Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen Reviews List

Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen

Birch River Grill - An American Kitchen in Arlington Heights is a warm prairie-style restaurant and bar with cozy neighborhood appeal, offering Rustic American, gourmet comfort food.
See more Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen details
46 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(46 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(14)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • great for brunch(9)
  • special occasion(8)
  • neighborhood gem(6)
  • kid-friendly(5)
Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have very mixed feelings about thus place. We went on new years eve, the restaurant was not full but had many diners there. The chili was wonderful once they got it hot - it was served cold and the kitchen said it was cold because of the sour cream and cheese they put on it. Not likely unless those were frozen when applied with an ice cube bath added too. The Caesar salad was very good. Cedar salmon was excellent. All the veggies they served were cooked perfectly. But the short ribs were tough and stringy, like an overcooked dried out pot roast. Service was just OK, they assigned the staff to random tables around the room so getting your server's attention was impossible until they decided to come by."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quiet Dinner Spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our go-to place when we are looking for a good dinner in a quiet place where we can hold a conversation and enjoy the people we are dining with."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mediocre Food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Both the service staff and the ambiance were good. The noise level was such that the people in our party could converse. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and without much in the way of flavor. Therefore, I could not recommend the restaurant."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice, low key on a weekday

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It was pretty empty (a Monday night), but the food was great, menu nice options, and good service."
Dined on 12/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Thanksgiving dinner at Birch River Grill.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a very nice dining experience. It was pleasant being served at our table instead of having to serve ourselves as often happens with holiday meals. The food was very good and the service excellent."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food, great service. Quiet atmosphere. Very enjoyable."
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"On Sat night at 8pm we were the only patrons there! The food was mediocre,margaritas from the grocery store bottle.Not going to return,ever."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hotel Atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a nice dinner at the Birch Gril on a Saturday night, very private, only three tables occupied in the restuarant. Perhaps Satuday night at the Doubletree is not high on anyones list, but the food was solidly good. The flat iron steak was tender with a wonderful sauce, the fish flaky and flavorful. Firecracker shrimp as a starter had a nice zing. The only miss was the pasta dish with veggies. Not alot of creativity, not alot of flavor. Needed alot of garlic to help it along! Very pleasant waitstaff."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

just not busy

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I feel if Birch River Grill could attract a crowd then the would have a chance to become a good neighborhood/destination restaurant. The options on the menu appeal to many types of diners and I loved that they had grass fed meats on the menu. However, both our entrees were covered in sauces that did not compliment the rest of the plate. I question whether the sauces are necessary because of trying to mask ingredient quality or freshness.
I have a feeling that if Birch River were able to fill up and turn tables every night then I'd see fresher ingredients that could stand on their own. I will probably not be back, but I do hope they can succeed as I do like the concept a lot.
"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Fresh Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A good find from Open Table search. It was a surprise in the menu options and nicely stocked bar. We were able to visit with friends most of the evening until a large crowd arrived - then it got noisy."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another pleasant meal at Birch River Grill

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to Birch River Grill several times. We choose it for the food and service, which are excellent.. But mostly we like the quiet atmosphere that lets our group carry on a conversation without shouting. On this particular visit, our waitress was very attentive, and each of the four of us enjoyed our choice of meal. We ate and sat and talked for a couple of hours, never feeling rushed. We will be back."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Terrific food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we had no problem getting a table on Friday night, which made me a little nervous. Immediately upon walking in, the smell was delicious--a good sign. A private party was going on, but otherwise the restaurant had few customers. We were seated at a table where water had made the laminate start to pull up, giving a bad impression. A tablecloth would make all the difference, especially as we noticed the prices were around $15-30 per dinner entree. Other than the party, it was very quiet. A little bit of ambient noise would be nice, perhaps a water feature instead of music, fitting in with the river theme. We ordered a beet salad, fish tacos, flat iron steak & nut-encrusted pike. Everything was exceptional. Far exceeded our expectations. The next day we were still talking about how great the food was. We'll absolutely return, although I do wish the restaurant offered a bit more ambience."
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mother's Day Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a group of 9 for Mother's Day brunch and it was great! The food was amazing in quality and quantity. No matter who you bring, they will find something they like. It was a little pricey at $38 per person, but I'm fine paying a little more for a good meal. The only disappointment was that the mimosa's and bloody Mary's were extra. For $38, maybe one drink should be included? Bottom line, I would go back for sure."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Staff went out of their way to accomodate guests at the lunch time rush. My waiter was terrific and they seemed to all work together to serve everyone.. I was helped by several staff..it was a nice thing to see. I was at a conference being held at the hotel and glad I chose to eat lunch here! Food was also outstanding."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We stroll into this restaurant, we were actually well received by the staff, they were friendly and attentive all the time.
"Jose" was very helpfull... :)
"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good meeting place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"met 4 of my lady friends for dinner as it was equidistant for all of us. It is connected to a Double Tree so it appeared the majority of patrons were hotel guests. Food is good, service is excellent and it offers a comfortable experience at decent prices. The menu was varied and we all ordered something different. They have something for everyone--we will be back!"
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place to have business lunch. The place is quiet , you can hear the conversations at the table without difficulty. The staff are really good and the food is great"
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Tried this restaurant for the first time!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took my girlfriend here for dinner after driving by there a few times, we like trying new places. We had no wait on anything there, very prompt. At 8pm, only two tables in the whole restaurant had patrons, that's all....I wonder why they were so empty?"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birch River Grill Quiet Getaway & Great Cuisine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I truly enjoyed our Christmas evening outing to the Birch River Grill at the Arlington Heights Hilton Hotel. The restaurant has a kind of hunting lodge feel to it in the midst of this busy suburb and the fireplace as well as cozy bar add to the friendly and rustic atmosphere. The prime rib we enjoyed was outstanding and the accompanying sides very tastefully prepared. The desert list was a little sparse but what we ordered was simply delicious a choice of either a very rich cheesecake with chocolate topping or a triple layered whipped cream parfait. What I especially appreciated was the friendly wait staff who while not falling all over to please offered gentile first rate service. Of course, as is invariably the case the servers (who were most excellent, polite, helpful and talkative) were all of ethnic origin while the clientele was almost white or able to afford this moderately expensive venue. This represents a dilemma in many traditional restaurant settings around the country but I would have liked to have observed at least one non-ethnic person sacrifice his or her Christmas eve to also serve the public in the kind manner these folks did. Jesus, who was born in a manger amongst the animals to a very poor family in Bethlehem said "It is more blessed to give than to receive..." would have been there at the BRG helping out washing dishes or some such menial task.
I want to thank all the good folks at the Birch River Grill who served my wife and I as we have no family in this area for their kindness and hospitality. All of our needs were attended to in a very friendly and helpful manner and I would recommend this cozy out of the way locale to anyone who wants to spend an intimate evening with friends and family in a spacious and restful environment for either lunch or dinner. We will most certainly return to the BRG the very next time we are looking for a peaceful evening of pleasant dining and fine ambiance. Thanks much."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Birch River Grill – An American Kitchen
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
4 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic