Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Gusto! Ristorante Italiano Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Gusto! Ristorante Italiano

For authentic tastes of the Piedmont, this friendly, intimate dining room in the heart of Little Italy is the next best thing to an actual trip to the land of olive oil and garlic. Big flavors -- in such dishes as rack of lamb in a fruity fig-and-port reduction; long-boned veal chops, brushed with woodsy essence of porcini mushrooms; and homemade pappardelle, in sweet-tart Bolognese-style tomato sauce, made from freshly ground boar's meat and seasoned with garlic, rosemary, Chianti, and black pepper -- shake up the palate the way Carlo Rizzo rattles a tambourine. And then, when avuncular proprietor Ricardo Salerno strolls by, his fingers dancing across the keys of his accordion . . . well, this may be the Midwest, and you may not be Italian, but we'll promise you one thing: That's amore! Click here for a video tour of Gusto Ristorante Italiano.
12 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(12 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
(4)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(6)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • special occasion(4)
  • fit for foodies(2)
  • good for groups(1)
  • great for lunch(1)
Gusto! Ristorante Italiano Reviews List
Review 1 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was excellent, I ordered the mushroom ravioli and my husband had thebeef stuffed tortellini. The wine choices were somewhat limited but sufficient. Service was slow out of the kitchen due to the holiday but worth the wait."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the most romantic restaurants around!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The calamari is the best I've ever had. The owner came over to great us and spend time telling us about his restaurant and the history of Little Italy. The staff was very friendly as well."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Good: the food is amazing! The owner is awesome and played his accordion for us.
The Bad: From the second we walked in the hostess was an incompetent asshat and extremely rude to us, it took them 3 times to get our bill correct, one of the waitresses smelled of liquor and kept dropping stuff. If I wanted to get treated like this I would have gone to McDonalds!
I used to like to visit this establishment, from now on I'll go to Olive Garden for my Italian fix."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pasta Heavy Menu

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were there on Saturday night, 7:00. One other couple in the entire place. Menu was very small and heavy on the pastas. Hubby had regular menu mussel appetizer, said it was very good. I had the eggplant bruschetta which was also good. Mushroom ravioli was very good, but small portion. Gnocchi special was also good, but a little too cheesy for me. Service was very good, but, then again, there were only 4 people dining at any time. Website not up. Owner used fingers to take garnishes, oranges and cherries, from the bar garnish holder. Yuck!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Decent Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food and atmosphere were nice. Service was ok..nothing special..While we enjoyed...no hurry to go back..."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Could've been better

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We arrived at 5:20 for a 5:30 reservation and the hostess was busy doing other things. We were the only ones there for the whole experience. After the entree we didn't see the hostess (also waitress) again until about 10 minutes after our plates were empty.
The dressing on the arugula salad had too much lemon and a large chunk of Parmesan on it. The meatballs were really good as was the boar meat papardelle. The gnocchi had too much sauce. The plating was awful and then even though we were the only ones there the plates came out with a glaze over them. They must've sat for a while.
We won't be back.
"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was very good, staff was very good and friendly."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gusto! Ristorante Italiano
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
2 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
3.6 / 3
Energetic