Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Jaipur Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Jaipur

We at the Jaipur try to make each dish a distinctive refined preparation. Our food is a representation of the many and varied regional cuisines of India. Jaipur looks forward to assiting its guests in every need through thousands of years of traditional indian cooking. Please relax and enjoy our freshest preparations from our traditional Indian Kitchen.
59 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(59 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(27)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(25)
  • good for groups(20)
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • special occasion(9)
  • romantic(6)
Jaipur Reviews List
Review 1 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Coming from UK I've had my fair share of great Indian food. I went to Jaipur in November 2014 and declared it the best curry I've had. Didn't disappoint for our latest visit!"
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2004
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great bold flavors & somewhat healthy (for) Indian

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Sneaky

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My biggest comaint comes to the service and the bill. The food was average but a nice venue. Our server didn't take our order after we had been sitting there for 30 min. He never came by to ask how our food was. The only thing he was timely on was delivering and collecting our bill. I was with a group of 5, which automatically added a 20% gratuity and charged $1/card for splitting the bill. They also charged the gratuity after the taxes and split fees were made so our bill was $40 more than the original price. Just disappointing for what was only a $20/person meal including tip to a $30/person. This was too bad because I was looking forward to finding an Indian restaurant I liked that was closer than on Devon."
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2014
 2012
Dined on 4/13/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/13/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is really good and very tasty. Perfect potions too"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Why did it take us so long to try Jaipur?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a lovely dinner at Jaipur the other night. Four of us shared the Jaipur Platter to sample their vegetarian appetizers. It was a great choice but be aware it's very filling. The four of us shared a platter for two. We all loved the Kerala Shrimp, Malai Kofta and the Cheese Nan. We also shared a very nice bottle of organic Spanish wine and one member of our party really enjoyed the Mango Lassi. The setting is very beautiful and conversation friendly. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable and never intrusive. I debated checking Scenic View because I love the atmosphere of West Randolf. Jaipur doesn't have lakefront or park views but the scene on West Randolf is fascinating. Try to book a window table."
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Excellent food and service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great northern India food. And lots of it in the family style served buffet. We were allowed to take home leftovers if we paid $2.50 for packaging. Will definitely be back."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Indian, Though I'm a Novice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I like Indian food, but I'm by no means very well acquainted with it. We went to Jaipur for lunch on a weekday. It wasn't crowded, but nearly all of the tables were occupied. We wanted to try the "buffet" - in quotes because I didn't see a buffet when we walked in, so I had to ask if they had it. This buffet is really a (long) list of items, which they bring to your table family style. I loved this, because I was able to try a lot of dishes that were chosen for me and as a result, I was more adventurous. Everything we had was delicious and served nicely. I would definitely go back and would also refer friends to try Jaipur."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We had a wonderful dinner Sunday at Jaipur

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had great food and service at Jaipur. All the food was great. My favorite was the Chicken Tikka Masala which came with a delicious sauce. Also good was the Lamb Vindaloo and the Kerala Shrimp. Garlic Nan and regular Nan bread warm and tasty. Will definitely return."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our first meal here, and happy to find a first-rate Indian restaurant in Chicago. The place is spacious, with tables a good distance apart and a relaxed vibe. The noise level is blessedly low, but not the kind of hushed formality you get in some Indian restaurants. The food was as good or better than any Indian we've had in Chicago--the Tandori mixed grill unusually so. Another plus is that Jaipur serves a few more kinds of beer (e.g. Goose Island) than the usual Indian brands. The service was cheerful but on this Saturday night slow and apparently inexperienced--otherwise this would be a five-star review. The restaurant doesn't have valet parking, but you can valet at the restaurant directly next door (there are also lots at Halsted and Lake, three blocks away). We'll definitely try Jaipur again."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The best Indian restaurant in Chicagoland. The search stops here."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food is excellent, but service this time was bad

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"You have to try the Lamb Rogan Josh. So dang tasty. Unfortunately they were setting up for Valentine's dinner service the next night and tables were being dragged around to the entrance, cutlery clanging, everyone on the staff trying to coordinate each other and basically it was not a pleasant experience. The bar staff were extremely loud and didn't seem to care that two tables of guests were trying to enjoy their meal. MOST IMPORTANTLY, THIS IS NOT THE NORM!!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We often avoid Indian food in Chicago because most places are either bad or hit-or-miss. However, Jaipur stands apart. From the moment, we arrived to the end of our meal the service was warm, friendly and very attentive. We both enjoy our orders tremendously. Particularly liked the chickpea entree and the garlic shrimp appetizer. Prices are very reasonable. All in all, a perfect Saturday night dinner."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Still good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Jaipur is my go-to restaurant for Indian food in Chicago. The lamb rogan josh is my favorite but I have to say it was 3 stars instead of 4 this time. The 'gravy' was a little oily and lamb slightly overcooked. The best appetizer is garlic shrimp. Cooked perfectly and the spices are wonderful."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was below average. Buffet is served on the table as 'family style' which was good, but the food is brought out without much gaps between appetizer, entree and dessert. Makes you feel as if they want to get you out fast, in stead of enjoying food. Nothing special to recommend."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Jaipur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food at Jaipur is some of the best Indian food in the city. My wife and I live just a few minutes from Devon Avenue, but we make the trip to the West Loop for Jaipur on special occasions."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Jaipur
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
16 out of 18 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate