Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Trattoria Trullo Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Trattoria Trullo

Chef-owner Giovanni DeNigris focuses on his hometown of Puglia, Italy, at this regional Italian spot in the heart of Lincoln Square. The menu includes choices such as cavatelli crudaiola (house-made cavatelli pasta with garlic, tomato pulp, arugula, basil and ricotta cheese) and halibut Adriatico (zucchini-wrapped halibut with seafood risotto and white wine sauce). Don't forget about Trullo's thin crust pizza - puglia style! If you're in the mood for a little vino, Trullo's got you covered with about 70 options, 25 of which come from Puglia. Up front, there's an Italian-style pizzeria outfitted with an imported oven and large windows so your can watch the chefs turn out traditional thin-crust pizzas as you walk past. On Sundays, try the light Italian breakfast, featuring options such as frittatas, omelets and seafood salad.
24 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(24 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • good for groups(9)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • romantic(7)
  • special occasion(4)
  • great for lunch(3)
Trattoria Trullo Reviews List
Review 1 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/15/2013
 2013
Dined on 6/15/2013
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/15/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love this place. Delicious food and great service."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, fantastic service and relaxing atmosphere! We will be returning often!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood gem!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love this Lincoln Square joint! Great food, ambiance and service. Try the chicken parm!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Authentic Puglia

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food , the attentive servers, the involved owner -- this is a true gem that never disappoints. The authentic Puglian food and atmosphere transports you every time !!!"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Will be back

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The perfect place to have a conversation with clients and business associates."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Everything I Wanted

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I rarely crave Italian; however, I had a special craving and a tight time schedule. Trattoria Trullo fit the bill and they delivered on every single thing I wanted.
First, I wanted to sit at the bar and chat it up with a friendly bar tender or watch television. DONE. Not only was the bar tender friendly, but the hostess and server were also. The three of them all came over to talk with me at once and it was like having dinner with friends. Even if they didn't visit with me, they had two televisions mounted on the wall bar for me to look at.
Second, I don't really like making decisions about food and drinks. I can narrow down my choices to about two or three but I honestly like to get the chef specialty or house favorites. I want to try their pride and joy. I want to taste the talent! The bar tender chose his personal favorite for me: Shrimp Scampi ($25) and a glass of merlot ($7). Both were winners in my book! I especially loved the pasta and sauce on the scampi.
Third, I wanted the food fast. When I say fast, I mean I needed to be in and out of that place within a half hour. DONE. They understood my urgency and helped me get a good dinner with solid conversation on my schedule.
While I was there I saw that there were many cute places to sit around the restaurant and a semi-open pizza kitchen! The decor was pretty Italian and grand. There were paintings on the columns and a LARGE dark wood and mirrored bar wall. It's a pretty neat place."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre in every way

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My boyfriend and I dined here on New Years eve and had one of the most tasteless meals we've had. Grilled seafood app, filet with tasteless pasta and Seabass with lobster-less risotto all left us wishing for one thing..flavor. While nothing was spoiled or of concerning quality, our meal left much to be desired. With so many great restaurants in chicago, I would certainly give somewhere else a try."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Once again, Tattoria Trullo has made me a winner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have been eating at Trattoria Trullo since it opened in Lincoln Square. I've never been disappointed. The service is professional and friendly. The servers are knowledgeable about the dishes, and the ingredients. I've gone on spur of the moment lunches for a couple of people or important occasions for larger groups. The holiday menus are wonderful. I have introduced many friends and family members to this lovely spot.
The food is consistently delicious, the Melanzane al Forno is my very favorite appetizer. In fact, it is also available on the lunch menu as well. Most recently, my sister and I split and order of Capellini con Fagiolini. Another favorite of mine is Scampi alla San Giuseppe.
The desserts are unreal! I've had every item on the dessert menu, and there's no way to call one the best! I am Sicilian, and this food is as good as home sweet home!
The location is perfect, set in Lincoln Square, so it's also a cute walk for out of town guests.
"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Holiday season treasure

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If you are in the neighborhood and wondering which of the several restaurants to choose from, choose this one. Excellent food and attentive service. Trattoria Trullo would be our choice a second and third time."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Trattoria Trullo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lincoln Square, Affordable Italian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I enjoyed my visit but would have preferred to sit in the front room (much more ambiance). Enjoyed the fried calamari appetizer, the wine, and our main dishes, but the bread was nothing to write home about. Really the great thing is the location, right in the heart of Lincoln Square! Wouldn't make a special trip but nice if you are in the area."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Trattoria Trullo
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
10 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic