Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata

The Blue Point, established in 1987, is an upscale fresh seafood restaurant located in quaint and beautiful downtown Wayzata, right across the street from Lake Minnetonka. We are dedicated to providing only the freshest seafood, flown in daily. We specialize in creative comfort food, uniquely envisioned from a wide range of culinary influences. We feature an array of seafood, premium steaks, salads, homemade soups and non-seafood and vegetarian options, as well as our famous Key Lime Pie. Our menu is coupled with friendly, knowledgeable service and a thirteen-year Wine Spectator award-winning wine list.

We offer a range of comfortable dining atmospheres, ranging from the white table-clothed Wine Room, Key West and romantic Main dining room, to the more casual Oyster Bar with tables draped in green-checkered cloths. Our happy hour is unbeatable! We also offer private spaces for groups from 15 – 100 guests.

115 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(115 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 115 reviews
5 stars
(52)
4 stars
(40)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(69)
  • fit for foodies(53)
  • neighborhood gem(49)
  • romantic(47)
  • notable wine list(31)
  • good for groups(16)
Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata Reviews List
Review 1 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As always we had fantastic service and the best fresh fish in town!! It was our anniversary and once again they did not disappoint!"
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not so Good

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been to Blue Point before, and it was amazing. Not so much this time. Our server wasn't particularly friendly or helpful. The food was subpar, and though I didn't complain, you would think she would have noticed, and cared, that I didn't eat my salmon. After all, it was like $30.
We also requested that she box up the calamari, which she did, but she didn't include any of the sauce. What good is it without the sauce?
For $125 I was extremely disappointed. :("
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sorry......just average

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It had been a long time since we had been back to Blue Point, and this visit reminded us why. Nothing is really wrong, but not enough is really right enough to warrant the premium pricing. Very nice wine list, good, informed server, good, but unremarkable food and a $500 check for a party of 4."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, slow service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was really good, but it took a really long time to get our food for each round. Our waiter was servicing inside and outside, which might have led to the lack of service. We ran out of water and it took a long time for refills on our wine. Don't know if this is common for a Friday night, but it left something to be desired. Food was very good and fresh. Would try it again, but hope there is more attention from the service. When our waiter was there, he was excellent but I think he had too many tables."
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Been to Blue Pointe many times but hadn't been for approx a year. Was looking forward to the their mussels. Service was slow (understaffed) but when we finally ordered we were told they had run out of the mussels. We were disappointed but plan B was the oysters rockefeller and guess what? They were out of those too. This was at 7:30 on a Thursday night. My date asked if they were going to buy us a drink (half kidding)because of the inconvenience. The server was a little smug and said "We can't plan when our food will run out since it is fresh" so we can't do that." Hmmm. What we did order was very good . Funny, when it came time to pay the check and leave the tip the server told us that one round of drinks was on the house. Bad form."
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good food average service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Scallops and duck were excellent as usual. Service could have been much better. Shrimp risotto skimpy on the shrimp. Used plates not cleared, clean silverware not provided. Not very helpful with the menu either. I think we will try the Bloomington location next time."
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Seafood in the west metro

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One of our favorites in the area! We had Blue Point oysters that were clean, fresh, cold and meaty. At $2 per versus $3.75 for other oysters on the menu, they were the buy of the season. Grouper was prepared to perfection. Soft-shell crab was excellent. Wait staff are professional and on top of their game."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and service were fabulous! The restaurant decor is very "tired" though. I think you should consider doing some updating."
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Decisions, Decisions

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We go to Blue Point about 4-6 times a year. The service and food are always top notch! This visit we noticed quite a few new entrees, which made it especially difficult to decide what to have, as they all sounded wonderful. We asked for a recommendation from our server, Grant. He mentioned a few highlights and we then selected the; sole on top of a hash and shrimp with a risotto cake. IThe shrimp had a wonderful creamy flavorful sauce and the sole had a rich sauce with a hint of spice. Both entrees were good sized.
We started the meal with a half dozen mixed oysters that were super fresh and two of the beat salads. I wish Blue Point were closer to our house:)
"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Duck and Scallop entree

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We often go to Bluepoint for Happy Hour but recently went for dinner in the dining room. I had a craving for the Duck and Scallop entree which is served with two fabulous sauces. It's a treat! We always order the Bluepoint oysters but had Oysters Rockefeller instead. WOW! Very good. Use a spoon to get all the the sauce from the shell."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Tad bit disappointing...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I enjoy the ambiance and usually the food at Blue Point is excellent, however this visit was lacking and was very disappointing. The oysters were OK, but not very flavorful and the halibut was overdone. Everybody has off days... It won't prevent me from coming back."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Happy Hour

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We ended up in the bar where we met some friends having Happy Hour.
Never made it into dining Room for Dinner as we filled up on too many
appetizers. Great food and service. Bar is a little tight and many commented that they should expand that area. We will be back for dinner soon.
"
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ideal place for seafood lovers

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service, food, and atmosphere was perfect for a special occasion. Went on a Monday evening and it was nice and quiet so conversation wasn't hindered by nearby tables. The food met all expectations and makes me want to go back for more right now. I'll probably only make it to Blue Point once/year because of the prices but it will always be a memorable experience. A seafood lovers dream at Blue Point."
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Tale of Two Restaurants

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I reviewed Blue Point Bloomington a few weeks ago; BP Wayzata is its 'father.' Service is tops in both (thanks, Joshua & Mary!). Fine wine lists too. Bloomington is far ahead on quality of preparations. Our Japanese salad (wasabi peas, chopped veg, etc) was fine; so was the amuse guele (tomato soup!). The fish -- scallops, Pacific Coast "Dover Sole -- were good but overspiced, soupy, and with useless grits for the first, and bland for the second, with watery sole to boot (frozen fish that wasn't properly thawed, perhaps?). The side order of creamed spinach was first-rate. Main course also suffered from 'delayed delivery,' for which Joshua apologized (twice). The restaurant wasn't crowded, either. I see from earlier comments on BP Wayzata that such delays are not unknown. Perhaps the kitchen needs a shake-up?? Perhaps father could learn something from son?? (PS -- my recommendation would be 'maybe,' but you'll be taking your chances...)"
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2002
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2002
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, but noisy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Overall good experience , but very noisy. Service ok , but not exceptional"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome Seafood and Steaks

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great seafood and steaks. Bread pudding is out of this world good. Nice small restaurant."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

West Metro Favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Blue Point is still one of my west metro favorites. We asked for a quiet tabe for a birthday celebration and they seated us in the Librairy, which was perfect for us. There were five us and we ordered the shrimp entres, the duck and scallops, and the hallibut. Everything was very good."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer appreciation

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The folks at Blue Point make sure the customer comes first. From the time you arrive until you leave they are friendly and attentive without being over bearing. Food is excellent. Great place for a special night or just to have a good time alone with your wife/husband."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I couldn't say anything that would do justice to our experience at Blue Point. The server was outstanding...always timed everything perfectly, and didn't hover, yet we had everything we wanted. The food was remarkable - I read some reviews somewhere complaining that the soup was overpriced at $9, but it was marvelous...and so worth it. Everything was...The Calamari was the best I've had. Even the Caesar salad was wonderful. Thanks so much Blue Point!!!"
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful food with inattentive service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2005
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was excellent. No doubt about it.
The service we received this time was surprising poor. Server was slow, never around, never noticed that one of the main meals wasn't served and we had to wait quite a while before the server came near to ask if that meal was coming soon. It had been forgotten on the side board across the room and we were not given an apology but told someone else was supposed to have done it. Also server was unable to split the bill in half (off by $50+) and didn't catch that either. Required the maitre d' to sort it out. Disappointing. Hoping this is a 'one off' situation."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First Time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to celebrate my wife's birthday with our two teenage children. We arrived about 5 minutes before our reservation and were promptly seated. The table was in the back room. It was a fine table, although it had a noticeable lean to one side since the floor is a bit uneven -- noticeable by the wine in the glass that had a 15-degree or more tilt to it.
Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, although his knowledge came across a little pretentious.
The chef divided the two crab cakes into four appetizers so we could each have one. They were tasty, although not overly "crabby." We also had the shell-on shrimp which was good, but nothing too fancy (we knew that when we ordered it).
My wife's scallop/duck dish was "delicious." Our son's steak was "great." Our daughter's burger was "good, but too big." And my shrimp risotto was quite good.
It was a nice evening, but a little louder than it likely would have been since there was only one other small table in the back room, and then one big table for about 30 people, most of whom who arrived after us. While they were a nice group, it is tough to have a quiet group of 30 lining a long table."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Blue Point Restaurant - Wayzata
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice but...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Took my wife here for a romantic dinner on Valentine's Day. The food and service were excellent BUT we ended up getting wedged into one of those two tops that are about a ft away from the other tables on either side. It made what was supposed to be an intimate setting and evening uncomfortable as we were practically sitting with the stranger's tables. Bad luck of the draw I guess but I would recommend removing tables like that"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>