Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tashan Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Tashan

A traditional Indian greeting awaits you at your table: "Namaste" which "welcomes the divine within you."

Tashan takes its inspiration from an age old approach to fine dining. Traditional Indian royalty would graze their way through a succession of grilled delicacies from the Tawa, Sigri, Tandoor and then finish with a single dish of a special curry or grand biryani.

We invite you to immerse yourself in 'Our India' exotically fused with a unique modern ethnic edge. The communal dining service lets you share our small and intricate entrees.

All our dishes are cooked to order and will come to your table the moment they are ready, so expect a gentle flow of dishes and let us help you through this journey of a memorable meal.

If you cannot find the reservation time you are looking for, please call us to inquire about seating at our beautiful lounge area, or outdoor cafe.
287 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(287 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 287 reviews
5 stars
(140)
4 stars
(108)
3 stars
(30)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(187)
  • special occasion(133)
  • good for groups(115)
  • romantic(103)
  • neighborhood gem(59)
  • hot spot(38)
Tashan Reviews List
Review 1 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2013
 2011
Dined on 12/06/2013
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/06/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I went on a night where they were having an event. It was a dinner experience of some kind. We had great seats after waiting a while. We weren't sure if we were going to get seats where the event was happening but we lucked out. The food was really good and well presented. It had been a while since I had been to a restaurant specializing in Indian cuisine so I wasn't sure what to expect. But the night was a lot of fun and I'd only say energetic because of the event. There was a lot of people that came and there was a dj. But I'd assume on a regular basis it wasn't like that."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tashan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My favorite Indian restaurant by far!"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was great. Too bad the restaurant closed down."
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2006
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I hate cauliflower. But I would be happy eating nothing but the cauliflower here."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great spot, an unforgettable night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I celebrated my birthday at Tashan with my wife and good friends. As everything on the menu looked very good we all opted for the Chef's tasting. As the menu suggests, this is best done as a table and you share. Jason, our server, just asked that we place ourselves in his hands and trust him. We couldn't have chosen better.
Each dish was well executed, from the goat cheese on onion seed flatbread, Kofta lollipops to the Goan baby back ribs and vindaloo boar chops. No one dish stood out as our favorite. Each was unique, often offering a fun twist on traditional Indian dishes that I've come to know and love. Indian desserts are not usually something I care for, but our desserts were divine - the favorite of the table, hands-down, the Coconut Milk Panna Cotta with Raspberry pearls and Blackberry paté.
The waitstaff was excellent, attentive and easily accessible without hovering... a refreshing change to many establishments. Our meal lasted over 2 hours but we never felt rushed. I think we shocked the waiter by asking to speak to the manager, but this was one of the rare conversations where speaking with management wasn't a negative, we just had to tell them to keep it up.
We'll be back!"
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very limited beer list, serving more or less the types of things you'd find on tap at a dive bar or football stadium (cheap, common, domestic). This could easily be fixed, so I hope they do so. Decent service, but even when the place was practically empty we didn't exactly feel showered with attention, and the food itself was slow coming. That though, is the big redeeming quality of this place. Food was astoundingly good, with complex and layered flavors in nearly all dishes (kind of reminiscent of an Indian Amada). Value was incredible , with a $55 tasting menu that seemed to produce an endless supply of amazing tapas. Most dishes were a big hit, and no dishes were even vaguely a miss. Great and solid cuisine at an affordable price, with only a few basic elements missing that would make it perfect in my opinion. An instant favorite."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food is tasty. I did not like the ambience.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food is tasty. I did not like the ambience.very low light and couches look old. Service is great. People that are serving are knowledgeable about food and can suggest great dishes to novices. Little bit pricey. Presentation of the food is great. Had kale saag paneer, which is ultimate. Chicken kakori kebab is so tender and excellent. Malai kofta lollipops is good for kids."
Dined on 9/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Nice trendy place to be at! The food is an American modern interpretation of Indian cuisine. Nice & different!"
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Tashan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice fusion Indian food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We really enjoyed the food however our waiter was less then pleased to be serving us which put a little dampener on the experience."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Tashan
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Waited for nearly 40 minutes, to get seated.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had to wait for nearly 40 minutes, to get seated, when we visited Sunday Night for dinner.
Even though there were tables available, existing staff was busy enough to seat us and were told restaurant was short staffed.
I was at Tashan earlier in July as well with couple of friends, and our reception was good - that's why I recommended it for Dinner and came with family & Couple other guests from out of town. I felt insulted & ashamed for picking this, because they had to wait with me for that long.
I recommended Tashan for a Team Dinner, in Mid September, I will change my opinion and ask my team not to visit anymore."
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Slightly off the path but so worth it!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Yes you have to go just a little past South St on Broad but you will be glad you did. Tashan provides entertainment for your taste buds. I've been several times and I always leave happy and full. Cocktails are great too."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Recommended!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a good restaurant. Our vegetarian selections were terrific and the mixed drinks were generous. The service was special though; everyone we interacted with seemed happy to serve and were smiling. Very pleasant experience all around."
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our experience at tashan was wonderful. The bartender made us two drinks and they were both splendid. The tashan cocktail was the one I had and it was perfect. The chicken biryani and lamb roganjosh were both tasty and delicious. This place is a little pricy but has very unique flavors and a romantic atmosphere. Would come back again"
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best in Philly? Maybe

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love this place. It's the most innovative and inventive Indian food I've had, here or in India. I initially spurned the idea of "Indian fine dining," but they've integrated Indian spices and motifs and it all works splendidly. It's priced in line with other chef restaurants, perhaps a bit cheaper, and I think it's a great value because it's not the same-old, and it's fun and delicious."
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Indian!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Tashan continues to deliver. Always a meal that turns out to be one of our favorites and certainly our favorite Indian restaurant."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"great ambiance, fantastic service, amazing food - a great introduction to your style of food during restaurant week for a great cause. Brought a friend that had never had Indian food and changed the mind of the skeptic. I will certainly return with a croud. Thank you for a great evening!"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent flavors & great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for Philly Restaurant Week, and Tashan offered 4 courses for $35 instead of the usual 3 courses that you get at other restaurants. Every course was flavorful & delicious, and even though the plates were relatively small, there was still more food than we could finish and we ended up taking some home. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. This was my first visit, but I will definitely go back."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Tashan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good, but lacking in various aspects

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is sold as an Indian Fusion experience, so I expected the "Indian" part to be at the core. Part of Restaurant week offering was the pork loin. While cooked just right, I wondered if they simply got a seasoned pork loin from Hatfield and cooked it. Fortunately, the accompanying sauce on the base was very good so helped redeem the meal. The lamb vindaloo was unusual but nothing memorable. The appetizer combination within each serving did not seem to compliment each other ... From very seasoned to bland. The desserts, I think they tried too hard to be different that they ended up mixing too many flavors. I'll probably give Tashan another shot outside the Restaurant Week window and hope it only gets better."
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Delicious food with excellent vegetarian options. The wine pairing was perfect."
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Tashan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Grossly overpriced wines

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All of the sauces were very good or better. We especially liked those with the samosa trio.
The chicken and lamb in their respective dishes were overcooked. The $5 double espresso was two ounces at best. The real turnoff was paying $10 a 5 ounce pour for Clifford sauvignon blanc, a wine for which I pay $6.99 a bottle--and 20-25% less when I purchase a case. The Line 39 cabernet sauvignon was priced at $10 a glass on the wine list, but appeared on the bill as $11. It was corrected when the bill was questioned. I purchase this wine for $7.99 a bottle, discounted 20- 25% when I purchase a case. There are a number of Indian restaurants in Philadelphia about which I am enthusiastic. I will be booking one of them in the future.
"
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food is fantastic. Service is great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Tashan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Tashan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing return

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had not been to Tashan in a while, but I'd loved my prior visits. This time we arrived at a half-empty dining room and it became clear why. We literally had to flag down our waiter some 10 minutes after sitting; he then tried to make up for his lack of attentiveness by being intrusive. The food was good, but other Indian restaurants are now edging Tashan out for my attention."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Tashan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Tashan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just ok

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went during restaurant week, although didn't know it was...no other menu offered. This was our second time at the restaurant with the first not being a very welcoming experience. This time was better on the service front, and the food is decent...just nothing memorable, especially for the price."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>