Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Hoyt's Tavern Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Hoyt's Tavern

With views of the iconic Chicago River, Hoyt's Chicago reflects modern tavern fare while focusing on the atmosphere of a Chicago neighborhood dining experience. We feature seasonal, market fresh, and healthy offerings while emphasizing Hoyt's creative twist on traditional comfort foods. Get your day started "Hoyt's style" with a cup of coffee and a pastry, or choose from our a la carte and "grab and go" breakfast options. We pack big tavern taste into our lunch items, where you can grab a quick mid-day bite in between meetings or enjoy a late lunch. In the evening, Hoyt's comes alive to capture an after work crowd looking for a high energy and social environment. Hoyt's dinner menu features signature shared items like Hoyt´s Lobster Mac & Cheese and our Calamari, balanced with simple, yet sophisticated tavern entrée items like Beef Short Ribs or our Blue Crab Stuffed Salmon. Our all American wines, beers and cocktails will complete your evening with a memorable spin.
39 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(39 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(15)
  • good for groups(11)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • romantic(9)
  • scenic view(6)
  • special occasion(5)
Hoyt's Tavern Reviews List
Review 1 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fun with Friends

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food, great service (but allow at least an hour for appetizers or dessert), great view of the Chicago River but beware that it can be loud. Tables for two are near the bar with TV screens turned to sports so your conversation could be drowned out by sports-watching bros. There are more romantic options in the city. Very generous portions to either share or take home for tasty leftovers. Decent wine list-I enjoyed the Tempranillo."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Better than Average

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This hotel restaurant is better than the average hotel restaurant. It is small, but has plenty of space for the diners. The meals we had were fine, especially for the 10 and 12 year olds. The wine was outstanding. Overlooking the river, the view was the best. I would go back for dinner or for some wine."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Slow service, hidden waiters...for LUNCH

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I went to Hoyt's for lunch for Chicago Restaurant Week. It took 20 minutes for anyone to take a drink order. After we'd been there for an hour, we still had only received our appetizers. Eventually, since this is LUNCH during a work day, we asked for the food to go. How disappointing to go out to lunch, only to end up eating at your desk anyway. It would have been more tolerable if the wait staff had talked to us or refilled our drinks, but they were missing. They didn't even apologize for how long they took.
I should mention that the restaurant was half empty when we got there.
The food was just okay. Nothing great. Some stuff was kind of bland."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff was friendly, the burger was great! We went for restaurant week. I had the pretzel is was warm and soft. Dessert was really good too"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very quiet maybe because it's winter. There was just another group besides us which was great. Food and service was very good."
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu is limited and the sweet potato gnocchi was not as described on the menu. The chop chop salad had ingredients added that were not listed on the menu. It was a cold evening and every time the door opened a burst of frigid chicago air would swirl in. Server was great but he can't make up for the mediocre food."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasant Surprise

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2004
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our group of 4 went to Hoyt's for the first time for a pre-theater dinner. We were surprised it was so small and since the Bar took up the majority of space, we figured the menu options would be limited and the food...not so special. Wrong! The menu wasn't large but eclectic and the food presentation and choices were anything but typical bar food (except for the burger that was exceptional). Our only negative was that the chef was a little heavy handed with the salt (and I'm a "salt" person). But it was all delicious and we'll definitely be back."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2004
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A place to visit!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"After two visits to Hoyt's I'm surprised they are't packed all the time. The food is fantastic! The first time I dined here it was during Restaurant Week 2014 with a group of 6 and everyone kept going on and on about how great every single course was. My husband and I just went back again and had another great experience. The farro risotto I had was amazing! The service here is friendly and attentive. Make this a place to visit!"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Meh.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Not impressed with the quality and service for the price. Service was decent until the food came, then we never saw anyone again until I flagged someone down for the check. The whiskey sour was poorly made and not worth drinking. I assume I got the house whiskey since no one asked me what kind of whiskey or bourbon I wanted. The mac and cheese was actually the best part of the meal, but the beef tenderloin was passable at best. Considering what we paid, I expected much better quality and service."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious and cute!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was incredible and the portions were very representative of the price. The cheese board was an excellent assortment and the fish was amazing. The shrimp appetizer could be a main course meal."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hoyt's Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Service, Satisfying Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We visited after going to the Theatre nearby. It was a pleasant location with very good satisfying food. Our waiter went out of his way, making recommendation to make sure we enjoyed our visit. We plan on visiting again soon."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hoyt's Tavern
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
22 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic