Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Hai Yen - Argyle Reviews List

Hai Yen - Argyle

Hai Yen Restaurant welcomes you to experience the essence of Vietnam in Chicago. From our famous Bo La Lot (marinated ground beef wrapped in a Hawaiian leaf then grilled), to the very traditional beef noodle soup (Pho), or exotic salads such as the Lotus Root Salad, to our fresh fruit smoothies with tapioca, we have everything to please any one's palate.

Vietnamese food consists of regional flavors with an infusion of French and Chinese cuisine. Our cuisine is incredibly healthy and is known as the cuisine of the dipping sauces. We use a lot of fresh vegetables and herbs, mainly for wrapping with different types of meat in a very thin, delicate rice paper with a dipping sauce on the side. At our restaurant, we allow you to join in on the fun of cooking Vietnamese food by letting you cook the food right at your own table with a fondue pot, soup pot or a grill. So stop by and create your own experience of Vietnam with us!
See more Hai Yen - Argyle details
45 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(45 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(25)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(20)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • good for groups(17)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • kid-friendly(5)
  • great for brunch(2)
Hai Yen - Argyle Reviews List
Review 1 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Vietnamese Food and Helpful Servers

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We've been to Hai Yen before and like the casual atmosphere and the BYOB policy ($8 corkage). Our server was very helpful when we were deciding between two menu items: the sliced beef appetizer wrapped around a shrimp or the sliced beef (both in the same marinade) you assemble yourself with rice papers. We opted for the appetizer at her suggestion, and thought it was delicious. We were looking for a vegetable dish similar to something we had in Thailand called "Morning Glory." We thought it was similar to Chinese spinach. She suggested a vegetable that we loved and agreed, it was similar to what we wanted. We also had spring rolls which we thought were excellent, and a crispy noodle dish with seafood and vegetables, which we also liked a lot."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Parking is challenging during the Argyle St rehab. I've been eating here for many years, the food is always great. Love making lettuce wraps with fresh herbs. Lately the service has been spotty. In spite of that I'll return"
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The best PHO in Chicago

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hai Yen is the BEST PHO in Chicago! The crepe appetizer with shrimp that you wrap in lettuce and greens is AMAZING! The little Vietnamese 'grape leaf'-like rolls wrapped in the Hawaiian leaf is also amazing! Go for the PHO! You will become a fan!!!"
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cheap, plentiful, delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I still can't believe 5 appetizers, 2 soups, 3 entrees, and drinks cost $28 per person! Standout here is bo la lot (get a few orders of this). Squid salad came with large, fresh, beautiful, and plentiful squid. Spicy eggplant tastes like Szechuan eggplant and comes with crisp on the outside, tender on the inside tofu. Claypot dish is a much smaller entree than most, but a choice one nonetheless, especially with sea bass."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is delicious but it's not much. The service is slow."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good food. Bad servic

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome as always

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best Vietnamese food in the city. Try the spring rolls, lemongrass chicken, pea shoots. Never had a bad dish here!"
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We leave without eating

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We arrive the restaurant on time and it took them 5 minutes to assign a table although the place was almost empty. After 15 minutes we called our server because he was passing by our table and ignored us. He finally came and took our order after 25 minutes we were at the table. After another 15 minutes, we call him and asked for our order and he went to the kitchen and came back saying they were busy with delivery orders. So after 40 minutes not even appetizer and our order was not in its way. Upset we left and he has the courage to say THANK YOU FOR COMING. So obviously on a very cold and rainy and windy day they were not interesting in the customers they had in the restaurant. The sad part is that we leave 2 blocks away and we go often and also order food to go. After this experience we will not dine in or order to go anymore. Al old woman was at the register, not sure if it is owner, and she did not do anything either."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2009
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2004
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I'm Vietnamese!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'm Vietnamese and grew up in an area in California called Little Saigon. So when I moved to Chicago, Argyle Street was a great discovery and Hai Yen is my go to place for comfort Vietnamese food like pho. I've tried Tank Noodle that lots of people seem to like... Hai Yen is so much better and more authentic in my opinion."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot, somewhat of a hidden gem!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service at Hai Yen was top notch--our servers were overly polite and very attentive for the duration of our visit. We ordered a lot of food and it was clear that they were bringing dishes out as soon as they were ready, rather than letting them get cold while waiting for others to complete. Really enjoyed this."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Hai Yen - Argyle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yum at Hai Yen

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a must visit if you are in Little Asia. I recommend the Green Papaya Salad and the Tamarind, but there really isn't anything bad. It's all fresh and cooked to order. Enjoy!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hai Yen - Argyle
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic