wasn't attentive at all. She barely took our orders and when the food came, most of it was wrong. The presentation of the food was awful too. I got a breakfast burrito and it was literally just the burrito on the plate. The only saving grace of this brunch was the $5 bloody mary's and Mimosa's. I would not recommend this place to anyone as it is off the beaten path (far from the Roosevelt Red Line stop) and not worth the trek. This was a huge disappointment for my birthday and I will not be back!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Weather Mark Tavern
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic